We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa service not a good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey County, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spa service not a good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

While recently in Luang Prabang I was in search of a good spot for a massage and pedicure. I tried several places including the Xiengthong Palace. While the hotel is one the most beautiful in Luang Prabang (and with the most attentive staff), I was sorely disappointed in my massage and pedicure. The massage was just 'ok' - not great and not horrible. I didn't get the sense that the therapist had any formal training - which may be the case in Laos as compared with Thailand. She was very nice, kind but spoke very little English (which made it a bit difficult to communicate but this was the case with all the places I went for a massage so not unusual). The pedicure did not include any callus removal, even buffing - which I thought unusual. Polish choices were only five bottles of limited colors. Certainly for safety reasons (sterilization of instruments) I felt more comfortable going to a higher end spa. On the positive side, the facility was lovely - very clean, calming and beautiful. However, for the price (probably the highest in town), I did not feel this was a good value for either of the services.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajera59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Viajera59,

Sabaidee! Warm greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you for your review about your Spa experience. I take good note of all your remarks and will discuss this with the team. Your feedback is of great value for us, in order to improve the guest experience.

I must mention, regarding the price, that while there are certainly other more expensive Spas in town, our resident guests also benefit from a 20% discount.

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    80
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
62
169
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa,Canada
Level Contributor
306 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed five nights at this nice hotel in January 2014. The manager, Guillermo, greeted us upon arrival. We had several interesting chats with him during our stay and he was quite helpful. The rooms are nice and large and the bed comfortable. Guests are provided everything they need and that is to be expected in a hotel like this one.
Breakfast was excellent with a limited, but good choice of local specialties.
It is about a 15 minute walk from the night market, but the night market is not very interesting and we could find great restaurants and interesting shops closer than that.
The hotel is steps from the Xienthong temple, the most interesting one in the city. DuringtThe alms ceremony, in early morning, the monks walk right by the hotel.

The only reason I do not give 5 stars is the absence of comfortable chairs both in the rooms and in the garden. If you want to relax after a day of visits, there is no place to sit outside comfortably with a glass of wine. Of course a pool would be nice but more important would be a place to wind down. Whether in the rooms or at the restaurants, all the chairs are bulky, heavy wooden chairs with no or very thin cushions, that are very uncomforable. This could easily be corrected.

All in all, a nice hotel that could be even better with minor changes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear MichaelOttawa_Canada,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

It has been a pleasure to host you in our property during your stay in Luang Prabang, and I thank you for having shared your comments with the TripAdvisor community and our future travellers.

I trust you had a nice stay, and I take good note on your remark regarding our garden furniture.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future shall your travel plans drive you again to this lovely town of Luang Prabang!

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, rooms are big enough, also not huge, but nicely decorated. Bed is confortable but nothing exceptionnal.

However, in that kind of price range I would have expected toilets outside of the bathroom and real hot water in the shower.

Staff is very nice and was really helpfull, even with our special requested.

Location isn't so great, 15 -20 minutes walking from the night market in the city center.

All in all a good hotel, but the price being very expensive for luang prabang, i expected way more. We tried other hotels there and you can find accomodations that are really close in terms of quality for half, if not a third of the price.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank woozzii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear woozzii,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you for your review and your feedback regarding your stay in our property. I trust you had a nice time in Luang Prabang, and I am pleased to read your comments about the hotel team, which are a great source of motivation!

I may however point out for our future travelers, regarding the location, that we are actually within the center of this little town which is Luang Prabang. It may take 10 or 15 minutes to walk from the night market, but it is also a walk through the main road surrounded by boutiques, restaurants and, also interesting, amazing temples all over the place. In regards to price, I must indicate our prices are within the hotels of same range and qualities during both high (your case) and low season. While lower priced places may also provide comfortable rooms, differences will come in terms of services or, for instance, in case of power failure as they may not have their own generator which we do have.

Many thanks again for your review, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future for a second chance!

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Facing the famed Mekong River, located in a former palace, this boutique hotel maintains a royal standard by providing the extras that make the difference between average and superb. Even before we arrived, we received several welcoming emails confirming our reservation over the New Year holiday plus one inviting us to the hotel's complimentary gala celebration. The evening began with a cocktail reception that featured a performance of traditional music and dance and continued with a carefully prepared, five course gourmet meal.

While the dinner was a grand gesture, it was the little touches that meant even more. In addition to the celebration, we received a keepsake of Laotian art. Then there was the daily breakfast buffet that included homemade specialties and a variety of delicious hot and cold dishes to cater to the diverse tastes of its international guests. Even on cool mornings, it was possible to dine on the terrace facing the river -- braziers filled with burning embers kept us warm and comfy.

All upscale hotels provide robes, slippers, luxury toiletries and turn down service, but here, instead of just candy on the pillow, there was a tiny, handmade straw artifact - a rice basket, a sea weed catcher - all with a card that said hanging it on your door would bring prosperity to your home. Every evening, the staff also placed a unique device in the room that kept away insects and other critters.

Another big plus is that at sunrise every morning, on the street behind the hotel, there's a parade of saffron robed monks carrying bowls to receive offerings from the local people and tourists who want to participate in the ritual. (Hint: Do not miss this once-in-a-lifetime experience.)

On the surface, the hotel has everything we require: location combined with a competent and generous staff, a pleasing atmosphere, tasteful, comfortable furnishings and a well maintained property. But here, it was the little touches that really enhanced our experience and made it so extra special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winger2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Winger2010,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

I am delighted to read your review, and I thank you for having taken the time to publish it on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to read your comments and see how much you enjoyed staying at our property, the little gifts, the dinners and our service.

As and advice for our future travellers, indeed the monks pass just in front of our hotel every morning. Please, in order to respect this tradition and keep it alive, avoid buying any products offered to you by street vendors, as they turn this tradition into a business, charging tourists awful amounts of money for poor quality things that monks actually don't need. We are lucky to be on a side street in which mainly locals, neighbors, come to offer their sticky rice and other food to the monks every morning, and if we all collaborate this tradition will last long! Of course everybody is welcome to participate in the offering of alms if they want to, let's all try to do it the proper way as I know Winger2010 did.

Thanks again for your review, and I hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

It's a toss between excellent and very good; maybe the only thing which stopped me from going to excellent was the decidedly very western menu at the restaurant: hamburgers and fries! Some Lao items -which were excellent; try the stickyrice and banana dessert!- but not too many. That's a pity given the rich Lao cooking tradition. Having said that, for Christmas eve we were treated to a magical cocktailh music, dinner on the terrace overlooking the Mekong -with thousands of lights in the trees- which was delightful and lantern release in the sky! Can't recommend enough for a Christmas evening event!
The room we got was large and very pleasant overlooking the interior garden; fruit plate; little gifts every night taken from Lao culture...Very pleasant staff; bicycles; Very clean. Close to everything...
Great breakfast with delicious little coconut custards, fresh fruits, croissants etc

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer-north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Wanderer-north,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, sharing your experience in the hotel with the online community. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay during Christmas and I will transmit your comments to our team members, as online feedback is a great source of motivation.

I take very good note of your remark concerning the menu. While we also have some great Lao food available on our existing menu, we are developing new Lao Discovery menus which will showcase the delicious Lao food with much more variety.

Looking forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, and with best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights in this wonderful hotel. The hotel staff were so helpful and welcoming. The room we had was large and very comfortable. Wi-fi was connected in the room. The breakfast buffet each morning was delicious. The hotel was close to the Mekong River and also to many restaurants.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony towards the street and we were able to watch the Alms procession each m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Robgab,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience in our property with the TripAdvisor community. I am delighted to read your comments.

The hotel is just facing the Mekong river on one side with Xiengthong Temple right at the corner, and as you say, main street with plenty of dining and shopping options is just two minutes away, making our location very attractive and convenient, as well as quiet.

I wish you will return to this lovely town of Luang Prabang and that the hotel team will be able to say "Welcome back!"

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was so perfect with attention to every detail. We went to our room with the greeting of fresh smelling lemongrass...in the room fruit was presented with folded banana leaves that looked like a crown....The significance was because this hotel was once a palace...the serviet was folded like a dinner jacket on a beautiful square white plate , every night we were given a special miniature hand made gift relating to the area...fishing and being right on the Mekong .We also had been given a tamarand lollie each every night and they were exquisite. The staff were wonderful, the setting was right on the street where the monks take alms, and beside the Mekong...which spoils you for choice of where to eat...food is fresh, and dirt cheap...the town is so beautiful and relaxing...This was my pick for our whole trip of 4 countries.

Room Tip: Get the ones facing the street with a top floor and you can watch the monks go by early in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Rhonda S,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

It is a pleasure to read your comments shared with our future visitors, and I am delighted to see you enjoyed staying in our property. Indeed you can witness the monks procession from some of our rooms, and enjoy the authenticity of this tradition as the locals come out of their houses to give their offerings to the passing monks.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#5 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Xiengthong Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Xiengthong Palace

Property: Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Address: Kounxoau Road, Ban Phonehueng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Xiengthong Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luang Prabang, surrounded by the golden spires of the town’s famous Buddhist temples is Victoria Xiengthong Palace, the last residence of the Laos Royal Family. This beautiful boutique property has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and once more sits proudly on the banks of the Mekong River. The 26 elegantly appointed rooms and suites capture the essence of Laos’ unique culture and style, with local materials and fabrics used throughout. Look out upon the majestic Wat Xiengthong – the town’s most famous temple, or simply sit back and soak up the ambience of this UNESCO protected palace, the perfect place to discover the wonder and charm of Luang Prabang – the Jewel of Indochina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Xiengthong Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing