We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Calao Hotel(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burasari Heritage(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Apsara(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Ban Lakkham(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
311
101
22
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
101
22
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmekong riverlotus suiteprivate jacuzziroyal residenceliving roomold palacemain templepeaceful locationnight marketmonks passvery nice hotelmorning almsthe hotel staffearly morningbeautiful propertysitting areain town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Beautiful, well-kept rooms. Nice design. Very romantic. The staff was so helpful and friendly. At the end of our stay, we forgot a charger behind and one of the maids chased after us to return it, which we thought was so thoughtful. I know plenty of places that wouldn't be bothered. We would happily come back here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Ian J,

Sabaidee Pi Mai! Happy Lao New Year from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

It is a pleasure to read your review, and we thank you for having taken the time to share your comments on your recent stay in our property. One of the nicest things of working with Lao people is their honesty, I am delighted to read you appreciated the gesture of our team members regarding your charger.

We all look forward to the chance of saying "welcome back" to you if your travel plans drive you again to Luang Prabang.

Best regards,

Guillermo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our 3 nights at the Victoria Xiengthong Palace were marked by luxury and hospitality. The countless staff were always attentive and kind, all requests and questions answered promptly, and English was no barrier. We we even granted a very late checkout without hesitation. The downstairs room is large, with a very comfortable bed with top quality linens, large bath,TV and air conditioning. We had some of our best meals at the in-house restaurant, and enjoyed an evening's drink on the terrace overlooking the Mekong. The quiet atmosphere, both at the hotel and in Luang Prabang, is a welcome respite from the motorbike choked streets in other cities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4132muttenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear 4132muttenz,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

I would like to thank you for having shared your comments about your recent stay with fellow travellers on TripAdvisor, as well as for having chosen our property as your preferred accommodation in Luang Prabang. It has been a pleasure to welcome you and I am delighted to read you enjoyed your time at Victoria Xiengthong Palace and in this little town by the Mekong.

The team will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Guillermo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This former palace is situated on the banks of the Mekong and next to Wat Xiengthong, one of the most beautiful temples in Luang Prabang.
We stayed in a 2 storey grand suite which included a plunge pool/jacuzzi on the ground floor. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and serviced twice a day with a local gift left on the bed as part of turndown a lovely touch.
The bedroom could have been slightly bigger however the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom luxurious.
The staff were most friendly and helpful and the Manager was always available for a chat.
We felt that the prices for the Spa and restaurant were expensive to what we experienced in other hotels and therefore did not use these facilities.
Breakfast was served 2 times buffet style and 2 times table service during the 4 night stay. We much preferred the table service as this set the hotel apart from so many others where, regardless of the stature of the hotel, breakfast is so often a buffet.
On our last morning we hired the bamboo bikes and had. Wonderful experience riding around the relatively quiet roads in Luang Prabang. We discovered that the bikes were often a tourist attraction in themselves with people taking photos of them. We cannot understand why the hotel does not display it's name on them as they are a brilliant advertising opportunity ( a number of people asked us where they could find them).
The gardens are immaculately cared for and the overall ambiance of the hotel is serene and peaceful.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ossy-Lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Ossy-Lizzy,

Sabaidee! Warm regards from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your review with the online community and future travellers. I am delighted to read your satisfaction with the property and will share your feedback with our team.

As we are now updating all logos in the hotel following our integration in Victoria, we will definitely put a discreet logo on our bicycles. I am happy to see you enjoyed them!

I hope to have the chance to welcoming you back in a not so distant future!

Best wishes,

Guillermo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We spent 5 nights at this delightful hotel and were made to feel so welcome by Guillermo and his staff from the moment we arrived. We had wondered about having a suite with a plunge pool but, after being shown our room (Mekong River Suite 2), decided that we did not want to change - it was a suite with a real wow factor and we were surprised and delighted to find a bottle of champagne on ice and lovely bowl of tropical fruits in the room on our arrival. We loved sitting on the balcony and watching the world go by and all the painters and their wares the opposite side of the very quiet road. This end of the peninsular is truly lovely with the colonial houses and beautiful vegetation and plants. We had an excellent 4 course Lao meal at dinner one night for $25 and, at breakfast, the chef always remembered our order from the first day onwards and started cooking it so it would be ready as we finished our fruit. Service was always excellent and friendly from all the staff. We loved our bedtime gifts - a lovely touch that we looked forward to each night.

A very small point - it would have been nice to have had a table on the balcony - but as there were 3 in our living room - we just moved one outside!

Thank you for a wonderful and relaxing stay, much needed after a very busy tour.

Room Tip: A room overlooing the river - we understand that the suites opposite the temple might get woken at 4am by the monks banging drums - maybe this only happens at certain times of the year.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ex_patFigeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear ex_patFigeac,

Sabaidee! Warm greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Thanks you very much for your comments, it is always a pleasure to read reviews and we are delighted to see you enjoyed your time in Luang Prabang and at our property.

In regards to the noise from temple gongs in some rooms, I may say you can barely hear it whenever it takes places (on every Buddha day of the month, which is approximately three days per month), and that if ever you hear it. Still, some guests also consider this sound a real treat on the Lao culture, and feel privileged to witness it. I personally love it (sometimes I don't even notice it, though), and I do get it as the house I live in is really close to the gongs.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Guillermo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Polite and friendly service. ok English. Not in the main street which is good as away from the traffic. Very quiet and in the middle of a local neighbourhood. Average sized room. However, as the flooring was wooden, when the next door rooms were doing their morning calls amongst themselves to go for the morning alms giving session, it was extremely noisy, imagine at 5am.…I am most disappointed.with the breakfast~feels like there is no care given to this preparation. Decided to forgo the breakfast and ate on the road outside whereby a friendly local lady sold freshly made steamed rice noodles where the locals eat everyday.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Meowmeow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Meowmeow6,

Sabaidee! Warm greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

I would like to thank you for your review and your feedback, which is of utter importance for us in order to keep on improving. I am sorry we could not live up to your expectations, but I hope we will have the chance of showing improvements shall you give us a second chance on a future visit to Luang Prabang.

Your comments regarding our Asian dishes (as featured in your picture) at the breakfast will definitely help us in improving this part. We usually get good comments on the international buffet, but I would like to thank you for your suggestion on the traditional dishes served across the road.

Looking forward to welcome you again, and with best regards,

Guillermo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews