We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like home”

Inthasak Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inthasak Guesthouse
Ranked #74 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We read the fantastic reviews of this guesthouse and decided to turn up, after a two day boat trip down the Mekong from Thailand, and try to get a room. The owner was extremely friendly and showed us a double room. We were delighted by the room. It was exceptionally clean and was clearly well maintained. We were also able to negotiate a very good price as we needed to stay for five nights, so we could apply to the Vietnamese consulate for our Vietnam visas.

We have been travelling for six months, which means we are on a budget and have stayed in a range of guesthouses. This guesthouse is by far the best! The shower was steaming hot and powerful, tea and coffee making facilities are available and included in the price and we had our room cleaned during our visit. It felt like home, after so many months on the road.

Some people might want to be more central to the old city, but we preferred a peaceful nights sleep, away from temples and monks bashing their gongs at 5am. The walk into town was a pleasant 15 minutes maximum.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms at the back of the floor, there is a pleasant balcony at the end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

I think my title says it all. The owner is very friendly and accommodating and while not centrally located it's only a 10-15 min walk to town. The clean rooms are small but the beds are comfortable and the shower is hot with great water pressure. I prefer the 2nd floor as it seems to have more natural lighting. There's free wifi available and although there's no restaurant, there's a couple nice sitting areas with instant coffee, tea, and always bananas. The neighbor next door has a rooster but we got used to it pretty quickly:). It's an all around great little guest house for the price!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We found this guesthouse by chance while walking around town. Because the only picture on trip advisor was of 2 single beds, we were a bit suspicious. We were so wrong.

This place is great! Big new bedrooms with big comfortable beds. The family live in the front and the guest rooms are at the back (on the same floor).

The floor and furniture is beautiful ( Real solid teak wood).

The place is clean ( they clean your room and bathroom every day). There's also free water, tea, coffee and bananas.

The owners are lovely and always helpful.

The location is 10 minutes walk from city centre ( safe and nice walk).

I took some more pictures to add here on trip advisor so others can see more.

The only small down side is that you cannot book them online and they don't have email. But I would recommend walking there and trying to get a room and you will not regret!

We paid 100.000 Kip for a double room with private bathroom.

Safe travels and hope you enjoy the stay here as much as we did!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mateus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A great little place. As others have said, the owners are very friendly and charming, without ever being intrusive about it. Lovely people.

The room was great - good shower, comfy bed, desk, fan, aircon, mirrors. Wifi seemed reliable, although as everywhere in Laos it was fairly slow. Purified water and coffee is provided free in the lobby. Room was cleaned every other day. Bring earplugs if you don't want the 5am cockerel wake-up calls, which are common in rural Laos!

It is a little way out of the centre of town, although there are some good places to eat nearby and it's an easy 10-15 min stroll into the centre of things.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reisei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This guesthouse is fine but unremarkable. We booked a room with a double bed but they didn't have any available so ended up with two singles, and because everyone thinks it's so amazing on TA it was of course full.

Bathroom was OK but nothing special, beds were fine, wifi didn't really work. My big issue is that the location is terrible. You are a 15 minute walk from the centre of town.

We stayed one night and then found accommodation bang in the centre of town of slightly better quality for HALF the price at the Apple Guesthouse which is not on TA. I highly recommend shopping around once you arrive in Luang Prabang as there are much better cheaper options.

Room Tip: The further down the hall you are the weaker the wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelondonlounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Laos
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I have stayed here for the past few weeks and can only describe as excellent,Clean,quiet with great laundry service and friendly staff.Recommend highly.Close enough to walk to main attractions,Secure area to lock away motorbike.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndollard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights in November 2013. All the staff were incredibly kind and welcoming - especially the owner who went out of his way to make sure I had a nice stay. I was moved to a 'better room' upstairs and with air conditioning after a few days, but both rooms were very clean, comfy beds, tv (not that I used it). Wifi is great as there are multiple networks and good coverage. Nice communal outdoors area with tea and coffee and a pleasant place to sit. The location is a bit further out from the main 'historic district' but it seemed like a safe neighbourhood (right by a temple) and if you hire a bike, not a problem to get to and from. Definitely recommend Inthasak as a nice, value for money guesthouse.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have air con and are a bit quieter than downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#11 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cold River
Cold River
#8 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie Sports Bar & Guesthouse)
Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie S...
#76 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#48 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Singharat Guest House
Singharat Guest House
#12 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inthasak Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inthasak Guesthouse

Property: Inthasak Guesthouse
Address: Manomai Road, Ban Mano, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Inthasak Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inthasak Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing