We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, a little overpriced”
Review of Delilah's Place

Delilah's Place
Ranked #76 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
South Pole
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food, a little overpriced”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Like most restaurants on the tourist strip of Luang Prabang, Delilah's is a bit overpriced by general Lao standards (though not as much as some). I had breakfast here and ordered the 'Traditional Lao farmer's breakfast' for 22,000 kip. The omelet, sticky rice, and veggies were as one can expect. The eggplant dip tasted simply superb! That alone was worth eating here. The restaurant has a nice ambiance, Western style seating, and slow-ish wifi. If you're not too budget-concious, I can recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orniii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    52
    28
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
177 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great food.”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stumbled upon this place accidently while walking back to our hotel, as it is a fit out of the main street. However, we were not disappointed. The Chef seems widely travelled, and all the disches were well prepared, with excellent presentation. However, As each dish was individually prepared, each persons order was served one by one, with the last person having to wait some time. reasonably priced. nice atmosphere. would recommend this to everyone.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ajitman121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Loved the traditional Laos food here. Salads were very good. Very well priced, excellent staff and flavours. Great atmosphere, highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelanieLopnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average food and service.”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Wasn't overly impressed with this place. Firstly they gave me a fish sweet and sour when I ordered a chicken one, when I told the waitress of the mistake they took another 30 minutes to bring out a new one. By then my boyfriend had already finished his meal. Also they gave my boyfriend boiled rice when he ordered sticky, when we queried it the waitress grunted and said it was sticky which was certainly not the case haven eaten sticky rice in dozens of places round Asia.

They also need to sort out their seating arrangements. There were two single people sitting on two separate large tables that seat 4 persons. They had both clearly finished eating their meals as their tables were cleared but were sitting on the tables with their laptops. However when we arrived we were made to join another couple on the table of 4. I thought this seemed unfair and asked if we could occupy a table with the single person but the single person didn't want us on it!

Wouldn't recommend this place, overpriced bland food offering shoddy service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shiv2012123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Decent but unmemorable”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We tried this place for supper one evening. One of us had a western dish (beef stew I think) and the other had the green curry. It was definitely good, but nothing we couldn't have found at home in Canada - although I realize this may have been because of our choice of dishes. Service was slow but acceptable seeing that we weren't in a rush.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheenaG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delilah's Place also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Delilah's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing