We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, average food”
Review of The tables - CLOSED

The tables
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Cuisine is Loatian/thai
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Nice location, average food”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The sizzling shish kabobs cooked right on the street are enticing, but once in the restaurant, the service wasn't attentive, I felt rushed, and the shish kabob meal was skimpy at best. Who makes "green bean salad" with literally 2 beans?? Even at $5 a plate, I thought it was a rip off.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rubybouvier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    4
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luang Prabang, Laos
1 review
“One of a Kind in Lpb”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I was intrigued by the curious onlookers in The Tables. The grill stand with the barbecue selection was drawing the crowd. I invited our group to check what the fuss is all about. We got a table after waiting a few minutes. This place is jam packed between 7 & 8 pm. It’s best to get there before 7.

Pork barbecue is tender and savory. Goes well with beer. My friends ordered the large grilled fish and a bottle of white wine. They couldn’t be more satisfied. We tried the spring rolls on the menu and were not disappointed. Great way to guzzle up your beer.

I recommend this restaurant for its food and reasonable price!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Murphy's law”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Everything that could have gone wrong went wrong: we waited for a long time as the place was extremely busy, but once the meals arrived everything was cold. We sent the dishes away but they just heated them for a few minutes in the grill and brought the same serves back, this time slightly warm but dry. In addition, they got the order wrong, which we only noticed when the bill came. Not recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Laos
1 review
“Great BBQ. Fantastic Price!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Went there with some friends. Go there early as the restaurants tends to be quite busy. BBQ selection is great. Try the spring rolls, crispy and the best in LPQ so far. Also try their Pad Thai. Delicioso!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Extremely poor service - not a great selection to choose from”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had dinner at this restaurant - they have a grill in front that makes it appealing. The young man who waited on my table had a couldn't care less attitude - perhaps I should have left as it was a teaser of what was to come. First he walked away in the middle of my placing the order and returned 5 minutes later - yawned right in the middle of the rest of the order. I asked for a soup followed by Mekong grilled fish in a banana leaf and a bottle of water. I specifically asked that the soup be served first followed by the main course - of course, 20 minutes later both courses were served at the same time.
The soup was good - a bit salty....the fish was served without the banana leaf - so I don't know if it was cooked inside the leaf or not. By the time I got to sample the fish, it was cold but I decided to continue - rather bland and not very flaky. By this time I had finished both courses.....and sat......and sat.......and sat for nearly 45 minutes - my table was not cleared (there were only 3 tables that were busy) with the waiters / waitresses lining up on the side or disappearing in the back. Since I was in no rush, I sat it out but after 45 minutes asked to speak to the manager - there wasn't one!! (I ended up calling the hotel that owned this restaurant and speaking to the manager over there). The waiter never came back with a menu for dessert or even asked how the dishes were - I finally paid the bill (without any tip)....and the waitress who took the money said the restaurant was willing to offer me a 20% discount for what had happened.
This was not an isolated incident as other guests had a similar experience - maybe it is while the cat is away , the mice are at play......however I cannot recommend this restaurant both for the total lack of service and the food that was served - there are many other better restaurants in LP (check out my other reviews)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yrechnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The tables also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing