We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty linen, filthy attitude & weird smell - Nov 2012.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant

Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dirty linen, filthy attitude & weird smell - Nov 2012.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Not to be too melodramatic, but this was a pretty jarring and unfortunate experience.

The place looks nice, and the upper rooms are probably lovely. The lower ones are very well-appointed but very small... with no windows or air-flow and the ensuites are directly connected (without a door) to the bedrooms. Which unfortunately means the leftover smell of bathroom cleaners can pervade the room.
We hadn't booked or anything, and upon initial inspection it all seemed fine, but after just 30 mins we realised we could clearly hear the roosters from across the street and decided that it wasn't the place for us (one of us sleeps really lightly). Combined with the lingering chemical odour and the really dirty, stained linen - we decided that we'd give them a 10% payment for the shortest hotel stay in history... and call it quits - as we had literally just arrived.
The lady on reception was having none of it and demanded a 50% payment. Shrieking at us and threatening to call the police, as well as getting her mate from across the street to come and berate us too. She wouldn't accept the money I was offering and we decided to leave.
She was on her fourth attempt at calling the cops (not the official emergency number, of course, as she would have got through first time... but no doubt one of her connected friends or somesuch).
I offered her the cash one last time, and was ignored, so we left. Her mate followed us for a while but stopped after a few turns.

They're all smiles if you're staying and paying... but when it came time to show understanding, good service or common sense... they were a real bunch of opportunistic idiots with crap attitudes.

Be warned.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the downstairs (cheaper) rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butterpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We did a walk-in and was glad that a double was available. We had walked a few streets and checked out a few others which were all not "good". The price is a little higher than the not "good" ones but we liked what we saw and stayed.

We were showed a big double with balcony. Room was nice, clean, spacious and quiet. The bathroom has everything needed. As I have to work during my holidays, the strong internet connection was much appreciated. I have no problem logging on.

Breakfast is included and just at a little charming cafe down the street. Food is a few selections, just enough and very nice. We ate and street watch people. Coffee was very good. We even chatted to fellow travelers.

We loved the helpful staff. Very respectful and answers all our questions. We stayed in Jan, 2012 but till now, I have fond memories of the place and the experience!

Don't mind to go back again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twofeathersSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Very clean, comfortable rooms, with i think the most comfortable beds ive had in a while!! Stayed in a few roms as i went back and forth from luang prabahn liked especially the first floor with the view out over the Mekong. The room at the far end with the additional private balcony was great though wifi signal was better in rooms nearer the stairs.
Nice local style restaurant across the road overlooking the river, and great cold beer once we convinced them to chill the glasses ( its an Aussie thing - though seemed to make it popular with the nice group of Korean people who happened to come by.) Noy was very helpful with great English along withDed one of the young guys working there, gave us a lot of local information which saved us a bit of money too.
All in all great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DownunderAllover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and loved this guesthouse for its location, clean rooms and deck at the Mekong.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

After a few disappointing places in LPB (rats, noisy rooms, rip offs) we were incredibly relieved to find Mekong sunset. For 250,000kip we had a large gorgeously furnished incredibly clean room, big bathroom with the best hot water in town (seriously) and a balcony with cute little table and stools to watch the sun set over the sleepy Mekong. The owner is incredibly friendly and caring, with an adorable little son! She also owns the equally lovely restaurant over the street which is perfect for watching river life go by and sipping on a cold beer lao. Honestly for what you pay it has incredible service, PERFECT location and the comfiest bed ever. Seriously amazing, would recommend to anyone staying in LPB who doesn't have a huge budget but also doesn't want to stay in a sleazy backpackers.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#31 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salakphet Guesthouse
Salakphet Guesthouse
#71 of 135 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laodeum
Villa Laodeum
#86 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lao Lu Lodge
Lao Lu Lodge
#2 of 135 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant

Property: Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant
Address: 20 Ban Hoxieng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing