We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really well presented friendly and helpful”

Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The rooms are really well presented with a keen attention to detail for a guesthouse of this price. Clean, cosy and comfortable. Free water replenished when you need it, a decent wifi connection and an enclosed shower cubicle as opposed to the wet room style bathrooms you tend to get in SE Asia. The owner is Chinese and doesn't speak a word of English, but was always pleased to see us. His son who speaks good English and the young Laos staff member are the guys running the show here in a light hearted and friendly way as tends to be the Laos way (although they didn't have a clue who Batman was!).

The restaurant across the road is as good as any in the center of town and quite romantic by the river. As we left they had just got a second hand pool table with a cue ball more akin to a hexagon which led to some hilarious games of pool.

They also sorted us out very helpfully with a room very late when our flight out of Laos was cancelled and we had to stay an extra night, though it was a their VERY backpacker lodging round the corner as they were fully booked. We enjoyed LP so much, and the guys at Mekong Sunset made it all the better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodin_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Well located and clean guesthouse in Luang Prabang. Close to the city center but much more reasonable price. Pleasant breakfast or dinner on the Mekong river side. Always a pleasure to stay here when I am staying in Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: 1st floor Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Two story guesthouse along the river front. Owner very friendly and helpful. Good value at USD 20 per room per night. My husband and I had a downstairs room and my brother had an upstairs room, both good. Comfortable bed and adequate bathroom. We stayed a couple of days and then came back for several more days after our motorbike tour. Excellent area close to everything. All tours easy to organise from operators all along the road. Lots of restaurants and massage places. Cheap food and mostly good. Massages a bargain at a few dollars for an hour. Had one everyday! Really enjoyed Luang Prabang and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The guesthouse is in the centre of the town, in the street that runs along the River . This is a two-storey building. We had down stairs rooms ..The entrance is from a communal wooden terrace which has a small table and chairs for each room and nice views on the river. The room is cosy and does not really have a window but is in an excellent condition. There is a large flat-screen tv with a lot of channels and there is free WIFI The bathroom is basic but adequate. The staff friendly & Helpful .. They were busy with their restaurant not much English is spoken. We paid only 20 usd for our room which is great We ate breakfast in Restaurant & received free coffee ..

Room Tip: Great location to everything ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryMilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

The guesthouse is in the centre of the town, in the street that runs along the Mekong. There is some traffic but not too much. But if you're a light sleeper consider staying in one of the many guesthouses that are in the backstreets.
This is a two-storey building. My room was upstairs. The entrance is from a communal wooden terrace which has a small table and chairs for each room and nice views on the river. The room is small and does not really have a window but is in an excellent condition. There is a large flat-screen tv with a lot of channels and there is free wifi. The bathroom is basic but adequate.
I did not have much interaction with the staff. They seem to be more busy with their restaurant than the guesthouse but anyway not much English is spoken.
I paid only 30 usd for my room which is outstanding value.
I ate once in the restaurant. Some of the food was good but some not.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bldavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Not to be too melodramatic, but this was a pretty jarring and unfortunate experience.

The place looks nice, and the upper rooms are probably lovely. The lower ones are very well-appointed but very small... with no windows or air-flow and the ensuites are directly connected (without a door) to the bedrooms. Which unfortunately means the leftover smell of bathroom cleaners can pervade the room.
We hadn't booked or anything, and upon initial inspection it all seemed fine, but after just 30 mins we realised we could clearly hear the roosters from across the street and decided that it wasn't the place for us (one of us sleeps really lightly). Combined with the lingering chemical odour and the really dirty, stained linen - we decided that we'd give them a 10% payment for the shortest hotel stay in history... and call it quits - as we had literally just arrived.
The lady on reception was having none of it and demanded a 50% payment. Shrieking at us and threatening to call the police, as well as getting her mate from across the street to come and berate us too. She wouldn't accept the money I was offering and we decided to leave.
She was on her fourth attempt at calling the cops (not the official emergency number, of course, as she would have got through first time... but no doubt one of her connected friends or somesuch).
I offered her the cash one last time, and was ignored, so we left. Her mate followed us for a while but stopped after a few turns.

They're all smiles if you're staying and paying... but when it came time to show understanding, good service or common sense... they were a real bunch of opportunistic idiots with crap attitudes.

Be warned.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the downstairs (cheaper) rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We did a walk-in and was glad that a double was available. We had walked a few streets and checked out a few others which were all not "good". The price is a little higher than the not "good" ones but we liked what we saw and stayed.

We were showed a big double with balcony. Room was nice, clean, spacious and quiet. The bathroom has everything needed. As I have to work during my holidays, the strong internet connection was much appreciated. I have no problem logging on.

Breakfast is included and just at a little charming cafe down the street. Food is a few selections, just enough and very nice. We ate and street watch people. Coffee was very good. We even chatted to fellow travelers.

We loved the helpful staff. Very respectful and answers all our questions. We stayed in Jan, 2012 but till now, I have fond memories of the place and the experience!

Don't mind to go back again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twofeathersSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#41 of 269 in Luang Prabang
129 reviews
6.4 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 71 in Luang Prabang
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant

Address: 20 Ban Hoxieng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £21 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing