We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”
Review of Villa Kiengkham

Villa Kiengkham
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Kiengkham
Ranked #201 of 272 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed in 2 different guesthouses before we found this one. Both had problems with cleaning and staff. We had no problems on both counts here. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. The rooms are more hotel than guesthouse with daily cleaning and everything you need- AC, TV, fridge and ensuite bathroom with plenty of hot water and even a shower curtain (very rare in Asia). The bed was very comfortable and the hotel is really quiet. Free WiFi- not good in all rooms but there are sofas next to the router. Our AC packed up one night and the staff couldn't fix it so moved us to another room. We were getting the night bus out of luang probang and were able to stay in our room until 6 for a small fee (most places charge full room rate). Alternatively they allow you to stay in the communal area and have a shower before you leave. We checked out a lot of accomodation in LP and this place beat them all.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n1c8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

I think the guesthouse has a great location. It's two long blocks (5-10 minutes walk) from the main attractions (market, temples, cafes) and busy roads. It's far enough that your sleep isn't bother by loud and busy activities. The room is spacious with air condition, wi-fi, clean, and the bathroom is nice. I spent four nights at Villa Kiengkham and I didn't find anything wrong with it. The staff are really nice and helpful by telling where to go and what to do. I would highly stay here again if I ever visit Luang Prabang again. Restaurants are located in every direction and there is a diversity of different kind if you're not feeling up for Lao food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights here and is was a good base for seeing Luang Prabang.Room was large,with heavy dark furniture typical of Laos and an adequate shower room. No view but breakfast served in the garden by LOVELY staff.Night market about 5 minutes away and plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priscillaBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Let's be positive and start with the pros:
- the staff are very friendly and try their best to help in any way they can
- the rooms are spacious and well-equipped, and all en suite I think
- breakfast is pleasant served out on the garden terrace behind the hotel, food is fresh though very limited in choice.

On the other hand:
- the location is not fantastic; at least 10 minutes walk to reach one of the main restaurant / shopping areas, up to 30 minutes from some places
- I saw three cockroaches in my room / bathroom, but maybe this is common in Laos?
- security is non-existent: the front desk person often goes off to help a guest or do something else, leaving the entrance to the hotel unattended with all the room keys there for anyone to walk in and take; I know crime rates in the country are very low, but it's not acceptable to take that chance in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jopycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016
Thank micheline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juju67j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
6.3 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#36 of 71 in Luang Prabang
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 71 in Luang Prabang
916 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 71 in Luang Prabang
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kiengkham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kiengkham

Address: Ban Wisoun | Old Town, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £19 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Kiengkham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing