We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Charming place to stay””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Majorca, Spain
1 review
““Charming place to stay””
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed at Phonepraseuth for 5 nights in August and loved it! We were the only ones there for the first 3 nights and it really was like being at home! The owner is very friendly and speaks English. He was always very helpful if we needed anything and does a free airport pick-up / drop off service. The couple that run the hotel are so nice. They will help with anything and the breakfast was delicious (you must try the rice porridge!)
Its not the place to stay if you want to be right in the centre of town but they have bikes you can use and its only a 5 minute ride into town. Its very peaceful and generally a great place to stay!
We hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Room Tip: I would chose a room on the first floor if possible but all are nice.
See more room tips

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    124
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
52
303
140
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We got the recommendation from someone we met in Vang Vieng and we were more than happy that he was right: it is charming and the location across the bamboo bridge is wonderful in the dry season, might be a bit problematic in the rainy season to have a longer way to get to the centre of LP. But the very lovely restaurant Dyen Sabai is around the corner and the guesthouse itself is just perfect. Very nice colonial style, breakfast includes the usual toast and marmelade and fruit, but in 7 days we got a noodle/rice soup twice. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32Petra_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We got the recommendation from someone we met in Vang Vieng and we were more than happy that he was right: it is charming and the location across the bamboo bridge is wonderful in the dry season, might be a bit problematic in the rainy season to have a longer way to get to the centre of LP. But the very lovely restaurant Dyen Sabai is around the corner and the guesthouse itself is just perfect. Very nice colonial style, breakfast includes the usual toast and marmelade and fruit, but in 7 days we got a noodle/rice soup twice. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We've had booked for 2 days but we stayed one more day. It's a quite new hotel, with a nice and well cared garden. It's not in the main street of Luang Prabang but you can walk using the bamboo bridge or using the bicycles available at the hotel. The staff is very kind and quiet, and the owner always is ready to give you the necessary tips about the city and the must sees around Luang Prabang.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank diana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for four nights at in November. Phone praseuth is not as central as some of the other resort options however it is an enjoyable 5minute walk across the bamboo bridge into luang prabang centre. It is situated in an area that provides a bit more insight into genuine day to day life in laung prabang.

Good clean rooms, tasty breakfast, peaceful environment and friendly laid back staff. Some communal areas to chill out in. Would recommend as great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenMoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at Phone Praseuth for 7 nights; it is a delightful quiet hotel in a rural setting, with a village and temples nearby . The atmosphere is warm and cozy, with lots of wood, an upstairs open-air lounge (see the monks on their morning rounds from here) and a courtyard where the excellent breakfasts are served (try the Laos noodle breakfast). The owner is friendly and most helpful; my husband had a bad cold and Mr. Kham gave him medications from his pharmacy. This plus the noodle soup led to a quick recovery! The bamboo bridge was under construction (happens every year) but the owner arranged for tuk-tuks to take us to and from the main town. He also gave us a ride to the airport. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlh392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We just spent 4 wonderful nights at Phone Praseuth and I only gave it 5 stars because I could not give it a higher rating. This is a fantastic family-run establishment. The owner and his staff are very friendly and warm and took very good care of us. Even gave us a ride to/from the airport. The location, for me, was great. It's not located in the town proper, but on the other side of the river. In the winter months there is a bamboo bridge close by you can use to cross to the other side, but otherwise you need to use the old iron bridge. By foot it's about 10-15 minute walk, but the have bicycles you can use that make the journey quite short. So don't let the distance from town deter you. The guesthouse is located in a neighborhood of sorts, nothing really touristy around, and you can watch the monks file down the street collecting alms in the morning, wake up to crowing roosters. Very peaceful and bucolic. Breakfast is great, the rooms (and entire facility) is very clean, and they can answer any questions you have and help you plan activities.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spocksf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#23 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phone Praseuth Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phone Praseuth Guesthouse

Property: Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Address: Unit 7 346, Old Bridge | Ban Phanluang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Phone Praseuth Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Phone Praseuth Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing