We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best baguettes ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 272 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at this guest house for 4 nights and was very impressed. The guest house is only a few years old, however built in a traditional colonial style, so all facilities are new and to a high standard. The rooms are nicely decorated, with good air con, satellite tv and good, consistently hot showers. Free, good quality bikes are provided to guests. It takes under 10 minutes to cycle into the centre of town at a very leisurely pace.

The baguettes for breakfast are by far the best I have ever eaten, arriving fresh each morning. In addition to eggs, there are local options such as rice congee and Lao style Pho soup. All meals come with juice and fresh tropical fruits.

Mr Kampone is a very accommodating host and went out of his way to provide suggestions for our itinerary. His local knowledge was invaluable, and we feel we were able to get more out of our stay in Luang Prabang thanks to his advice. Each night when we returned he was there to great us with an offer of LaoLao (a famous Lao rice whiskey).

We returned one night covered in mud following a mountain bike adventure. Mr Kamphone told us not to worry, he would have our shoes cleaned for us, however I felt bad for someone else having to do this so did them myself, but it Is an indication of the lengths the staff go to at Phone Praseuth. We did get a load of laundry done, and it came back spotless and smelling fresh, which was a nice change after our laundry experiences in Vietnam.

Overall, I can't fault our stay. 4 days in Luang Prabang was too short, I am already making plans to return.

Thanks to Mr Kamphone and his team for the best stay of our trip so far!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed at the Phonepraseuth Guesthouse for five nights during my stay in Luang Prabang. The guesthouse is located a short distance from the town centre and provides all the necessary facilities for an enjoyable stay in Laos.

The owner Mister Khamphone and his staff were particularly helpful and accommodating during my stay, even sharing some of his local Laos spirits! He had a wealth of knowledge about the town and was more then willing to provide recommendations for good local restaurants and sights.

The rooms were neat and tidy and were cleaned everyday. Breakfasts provided were healthy and a perfect start to a day of activities.

After a week in Vietnam my stay in Luang Prabang was a complete change of scenery and pace. Ill definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for one night, and wished we hadn't stayed here at all. Both my husband and brother-in-law had flea bites in the morning when they woke up. Not to mention the fact that the toilet was smack-dab in the middle of the shower (the curtain closed around you and the toilet, and you had to dance around to make sure that you weren't making constant contact with the toilet or getting the toilet paper wet) and the guesthouse keeps roosters in the backyard that
started crowing at 3:30AM and didn't stop until almost 11. The owner and staff weren't particularly interested in giving any kind of service, so we waited for 20 minutes before anyone showed up to take our breakfast orders, and waited 30 minutes in front of an empty desk to check out (while I ran laps around the building trying to find the owner). I don't recommend this at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We weren't overly happy with this accommodation after reading the great reviews. However, we have a feeling it may have been because the owner (husband) wasn't there and he may have had good english and been more welcoming. His wife was nice however did not speak much english and the other young man (possibly son) who works there was nice, but again not much english. We were also the only people staying in the guest house so maybe it was lacking atmosphere.

Wifi was terrible! worked for some websites but not facebook at all for some reason. Very slow also.

The bridge across to town was quirky, however for me personally a bit of a pain. As Luang Prabang is so quiet and charming I would have liked to stay right on the main strip near the bars, restaurants and very awesome night market!

Rooms were nice, clean and breakfast was good.

We also hired a moto through the guest house which was good. Seemed expensive but seems to be the going price in Luang Prabang.

Overall, ok place to stay, but if I went back I would stay right in town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrittanyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had an excellent stay at this hotel.   The owner was waiting for us upon arrival at the airport (free of charge).  Because of the hotel's location on the opposite side of the Nam Khan river from town it is a short ride to/from the airport.  The hotel is kept spotless by a tireless and welcoming staff.  Our room was cozy and the space well used. The room was well cleaned everyday including clean sheets and towels.   The arctic flow of the air conditioning welcomed our hot and tired bodies each day.  It is a short walk to town across the river using the Bamboo bridge. however, you should be in decent shape (or want to get fitter) as it has a few steps up and down to get to the bridge. At night the bridge is lit up using a light string which is very charming.   The WIFI signal in our room was strong and reliable.  The practically brand new bicycles are complimentary for all guests.  Down the street is the best Pizza in town made in a real wood fired oven (ask the owner he will point you to it).  Also down the street is the well known Dyen Sabai resturaunt for Luang Pranabg "barbeque".  Across the bridge and a five minute walk along the Nam Khan river brings you to the Tamarind restaurant.  The complimentary breakfast is a set menu of eggs (prepared to your request), Fresh Baguette some sliced fruit, instant fruit juice and hot water for self service instant coffee or tea.  Pretty much everything you need for a great Luang Prabang holiday. 

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BizNFunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We really enjoyed our 6 days at Phone Praseuth. Khamphone is a wonderful and generous host. He picked us up when we arrived and dropped us off when we left--at no extra charge. He is a great resource. The rooms are very nice, especially for the price. We also loved the location. it's a short walk over the bridge into town, but there are also a lot of things nearby that folks in town probably miss. There are great weaving and other craft places down the road. And we found the morning alms ritual much more genuine than the ones in town with the hoards of tourists.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Mister Kamphone is a very relaxed but accurate host, also his staff is correct, doing this you need invisible but everything is arranged. There are no troubles in getting things done: not possible is rare. Even if I were not on time for breakfast again, they would something to eat for me again....
You feel safe, comfortable and even part of the communicaty of LP, just so relaxed!!! Top Service hope to see them all again....

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bekxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#36 of 71 in Luang Prabang
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 71 in Luang Prabang
926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 272 in Luang Prabang
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 272 in Luang Prabang
1,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 272 in Luang Prabang
439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Singharat Guest House
Singharat Guest House
#11 of 272 in Luang Prabang
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phone Praseuth Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phone Praseuth Guesthouse

Address: Unit 7 346, Old Bridge | Ban Phanluang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £24 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Phone Praseuth Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Phone Praseuth Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing