We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guesthouse of trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phone Praseuth Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best guesthouse of trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My days here were probably the best days of all my three month trip. This is the most welcoming place I've stayed. The location is good, away from the crowds and traffic but still an easy walk or bike ride to where ever you want to go. The owner and his staff are most helpful and really go the extra mile to make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible.
As the other reviewers have said the rooms are very nice, breakfast is excellent, the bikes are in very good condition, and if you need help with tours or sightseeing ideas the staff is there to help.
The only complaint I had was having to leave and start my return home.

Room Tip: The building is only two story and the stairs are large and easy no problems with baggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    124
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
50
295
137
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This guesthouse was a little pricier than other places we have stayed in SE Asia, but it was worth every penny for all the extras: delicious breakfast, free bicycles (in excellent condition; they even have wheel-powered lights for biking in the dark!), water bottles every day, very clean rooms, and exceptional service. We thought the location might be an issue because the bamboo bridge to downtown wasn't up yet, but in the end I think it was better that way: we were a one-minute walk from one of the best restaurants in town (Dyen Sabai) which I bet is a lot busier when the bridge is up, we got to see the monks' procession in the morning without any other tourists around, we got to ride across the coolest bike/motorbike bridge several times a day, the neighbourhood was nice and quiet, and downtown was still only a few minutes' bike ride away (i'm guessing about 1 km). I would most definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SheenaG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We were really happy to stay at the Phone Praseuth Guesthouse. The guesthouse itself is a newly renovated colony style building with an open air (with roof) place for breakfast. Rooms are nice and very clean, maybe not too spacious but then again bathrooms are pretty much European standard . AC and fans are part of the setup as well. The owner is a very nice Laotian who will assist you with any inquiry. The desk is usually occupied by two young guys (shifts) who are very polite, enthusiastic and interested but with somewhat limited English.
The location of the guesthouse is perfect in dry season (walk over the passenger bridge right into town) and good on wet season (take free bikes provided over the permanent bridge and be in the city within 7 minutes). The guesthouse is located next to the best Lao BBQ restaurant Dyen Sabai (in our opinion) and a superb pizza place (yeah I know, why would you go there being in Lao?...but try it especially when being a couple or challenging your favourite pizza place).
So overall we're pretty much satisfied with every aspect of the guesthouse. Maybe breakfast options might be somewhat limited to some people, but then again, just go for the traditional Lao noodle soup. It is truly delicious and you do it - Lao Style.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rnoeren182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed here for the last 5 days: it was super clean, extremely friendly owner and staff, small and delicious breakfast, free bikes, fresh water and towels everyday (and so on!) Cute B&B for a small purse.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluse24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a very nice stay here for three days after something of a rocky start, when the owner had forgotten to pick us up at the airport and we had to call and remind him. The noodle soup breakfast was delicious (only hiccup was that when we arrived they hadn't told us you had to order a day in advance, so we missed it on our first morning). The facility itself is very new and pretty and the housekeeping very clean. The price is right and the owner genuinely sweet and seemed to care and want to engage with guests. Whatever other difficulties we had in our stay, eg. tricky bike locks, the staff dealt with in a friendly and helpful manner (by the time we left they decided to eliminate those particular bike locks altogether, which seemed like a good sign of responsiveness to guest needs). We did get lost coming home on bikes (it was wet season and the bamboo bridge hadn't been built) on our first night but once we learned our way it was easy for the following couple days and it was great having the bikes while we were in town. Very comfortable beds. Recommended for a nice budget option in LP.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

After a plane muck up, we ended up in Luang Prabang 4 days earlier than we should have been. After a long day of travelling and waiting in airports, we found our way to Phone Praseuth Guest house around 7pm and explained that we had booked but we were here 4 days early. The staff went to great lengths to accommodate us and let us check in early and move our 4 nights we had booked through agoda forward.

Breakfast was fresh every morning and being able to borrow their fairly new bicycles ride into town for free was a bonus!
Rooms are simple but clean and have everything you need.

The bamboo bridge is down during rainy season but with the bikes it is a leisurely quick ride into town.

We would not hesitate in booking here or recommending it to anyone visiting this lovely city!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bkjeavons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at the Phone Praseuth guesthouse for 4 nights and it was really clean and new. I booked with Agoda but didn't realise that Khamphone, the GM, will pick you up from the airport if you let him know when you're arriving so if you do book with Agoda, email the guesthouse directly. It's true the location is on the other side of the river to the main street but that's not really a problem as you can access via the bamboo bridge in dry season and either via the new bridge down the road in wet season or the restaurant Dyen Sabai have a free boat across the river that's just round the corner. Breakfast was lovely and includes fresh hot baguettes that set you up for the day. You can borrow one of their free bikes to get around town as well. Khamphone also dropped me off at the airport which was great but after flying to Vientiane I realised I left my credit card at the hotel. Khamphone was so kind and sent it to me via cargo plane the same day, he saved my trip! I can't thank him enough, the staff are great - Lao hospitality at its best!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AlisonLouise5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.3 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phone Praseuth Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phone Praseuth Guesthouse

Property: Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Address: 346, Unit 7 Old Bridge | Ban Phanluang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Phone Praseuth Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Phone Praseuth Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing