We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Phousi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phousi Guesthouse
Ranked #169 of 268 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Phousi Guesthouse has an excellent location near night market, restaurants and Mekong river. The restaurants and actually almost the whole night life closes about 11PM so there´s no noise and you can sleep well. The rooms are spacious and clean and very nice with wooden floors etc. Bathroom is ok, no problem with hot water. There are both fan and the AC in the room. Beds and pillows quite comfortable. The staff is friendly.
The breakfast is basic but ok: you can choose between a different kind of sandwiches or omelettes.
The only thing that bothered was the lack of closets and tables. There were only a little closet in the room, two small night tables and nothing else. The bathroom had the same thing - no place to put your cosmetics and other stuff.
We stayed 7 nights in Phousi GH and we can recommend this place.

Room Tip: The best room is a family room in second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

Recommended by tour guide on the slow boat from Thailand to Luang Prabang. cost is $40 per night. Checked in and stayed one night before moving to another hotel. The hotel is only 2 blocks from the slow boat pier. The verandah for sitting was nice. However the bathroom was very small and the shower was mouldy. also there was a smell of sewer. Bottom line, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I brought a large group of tourists to this hotel and upon arrival dropped off my laundry. When I picked it up the next day there were 2 shirts missing. There only response to this was, "We don't know where they are." Not "sorry" or "we apologize for this." It was like they couldn't care less. When asked if they could refund my miniscule $3 they laughed and said no! After i brought them hundreds of dollars in business they won't refund me $3. That's really poor service. I'd never stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevbud7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I cannot complain about the state of the rooms which were clean and comfortable. I did feel let down by the state of the bathroom in the room in which I stayed as the shower head was so clogged with limescale that there was just a trickle of water and also the plastic cistern of the toilet in my room was melted, I believe from someone leaving a lit candle on it, and the toilet couldn't flush properly.

The other thing was that the person who offered me the room boasted about free wifi in the room which then did not work. I would have been able to live with this had it not been possible to find other guest house rooms in better condition with working wifi for half the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deseoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Phousi 2 guesthouse and had really poor service from start to finish. There were only staff there between the hours of 9-6. The toilet in the bathroom was broken and whenever flushed released a horrific smell into the room. The room itself was very dark and damp. The location was good but I would recommend to anyone to find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattsTravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Nice guesthouse. One of the cleanest we stayed in during our trip through south-east asia.
You can find some a bit cheaper, but we decided to stay in this clean and tidy place.
They clean your room every day and we hardly had any insects in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomB1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

stayed there for a night with my sister and mom. the room was nice and clean, the location is very convenient as it is in the middle of everything (a block away from Khong River and the night market, right across from the national museum and mount Phousi). breakfast was really yummy; ordered rice soup (porridge) with eggs and it came with chilli and lemon. we really liked the chilli and asked if we could buy some but the manager, Mr.Xang, told us that it's homemade and they only make a small portion per day. After a while, he came back and told us that there's some left and said that he would give it to us for free as a gift. we insisted that we would pay but he said that he "doesn't have enough to sell but has enough to give away."
we were expecting a small bag but turned out he gave us like 300g of chilli. after seeing the amount of chilli he gave us we asked him how much it was and he still insisted that it was a gift from the hostel.
they helped us book a tuktuk to the airport and the tuktuk arrived 30 minutes prior to schedule.
very happy with this hostel, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCNinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 68 in Luang Prabang
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitdara
Villa Chitdara
#11 of 268 in Luang Prabang
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phousi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phousi Guesthouse

Address: 29. Ban ChoumKong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 268 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £22 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phousi Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phousi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing