We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kicked me out because there was a group coming”
Review of Phousi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phousi Guesthouse
Ranked #167 of 265 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I made a reservation for 7 nights, but after 5 nights they kicked me out because they could make more money off a group that wanted to check in. Unheard of.

Besides that the rooms are small and noisy. The beds are not very comfy either. Luang Prabang is full of much better hotels for a better price.

The on site restaurant is better avoided as well!

Room Tip: look for a different hotel, this one sucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed out of town in a hotel twice the price so I looked for better situation for next year. This place looked fine; I inspected some rooms, bathrooms and spoke to two families that stayed there. All good...and its half the price for what I paid. I think for Luang Prabang the key is locations. (Note: always check if have hot water, since some guesthouse do NOT...this one does.)
Staff speaks English. Good wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I haven't been back to Luang Prabang since 1995, when there were just a handful of hotels. Now there really is no shortage of hotels and guesthouses since the big boom in tourism at this World Heritage Site. Personally, we prefer to pre-book before arriving, rather than have to schlep around lugging bags trying to find accommodation after travelling on an evening flight. But we were overwhelmed by the choices online, so we asked a Lao friend for recommendations of where she and her family usually stay.

We booked and stayed here for a week in November. Pleasantly surprised how central to everything we were, admittedly LPB is small enough to be within easy walking distance to everywhere in town essentially! But we were in the side street (Ban Choumkhong) right next to the beautiful former Royal Palace!

The hotel exterior is clean and tidy. It is a low two-storey building in the old style, with lots of teak wood flooring. The rooms surround a lovely shaded central courtyard (used as reception and main dining area) with terracotta floor tiles. You are asked to remove dusty shoes to go on the landings and stairs to your room. They took our bags up for us and showed us how to work the various switches and remotes for AC controls.

Our bedroom and bathroom were very clean. The bathroom window opened out to a glorious view of Phousi Hill amid the bougainvillea trees and the gardens of the Blue Lagoon restaurant next door. We thought this was superb value for just $35 per night including breakfast. (We'd just spent the previous week in a shoddy Vientiane riverside guesthouse, no breakfast, for $30!) There is a fridge, they provide you with free bottles of drinking water daily, no kettle, tea or coffee though.

We noted that there weren't any door hooks or wall rails/hooks in the bathroom to hang your towels up. The one towel rail they did have was in the shower - not useful positioning if the floor is wet. They could also do with having more wardrobe space and shelving. We also thought that they could've moved the bed away from the wall to place another bedside table; easier to get in/out of bed that side. The top blanket material was a little scratchy and would've been better to just have a thick white cotton bedspread instead. Agree with others that they need to pay more attention to keeping clean around those pesky taps. We gave this feedback to the hotel owners, so hopefully you'll see these very minor changes happening soon.

Note that the breakfast was not as the one pictured on their website (probably was back then?): bacon with eggs, croissant etc. You get to choose from a selection of sets but none feature bacon with eggs like that I'm afraid. However, the sets they did have were plentiful enough for us and tasted great: sunny fried eggs and toast / banana pancakes / pho noodles etc. We only ate breakfast here so can't comment on other menus they had for lunch or dinner.

Generally speaking, eating out is so ridiculously cheap in Laos - it's foodie heaven! You'll never manage to visit all the eateries and you happen across all kinds of street food everywhere you go in LPB! Fantastic! Don't forget to bring home some packets of fried black mushroom in kaffir lime leaves from the night market food alley - simply delicious and only found in LPB!

We booked a couple of excursions from the hotel and they were really helpful; the head clerk spoke very good English. We went to Kuang Si Waterfalls - very beautiful but very popular, so full of other tourists and it takes over an hour drive to get to (not the advertised 40mins). We also fully recommend a half day tour to Elephant Village which included a rice whisky producing/weaving village (stay away from the moonshine but do buy some handmade fabric direct from the weavers), boat ride across to the Pak Ou Caves, elephant ride through the jungle and village and nice light lunch. I wasn't sure how I felt at first, whether it was ethical - was it cruel to the animal? was I somehow contributing to cruelty?...but I genuinely came away happy that all elephants I saw here looked calm, healthy and were well cared for by all their mahouts and well loved by the villagers. They had a baby elephant here too who was just adorable and fed shedloads of bamboo and bananas!

We felt we got good value for money at Phousi Guesthouse, the location is excellent and the service is superb. We would definitely stay here again and can't wait to return to Luang Prabang!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank futurafoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed at the Phousi with a group of students. The guesthouse was chosen for its location, next to the old palace, now national museum, and the block of restaurants in the city center. Apparently, this once family-owned business has been sold to Chinese investors. The rooms are not well maintained. When I turned on the air conditioner, water poured out of it. When the staff was told, there solution was to move the bed away from the appliance and not fix it. Rooms are not cleaned unless one requests cleaning at the front desk. Sheets and towels are not changed regularly. The rooms are small and dank. Two students reported getting bed bugs.

With new hotels and guesthouses opening in town on a monthly basis, there are better options for accommodation in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzyyxxww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Phous Si Guesthouse is a remarkable corner of history across from Luang Prabang's Royal Palace and National Museum. The staff are some of the most warm, welcoming and professional of the places I've stayed in Laos and Southeast Asia. They treat guests as family in their laid-back Laos style.. If you've any questions or concerns, staff and the proprietor Ms. Luck go above and beyond to help you. Truly a genuine group of people!


The architecture is representative of Luang Prabang style, a combination of Lao indigenous and nature-inspired elemental and French design. Rooms are spacious with high ceilings and well-kept wooden floors. There are wooden accents throughout, including wooden ceilings and balconies for some rooms. The hotel is housed in two buildings, separated by a tranquil garden courtyard.

And what a lovely garden it is! Lush and with a bubbling pool housing golden, shining carp. This courtyard serves as the dining area, tables simply draped in white and accented with gorgeous Lao silk textiles. An expansive menu with Lao traditional dishes like Lahp and noodle soup as well as choices for European and US palettes. Breakfast is included with option of fragrant noodle soup, baguettes or Western-style egg dishes. The Lao coffee is a must in the morning (if not all day).

Location is superb… couldn't be more centrally located, steps from Phousi Hill, the Mekhong and Nham Khong rivers, the Night Market, Wat Mai and directly across from the Royal Palace and National Museum.

The older building behind reception has rooms with newly updated bathrooms, lined with river rock. Do note that in order to conserve water and energy, sometimes the water is turned off. Just ask staff to turn the valve on and you're good to go with the great water pressure shower. The wifi connection is strong, too, so even in the midst of historic hills and temples of this world heritage city, you may still effortlessly enter modernity.

I feel lucky to have stayed here during the famous Phi Mai Lao festival (Lao New Year), where the family and staff shared with guests the history and traditions of this quintessential Lao holiday. A wonderful new year, indeed!

Room Tip: Stay in the old section, ask for a room above the Anoma Silver Shop. One is facing the Royal Palace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The best feature of the Phouse Guest House is its convenient location. Do not confuse it with the big Phousi Hotel nearby. Just across the street is the National Museum. Around the corner is the night market and also the Mekong River, where there are many restaurants overlooking the river.
Other than that, the Phousi is pretty basic. There is plenty of hot water in both the shower and the wash basin. The Wi-fi works well and so does the air-con. However, several things disappointed me: In my room, the bed was in a corner of the room so it is accessible from one side only, which would not suit some couples. There is no table, no chair and no place to put luggage. Apart from the bed, there is just one stool and a limited space to hang clothes. The small fridge isn’t very useful because it turns off when you go out and remove the room key from the slot. There is no shampoo or facial tissue, which one could expect in rooms in this price range.
There is an open-air dining area where breakfast and meals can be taken. I ate there only once (Lao food) because I thought the food was very ordinary. The waiters smile a lot but their English is very limited, as is often the case in Laos. Some people at near-by tables had problems with food that never arrived or with mistakes on the bill.
I feel that this guesthouse is over-priced for the services offered, and that clients are really paying for the central location. After a few days, I moved to another guesthouse practically next door to the Phousi, which has similar services with slightly smaller rooms and the price was 1/3 cheaper.

Room Tip: In guest houses in Laos, the upstairs rooms are usually better. They have more light and less noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Phousi Guesthouse has an excellent location near night market, restaurants and Mekong river. The restaurants and actually almost the whole night life closes about 11PM so there´s no noise and you can sleep well. The rooms are spacious and clean and very nice with wooden floors etc. Bathroom is ok, no problem with hot water. There are both fan and the AC in the room. Beds and pillows quite comfortable. The staff is friendly.
The breakfast is basic but ok: you can choose between a different kind of sandwiches or omelettes.
The only thing that bothered was the lack of closets and tables. There were only a little closet in the room, two small night tables and nothing else. The bathroom had the same thing - no place to put your cosmetics and other stuff.
We stayed 7 nights in Phousi GH and we can recommend this place.

Room Tip: The best room is a family room in second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 70 in Luang Prabang
281 reviews
6.3 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 70 in Luang Prabang
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
834 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
823 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phousi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phousi Guesthouse

Address: 29. Ban ChoumKong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £21 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Phousi Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phousi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing