We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting and pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ang Thong Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ang Thong Hotel
Ranked #44 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here on the whole.

Good Points:

Beautiful hotel
Very comfortable big beds
Lovely scenery
Quiet
Free tukTuk to town at 5 mins notice
Free bikes to hire
Welcome drink on arrival
Nice small hotel

Cons:-

Wifi VERY patchy, especially in rooms.
Staff did not speak very good English (but then my Laos isn't great either!)
Breakfast very basic for this star rating and breakfast room not have a view and was all inside.
Only 6 sunbeds and some guests 'claim' these for the whole day even when they go out they reserve them all day for later!
Pool towels were not provided on the sunbeds or outside so I found it a bit awkward having to walk into reception and try and explain that I wanted a towel for myself and my friend whilst in a bikini. It should be zero hassle when staying in a hotel like this with a pool, to get a towel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendini82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    16
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

This hotel only delivers partly what it promises.
Pros
- room and bed fine and clean
Free transport to luang praban
Cons
- bathroom not good
rain shower too low for a westerner
Takes ages before hot water arrives
Turns very hot and than cold again.
- smelly bathroom: burned insects when you switch light on
- Internet does NOT work in the rooms
- away from centre. Not far but staying in the centre is nicer if you can do without pool

Breakfast is ok.
Staff is friendly but some don't speak enough English.

The price is too high for the product delivered. Three star quality.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with balcony and swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

This new hotel has beautiful rooms and garden and pool. It is very professionally staffed, and is a very pleasant place to stay. Spotlessly clean, the rooms are beautifully made up daily and orchid flowers adorn your bed. The pool is clean and a good size, and the design of the whole place is well thought out. Everything works well though the bathroom floor tended to flood after showering. The breakfast is ok but there is no cafe Lao just instant. Not so good for vegetarians as there is only fruit and white bread. Considering the stars and price of this place you would expect real coffee and more choice for breakfast. The staff are professional but lack the friendliness you might get at a guesthouse. If I returned to luang prabang I would not book ahead but choose one of the many guesthouses in the city centre as it is inconvenient to be on the outskirts like this as walking is hard on the dusty roads.

Room Tip: Twenty rooms on two floors! All much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Great hotel just on the outskirts of the city the free bikes are good as its only a short ride into to the town and markets if u don't feel like riding they offer a free one way ride in a Tuk Tuk friendly helpful staff and excellent rooms overlooking the pool which is great on those hot days would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajl277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.6 mi away
Sanakeo Boutique
Sanakeo Boutique
#42 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Bougainvillier
Le Bougainvillier
#6 of 259 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.6 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#4 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.4 mi away
My Dream Boutique Resort
My Dream Boutique Resort
#3 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namkhan Riverside
Namkhan Riverside
#13 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ang Thong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ang Thong Hotel

Property: Ang Thong Hotel
Address: Lao-Thai Friendship Road, Ban Naxarng, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ang Thong Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ang Thong Boutique Hotel is an oasis with views of the rice paddy fields, its lush tropical greenery and is as one of the most enchanting boutique hotels in Luang Prabang. Designed and built especially for romance and relaxation seekers, this hotel was made to ensure its guests comfort and hospitality with a touch of magic. Hotel guests enjoy an intimate setting, the ideal vacation, honeymoon, any celebration or simply have a getaway. Just 2 Kilometers to the city center, while conveniently close to offer quick and easy trips to enjoy the brief benefits of a more urban setting. The Ang Thong boutique Hotel proudly offers 20 rooms with an individual chic-barefoot design including first class amenities created to amaze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Ang Thong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing