We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you book before coming”
Review of Silk Road Cafe

Silk Road Cafe
Ranked #32 of 203 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Enjoy delicious 'East meets West' cuisine at the Silk Road Cafe. A beautiful and relaxing location in the grounds of a stunning tropical garden with sweeping views of the Mekong, just a short distance from the centre of town - 5 mn ride with our free tuk tuk available all day on demand. Watch our traditional weavers at work at the Living Crafts Centre next door. Serving breakfast and lunch as well as brunch or afternoon tea, it's the perfect place to escape and gaze across the river.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Make sure you book before coming”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Based in terrific reviews, decided to go there for diner on wednesday evening. We were told it was not open for diner! So better check! Atmosphere looked indeed pretty nice by the river...

Helpful?
Thank Geo009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience - how frustrating when expecting to eat dinner! We will certainly work to improve this communication to avoid any hungry travellers being disappointed. We hope you are able to come back and enjoy one of our delicious lunch menu items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    52
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning textiles!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a must-see if you are interested in seeing (and buying!) some of the wide variety of textiles produced by the different villages and tribes in Laos.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FionaPeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for stopping by and visiting us during your trip - we hope you were able to try a dish or two from our menu as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaulieu, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Living Crafts”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A lovely restaurant situated by the river with lovely views.There is a free Tuk Tuk from their shop which sells beautifully woven textiles form the many village tribes.
There is a guided tour which is free at the craft centre showing the process from silkworm to the finished article.
Good selection of delicious food at reasonable prices..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to include us on your trip and write a review. The Silk Road Cafe is certainly a calm oasis where you can enjoy delicious food and we are glad you agree! Looking forward to seeing you back in Luang Prabang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting stop”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We didn't stop at the cafe, but we did tour the grounds and the weaving areas. We learned so much! I love that the money helps the locals and the products were lovely. The guide was informative and the weavers very sweet and willing to show all their work. Fabulous gift shop, too! Not cheap! But it's art!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kimerly10i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to visit us and leave a nice review. We appreciate the kind words and certainly work hard at making sure we run a sustainable organisation that benefits the community. Next time maybe we can tempt you with you with some food from the Cafe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Really Good”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I love food and the Ock Pop Tok offers just the best out of Luang Prabang. They serve very good dishes both sides of the world. The place is adorned in greens in a garden. It is just near the centre of the town, which makes it really accessible. You won’t lose your way around here. The restaurant also has a view of the Mekong. They serve the best salads too. I would definitely recommend that you get their salad dishes when you visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGRJgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we are glad you enjoyed the setting on the Mekong and our delicious salads!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silk Road Cafe also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Silk Road Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing