We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, shame the pool was closed”
Review of Villa Santi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Santi Hotel
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Reviewed 11 August 2013

When we arrived at the resort and spa we had been travelling all day along the Mekong and then up to the venue. By common consent the most important thing was to jump straight into the advertised excellent swimming pool. In the event, the pool was closed for maintenance and remained so the next day! Thankfully the rooms were not as disappointing and were well equipped and comfortable. Ours overlooked the aforementioned pool and featured a large and very comfortable bed draped with mosquito nets. The bathroom was good and there was even a reasonable size bath to relax in. The main drawback however, was that the hotel was some 20 minutes from the centre of Luang Prabang meaning you were reliant on the infrequent, but reliable shuttle service. This constrained activities somewhat as the last shuttle back to the resort was at the early hour of 10pm, despite there being much to occupy you beyond this time. The breakfast was excellent and we ate dinner in the restaurant on one evening to avoid the shuttle. This proved to be adequate if unexciting. The staff were helpful and spoke good English.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Santi is a wonderful hotel, the beds are big with good quality mosquito nets and functioning TVs, there's a large pool and a good quality Breakfast available, and good connections into the centre of town with the shuttle buses

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clunnon207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Lovely old world charm, with great staff who were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were decorated in keeping with the age of the hotel.There was a Fruit bowl in the room on arrival.
.I was upgraded to a room closer to the other members of the group I was travelling with.
Part of the grounds were set out like rice paddys, giving one the opportunity to see how rice grows

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Villa Santi in the old part of Luang Prabang town is the perfect location. We booked a junior suite for 5 nights as a treat coming off a two day boat trip down the Mekong. Upon arriving we found we were upgraded to a royal suite. It was amazing. Huge, spotless with a large bathroom and a few metre walk to the pool. A/Con works very well. The staff are friendly and attentive but subtle. There are only six rooms in the main building and another annexe across a small lane but with easy access. The restaurant is above the reception area and offers a more than adequate selection for breakfast with a delightful outlook over the street where you can watch some locals go about their morning business. We also got the shuttle bus out to the resort (don't get these confused when booking) The resort is lovely with a large pool but you need to check the shuttle bus times. It is quite a distance out of town. The pool at Villa Santi (in town)is small but more than adequate for a refresh and relax after walking or touring. The ideal thing about Villa Santi is the location. It is perfect for all the sights. It is also close to many fine restaurants and about five minutes walk to the night market. (In the same main street) There is a row of small shops opposite including postcards and stamps and the same lady offers laundry service at 10,00 kip per kg. As we were travelling for one month this was great for us. We very much appreciated the upgrade as we would never be able to afford the royal suite normally. I would highly recommend Villa Santi and would definitely stay there again. we were travelling as two adults and a 15 year old.

Room Tip: It highly depends on your budget but the Royal Suite was very roomy with a huge bathroom and we love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poomby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at the Villa Santi in the town of Luang Prabang [not the resort outside of the town which they also own). Our second visit. What a beautiful place. We had the royal suite called Luang Prabang and we loved it. My husband chose this for our birthdays as we were celebrating both in Luang Prabang. Everything at Villa Santi was perfect. A very spacious area with living, dining area, the best bed in the world and a beautiful bathroom with separate shower and a big bath tub. The restaurant, as usual, was faultless and the breakfast buffet had so many choices of the most lovely food. The menu has traditional Laos food and French food. Both are excellent. Sitting out on the upstairs restaurant verandah overlooking the Main Street is just wonderful. A glimpse of every day life in Luang Prabang. Weather is hot (35 -- 42 c) at this time of year in the sun so the pool was great for a cooling dip. Traditional Laos dancing at night in the restaurant is beautiful. At 6am each morning one can watch the monks collecting food. My count on the last morning was 147 monks. There would have been more in the other areas of the town as well. What a beautiful holy sight that we are able to quietly witness. There is also a Villa Santi Resort outside the town [15 minutes on a scooter). We went out there for a lovely lunch and swam in the beautiful huge pool. I love the Villa Santi. Wonderful stay again. Wonderful friendly staff. Wonderful food. Wonderful comfort. Great location in the heart of Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: We have stayed twice. The annexe is great but the original house is better but will cost you more. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricco999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Villa Santi is well located, within walking distance of major sites. The bedrooms are in a separate building. Quiet location, though the proximity of a school might cause some noise. The beds are rather hard. Small swimming pool,

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAB2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in Junior suite. Spacious, comfortable and spotless. The staff were attentative without being obtrusive. The hotel is well located, close to everything. The restaurant food was beautiful, tasty and well presented.Value for money Fantastic as I always book on Agoda for the best deals. I would recomend a stay and would be back to stay in a heartbeat!
Thank you Villa Santi

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worldwidediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 71 in Luang Prabang
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 71 in Luang Prabang
925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#23 of 71 in Luang Prabang
197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#25 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sada Hotel
Sada Hotel
#40 of 71 in Luang Prabang
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Santi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santi Hotel

Address: Sakkarine Road | Ban Wat Sene, Luang Prabang 40000, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#17 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#20 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £59 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Santi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Santi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing