We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”
Review of Villa Santi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Santi Hotel
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
288 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Villa santi

Great location, good facilities.
Villa Santi has a great location in the middle of lots of good restaurants and activities. Monks walk past the front gate around 6:15pm gathering alms in large numbers, but walk past continually all day in ones and twos. It is lovely to watch this and daily life over breakfast from the balcony that over looks the street.
Breakfast is included and is good with lots of options to choose from including eggs and soups cooked to your liking.
However, prices are high for lunch and dinner and the quality is not great great.
We had a great meal across the street at Tamnak Lao (chicken, eggplant and bean curry with sticky rice). Tamnak Lao is owned by an Australian and is also good for cooking lessons.
Cafe Toui, Le Patio and Riverside Barbeque restaurant, Dyen Sabai ( over the bamboo bridge) are also good, well priced options.
(Cafe Toui has great wifi).
Six royal suites are in the main building overlooking the main road where the restaurant is as well as a nice small pool.
Across the road are the deluxe suites and the two, junior suites.
Junior suites are good for more room if you are staying a while. The bottom floor junior suite (220) is quieter that the top floor junior suite (270) but the top floor suite has a better outlook through the window to foliage, more privacy and a little closer to a nice set of seating upstairs. Both are fairly dark rooms, but stay cool.
Hot water can take a while to warm up, bit ok if you run it before you get in.
Wifi is poor all over the hotel.
Price includes return airport transfer ($8US approximately in a taxi otherwise).
A bonus is the shuttle out to the sister hotel Santi Resort and Spa, just out if town, for a swim in a lovely big pool. But otherwise, not worth a special trip. Restaurant has the same menu as in town although it is nicely set in a garden.
Service is helpful. Staff are friendly.
Great option for a hotel with a bit more luxury ( small pool, buffet breakfast) and a great outlook at breakfast, at a good price, in a heritage property, but if the weather is good, there are also lots of guest house options that are also heritage properties and lovely, at a fraction of the price, but with limited breakfast options, no pool, less service.
Do take the trip to the Kuang Si falls (40min drive around $8 per person transport ) for a swim in the gorgeous pools.
Do see the sunset go down over the Mekong and get a great photo from the platform behind the place near where the long boats go.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank CanberraMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    173
    57
    24
    10
See reviews for
54
174
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Before we visited we had read mixed reviews. On arrival I realised why. We were given a ground floor room in the second building across the road. It was small, dark, old fashioned, smelt faintly damp and had twin beds. I asked for a double room, and was moved upstairs. Same room but not damp. The hotel then advised me I had been checked In to the wrong grade of room. What a difference. It could have been an entirely different hotel. Large airy, beautiful furnished with slipper bath and large shower, super comfy bed and sofas for lounging. These rooms are in the main building, ground floor.
The pool was more ornamental, with a fountain, and too small to swim in, and was a bit cold.
Breakfast was a good selection but the menu for other food was a bit limiting. The location was ideal, especially for the monks alms giving which starts outside the hotel. The night market is only a 5 minute walk but is far enough away not to be noisy. Insist on a room in the main building and it is 5 star, otherwise no more than 3 star.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Photoduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My familt stayed at villa Saqnti for 3 nights. This Viila is centrally located to the main markets, shops and restuarants. The rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and professional and eager to please. The upstairs restuarant has excellent asian and western cuisine and nightly local dance performance. The breakfast buffet was equally impresssive. Local tours were easily arranged from the front desk. A most enjoyable stay indeed
Doug Kirwin
Thailand

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon, and the staff very kindly upgraded us to a junior suite (we had booked a deluxe room). This was such a bonus and we were lucky enough to have five nights there.

The suite was lovely, with a welcome fruit basket, and the bath was a great addition as the weather turned unseasonably cold while we stayed! Because of the cold and wet weather we didn't end up venturing out to the resort via the free shuttle bus, but we heard from others that the resort has a very nice big pool.

The breakfast was great and the staff were so friendly and attentive. The location is excellent, being situated on the main road and everything was in easy walking distance.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
450 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel room is large enough and the staff was extremely attentive in bringing extra pillows and a work area for a computer. The bathtub is dated and a shelf seems to be falling apart. But the quality of the bath amenities was high. We stayed in the annex for 3 nights and the A/C worked fine, although at this time of year, you do not need much. The hotel does have a sister resort located about 5k away and guests at the in town site have access to the spa and facilities. The in town hotel is centrally located, just steps from the alms collection route of the monks and near to the Mekong River. Lots of shops and restaurants in the area, and the breakfasts in the hotel were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed in the the Junior suite in the annex, which was spacious, well equipped and had a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside. The bathroom was spacious and had a huge bathtub to relax in, which is prefect after trekking in the jungle .The location of the Villa Santi is perfect for all the sights, the night market, palace and the entrance to Mount Phou Si are all on the same road.)

The staff were helpful and friendly and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet and unusually for Laos the restaurant had a good selection of vegetarian meals .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Villa Santi has a charming appearance from the street and offers a great location for enjoying the night market, having dinner or raising early and walking less than 100 meters to experience the monks collecting Alms. Unfortunately the rooms are in need of refreshing, in particular the bathrooms which are dark and poorly lighted. In contrasted the bedroom is well lighted which only better highlights the worn floor, chipped paint and dark/dreary furniture. While the garden is delightful it brings with it ants which were found in both the bedroom and bathroom. The breakfast is average and surprisingly serves croissants and baguettes which have the texture of being a day or two old. I say surprisingly since there are some wonderful French bakeries in town offering much fresher breads.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100nations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#25 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Santi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santi Hotel

Property: Villa Santi Hotel
Address: Sakkarine Road, Ban Wat Sene | PO Box 681, Luang Prabang 40000, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#20 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Santi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Santi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing