We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful stay”
Review of Villa Santi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Santi Hotel
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Villa Santi is a short ride from Luang Prabang. Its set in the countryside with rolling hills in the distance. So peaceful and attractive. Its almost living in the past. Very attentive staff. Superb swimming pool and well maintained estate. Food varied with good breakfasts. Dinners took some getting used to, not very colorful. A very pleasant four day stay. I would love to go there again. There is the sister hotel in Luang Prabang with all the excitement of the town with its night markets. This hotel is in the main street with a variety of restuarants for all nationalities the length of the street. Lots to choose from.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Because of its price and not as great value, this was our 5th choice hotel (all the others were full up). I found it a little pricey for what we actually got. The room was nice and we appreciated the amenities and toiletries. The location was excellent - on the main street, close to the night market, within 5 minutes walk of great restaurants. We ended up choosing this hotel because of the location over places that we thought were a lot better and a better value or less expensive. We were in the annex across the street on the ground level and right at the bottom of the stairs. Not a great room location as everybody who stays in the annex walks by there and has to talk loudly in the morning. The breakfast room was nice, but the breakfast could have been better. The pool? was beautiful and small but it didn't seem like you were supposed to go in because I never saw anyone use it (probably because people couldn't figure out if it was really a pool or not).

Some words of caution about the bathroom. The hot water takes forever to heat up. You have to get it running for a couple of minutes before its hot. Also, do not put anything over the shower curtain rod to dry. I had a wet beach towel from kayaking and of course put it on the shower curtain to dry. Well the shower curtain has some cheap varnish or paint on it and it stained my towel and dripped all over the bathroom. It came out but it was really annoying to fix the problem and find other ways to dry it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, ornate clean 'old world' rooms, beautiful gardens. Smallish pool but perfectly adequate for number of guests. Traditional music and dancing every evening during dinner. Easy access to beautiful Wats (temples), one on top of a hill with fabulous views. I was very pleased to see provision of Laos dishes for breakfast. Free WiFi.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DaveTheRave66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Villa santi

Great location, good facilities.
Villa Santi has a great location in the middle of lots of good restaurants and activities. Monks walk past the front gate around 6:15pm gathering alms in large numbers, but walk past continually all day in ones and twos. It is lovely to watch this and daily life over breakfast from the balcony that over looks the street.
Breakfast is included and is good with lots of options to choose from including eggs and soups cooked to your liking.
However, prices are high for lunch and dinner and the quality is not great great.
We had a great meal across the street at Tamnak Lao (chicken, eggplant and bean curry with sticky rice). Tamnak Lao is owned by an Australian and is also good for cooking lessons.
Cafe Toui, Le Patio and Riverside Barbeque restaurant, Dyen Sabai ( over the bamboo bridge) are also good, well priced options.
(Cafe Toui has great wifi).
Six royal suites are in the main building overlooking the main road where the restaurant is as well as a nice small pool.
Across the road are the deluxe suites and the two, junior suites.
Junior suites are good for more room if you are staying a while. The bottom floor junior suite (220) is quieter that the top floor junior suite (270) but the top floor suite has a better outlook through the window to foliage, more privacy and a little closer to a nice set of seating upstairs. Both are fairly dark rooms, but stay cool.
Hot water can take a while to warm up, bit ok if you run it before you get in.
Wifi is poor all over the hotel.
Price includes return airport transfer ($8US approximately in a taxi otherwise).
A bonus is the shuttle out to the sister hotel Santi Resort and Spa, just out if town, for a swim in a lovely big pool. But otherwise, not worth a special trip. Restaurant has the same menu as in town although it is nicely set in a garden.
Service is helpful. Staff are friendly.
Great option for a hotel with a bit more luxury ( small pool, buffet breakfast) and a great outlook at breakfast, at a good price, in a heritage property, but if the weather is good, there are also lots of guest house options that are also heritage properties and lovely, at a fraction of the price, but with limited breakfast options, no pool, less service.
Do take the trip to the Kuang Si falls (40min drive around $8 per person transport ) for a swim in the gorgeous pools.
Do see the sunset go down over the Mekong and get a great photo from the platform behind the place near where the long boats go.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank CanberraMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Before we visited we had read mixed reviews. On arrival I realised why. We were given a ground floor room in the second building across the road. It was small, dark, old fashioned, smelt faintly damp and had twin beds. I asked for a double room, and was moved upstairs. Same room but not damp. The hotel then advised me I had been checked In to the wrong grade of room. What a difference. It could have been an entirely different hotel. Large airy, beautiful furnished with slipper bath and large shower, super comfy bed and sofas for lounging. These rooms are in the main building, ground floor.
The pool was more ornamental, with a fountain, and too small to swim in, and was a bit cold.
Breakfast was a good selection but the menu for other food was a bit limiting. The location was ideal, especially for the monks alms giving which starts outside the hotel. The night market is only a 5 minute walk but is far enough away not to be noisy. Insist on a room in the main building and it is 5 star, otherwise no more than 3 star.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Photoduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My familt stayed at villa Saqnti for 3 nights. This Viila is centrally located to the main markets, shops and restuarants. The rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and professional and eager to please. The upstairs restuarant has excellent asian and western cuisine and nightly local dance performance. The breakfast buffet was equally impresssive. Local tours were easily arranged from the front desk. A most enjoyable stay indeed
Doug Kirwin
Thailand

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon, and the staff very kindly upgraded us to a junior suite (we had booked a deluxe room). This was such a bonus and we were lucky enough to have five nights there.

The suite was lovely, with a welcome fruit basket, and the bath was a great addition as the weather turned unseasonably cold while we stayed! Because of the cold and wet weather we didn't end up venturing out to the resort via the free shuttle bus, but we heard from others that the resort has a very nice big pool.

The breakfast was great and the staff were so friendly and attentive. The location is excellent, being situated on the main road and everything was in easy walking distance.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 71 in Luang Prabang
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#12 of 71 in Luang Prabang
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#14 of 71 in Luang Prabang
410 reviews
1.6 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 71 in Luang Prabang
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Santi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santi Hotel

Address: Sakkarine Road, Ban Wat Sene | PO Box 681, Luang Prabang 40000, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#20 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £74 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Santi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Santi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing