We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you like crap accommodation”
Review of Mano Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mano Guest House
Ranked #57 of 269 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2012

First we booked online, which they didn't understand and tried to get us to pay again. After giving up they eventually gave us the key for a room fit for a rat....

However, they did bring the outdoor experience inside, and by this I mean it RAINED, well thats what we called it. Instead the A/C would randomly squirt water at you!

The toilet regularly blocked up, and the bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned for years. The bed covers were so dirty, but this could be linked to the blocked toilet problem as it looked like people had been using it to wipe their bums!

There was also random cats running around the building.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable for the price. The location is so so and about a 10 minute walk to the main street.

Upon arrival however, we were greeted by a very friendly Lao man who did not speak a word of English. He showed us room after room until we finally arrived at one with 2 beds, which we were trying to communicate to him. He pulled out a piece of paper with the price and we went to pay at reception. He did not have any change, and there was nothing to sign or fill out. The only other staff we saw also spoke limited English but were friendly.

Overall great rooms at an affordable price, if u don't mind very limited service!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moderatetraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

About 5 minutes walk from the main centre, rooms are affordable with what you need. Staff don't speak much English so we used a lot of sign language. We stayed for six nights in the end and everything was fine. The wifi didn't work but there was a restaurant opposite that was cheap and had wifi.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Very small room, but clean. Bathroom is below average. For this price, you can't really ask for more...
We only wondered if there were any staff working in this hotel ? We never saw anybody at the front desk, only a very friendly night guard sleeping in the reception area at night !

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroomeShootingStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

After seeing good reviews for Mano on TA and in Lonely Planet, we booked in advance by e-mail and phone. We ended up staying a week at a cost of $15/night for a double room with AC, bathroom, WiFi, fridge, and cable TV. The room was large with a big ensuite bathroom which had the non-contained shower so popular in SE Asia—luckily, the toilet was on a small platform so it did not get wet during bathing. The water was slow to drain, though, which meant the floor of the bathroom stayed wet for a long time. The room was clean, but had quite a few ants in the bathroom and on some surfaces in the bedroom—NOT on the bed, thank goodness. The WiFi worked well in our 2nd floor room. The staff was nice, but did not speak English well. In fact, the man who staffs the lobby at night spoke no English at all. The woman who worked during the day spoke limited English and did provide us with a free map of the city which was extremely helpful. One nice (money-saving) bonus was the free drinking water in the lobby. We refilled our plastic bottles every day which was handy.

As others have mentioned, Mano is a bit out of the center of Luang Prabang. The walk is not bad, but gets annoying if you have to keep coming back to use the toilet, pick things up, etc. Renting bicycles is definitely the way to go--also, just a good way to see the area. Unfortunately, Mano does not rent bicycles--they recommend the place next door which requires your passport OR $160US as deposit [a bit excessive for a bicycle which rents for 16,000Kip/day ($2)]. We used the travel agency down the street which charged 17,000K and only required a passport copy. We kept the bicycles overnight so we could use them in the morning to get breakfast and the staff was fine with us parking them in the lobby—a nice gesture. The area is quiet which appealed to us even though we had to bike a little ways to get breakfast (the restaurants in the area did not open early). We woke up at 6am one morning to see the local monks come by to collect the offerings. It was a small procession, but was authentic. The offerings were all from the locals—no tourists—and seemed to be heartfelt on both sides. Quite different from the spectacle that takes place on the main street through town.

Overall, we liked Mano and would stay there again.

Luang Prabang tips:
-Night Market: amazing fresh, cheap food and wonderful handmade goods
-Sunset Cruise on the river: costs 50,000K each for about an hour. BEAUTIFUL.
-Scandinavian Bakery (on main street): 30,000K omelet breakfast including coffee (free refills), fruit, bagel, roll, juice. They also have good pizza. And, opens at 6am.
-L'Etranger Bookstore: good selection of books, 30,000K breakfast special, pots of brewed coffee, etc. Shows movies at 7pm every night on a somewhat small TV—get there early for a good seat.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sferd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

After 2 weeks of guest houses in Thailand, this is definitely the best! The first bar of soap I have seen in 2 weeks! and I get THREE!! also, TV with more than one channel, unlimited internet in the room, small fridge, air conditioning, 2 3/4 beds, hangers! and roof for private tanning!! There is also a drinking water cooler in the lobby!! all for 100 000 kips per day! The staff is super friendly, the other guests all appear as happy as I am.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benicha56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We have stayed at the Mano twice over the last 10 years and the owner could not be more helpful and the food is an excellent value. It is s bit of a walk to the center of things but for us (67&52) it is easy walk and a nice stroll. The hall bathroom is fine as you have the key.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clancygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0 mi away
Lakangthong 2 Friendly House
Lakangthong 2 Friendly House
#40 of 269 in Luang Prabang
42 reviews
0 mi away
Soutikone 2 Guesthouse
Soutikone 2 Guesthouse
#51 of 269 in Luang Prabang
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Vanvisa Guesthouse
Vanvisa Guesthouse
#75 of 269 in Luang Prabang
82 reviews
0 mi away
Mali House
Mali House
#32 of 269 in Luang Prabang
15 reviews
0 mi away
Khongsavath Guesthouse
Khongsavath Guesthouse
#72 of 269 in Luang Prabang
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mano Guest House

Address: Ban Viengxay, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 269 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £16 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mano Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mano Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mano Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing