We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, excellent location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Phousi Hotel

Phousi Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phousi Hotel
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average hotel, excellent location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed at the Phousi Hotel for five days with a group of friends. We had a good time there, it is a nice hotel and the green area in front of the hotel is perfect for a couple of beers. Only bad thing i can think of is that although breakfast was included in my stay, the portions were a little small for my taste.

Sightseeing/Attractions Tip : Don't miss the sunset over the Mekong river, best viewed from one of the restaurants down the road from the hotel. And there's a night market right across the street from the hotel.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor facing the driveway and the green area in front of the hotel. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cod66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
2
16
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Had a large airy room, but no view. Still air conditioning worked and it was very clean.
The staff were a bit indifferent but by no means surly or unhelpful. I got the impression they were students supplimenting their studies. At least one menber of staff was training to be a teacher.
The breakfast cafe was lovely, and they make a good omlette and french toast. Brilliant location about 30m from the main road directly opposite the King's palace.
There were some steep uneven wooden stairs to negotiate but unless you were elderly or infirm it wouldn't be a problem. i have no doubt there are better hotels but we found it perfectly acceptible.

Room Tip: Road facing rom for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

This hotel occupies a lovely large plot ideally situated near the centre of beautiful Louang Prabang. The decor and rooms are quite reasonable, but the hotel is badly let down by staff who don't appear to want to be there.

Louang Prabang is a very lovely town set in beautiful countryside with an abundance of temples and a truly laid back feel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

Great if you're backpacking without slumming it. If you want to be pampered and fussed over go elsewhere. After staying the first night in a small 'boutique' inn (ie. cramped and dirty) with a grumpy owner, our change to the much larger and more central Phousi Hotel was great. Located directly opposite the night markets and various restaurants and shops this was an excellent location to spend a few days in Luang Prabang. The adjoining rooms accomodated the four of us easily. We had none of the problems experienced by the other reviewers. Moderately priced, clean and quiet, not five star by any means, but nor does it charge 5 star prices.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubarb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

I stayed at the Phousi Hotel the first time about 5 years ago. It seems like not much has changed. I didn't experience any problems and the staff was nice and informative. The rooms were clean (for Laos standards), but were just dated and old. The Phousi is located in the heart of Luang Prabang, right next to the night market and has nicely manicured grounds where one can enjoy a nice Beer Lao. Its a great starting point to begin the day or evening. I had a last minute booking for a standard deluxe room that cost around $65/night (Christmas time).

Luang Prabang itself has vastly developed unfortunately the Phousi hasn't, the hotel has remained the same since I was there, not much improvement. In fact, I would say the location is now a hindrance if one is looking for quiet and serenity. There is constant noise. Its located on the main artery road with traffic noise starting from 6AM and lasting till 12AM. In addition, there is a primary school located right behind it as well. So, if you are there during the afternoon or early evening there will be kids screaming/playing.

The hotel purported to have WiFi, but I could never connect to it. Other relatives at mine stayed at different, vastly more expensive guesthouses, and their wifi didn't work either. So, it could be something with the Lao network.


If you are looking for a good central location the Phousi is good. If you are looking for charm and quiet then better to pick elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank URSOJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in September for US$20 a night in Phousi GH1 - the nicest of the 3. The room was clean and had a balcony on the top (2nd) floor. However there were a few odd things about the place that make me unwilling to recommend it.Firstly when trying to book it via email we were quoted $35 a night, then when we phoned after reading much cheaper prices in reviews they said we could have a room for $25, which we negotiated down to $20 as we were staying 3 nights.

There was construction going on next door (an apparent extension of the guesthouse) which has been going on for over a year and doesn't look like it is anywhere near finished. It wasn't too noisy and didnt bother us too much, however all the washing that is done at the hotel is hung amongst the dirty and dusty bricks and old building remains - including the sheets and towels which consequently don't seem that clean when you get them back.

On the topic of towels, the room was cleaned daily however every single day we had to ask for our towels to be replaced and the cleaner would take them and not replace them. This was annoying, but bearable until the cleaner waltzed into the room to replace the towels , we were in bed and had left the do not disturb sign on the door. It was very embarassing! The shower was also pathetic.

I also wouldn't recommend getting your Visa for Vietnam or Thailand arranged through them last minute as their rates are very high. The internet is in GH2 around the corner and constantly cut out when I was using it - and quite pricy compared to what you can get in town around the corner.

The breakfast in the restaurant outside next to the construction is edible but nothing amazing compared to what you can get in Luang Prabang.

We had an evening flight out of LP so they kindly let us store our bags for the day... in their staff quarters where they were watching TV. It was fine, however I didn't feel confident that my bag was safe from other travelers and staff members prying eyes.

Overall it is a good price for the location, level of cleanliness and new furniture in the room... might be better when the construction is finished.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roguetraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

We stayed at this hotel as part of a trip with Intrepid and after reading some of the reviews on this hotel, dreaded what we would find. Not all was bad but it wasn't that good either!

The rooms are good size but pillows, bed covers and towels had stains on them and the water when having a shower was either very hot or very cold. The reception staff mustered a smile sometimes, other times we were ignored. The houskeeping staff were always friendly.

The location is good and the fabulous night market is nearby. There is free wireless in the rooms internet which occasionally works well, othertimes is unbearably slow.

There are so many other places to stay in Luang Prabang that I wouldn't bother coming here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrab...
#41 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manoluck Hotel
Manoluck Hotel
#58 of 69 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xishuangbanna Hotel
Xishuangbanna Hotel
#63 of 69 in Luang Prabang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vang Thong Hotel
Vang Thong Hotel
#62 of 69 in Luang Prabang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
#50 of 69 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
#45 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phousi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phousi Hotel

Property: Phousi Hotel
Address: Setthathirath Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phousi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Phousi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phousi Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing