We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dreadful mistake”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Phousi Hotel

Phousi Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phousi Hotel
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
New York, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A dreadful mistake”
Reviewed 16 June 2007

The minute my taxi from the airport drove up to this hotel but no bell man came out to help with the luggage, I knew I had made a mistake in choosing this hotel. It was only after the taxi driver and I had struggled up the steps with the luggage that a bell man appeared. I had booked for 3 nights, breakfast included through one of the Asian based reservations websites.

I had a room on the first floor. It had two twin beds, but was quite cramped. I was traveling individually with two suitcases and barely made it into the room.

The room itself needed a painting and some attention to the scratched and scarred woodwork.

The hotel had no air conditioning in the hallways and stairways, but did have some AC in the lobby. Most times, however, the staff did not turn the AC on in the lobby and so it was quite stuffy and unpleasant to sit there.

The bathroom towels were practically paper thin, and were a dingy gray. One had body stains from a previous visitor.

Breakfast each morning was a disaster because no one on staff seemed to speak much English and barely understood me. It was an ordeal getting a second cup of coffee.

All day long the kitchen, which is next to the lobby, gave off foul smelling cooking odors. I did not eat dinner there, because I found a small cafe instead.

The room had a television with mostly Thai language stations; the CNN and BBC stations were very difficult to dial up and I only discovered the secret coding on my last day in town.

The room did not have a direct dial telephone. Thus, all phone calls had to be made by the reception staff at the front desk.

I truly regret having wasted my money and time at this hotel, and I will certainly not return. The hotel is classified as a 2-star establishment; I am surprised at even that. One-star seems more appopriate in my experience.

  • Liked — The location in the center of town.
  • Disliked — The general low class ambience.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JohninNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
2
16
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2007

As our booking with Vila Santi was disregarded, we had to go through town. The best choice was Phousi Hotel:
Large hotel ground with old garden, old colonial mansion, large and well equipped rooms, the superior for 65 and the other ones 60 USD, for our stay of more than 3 days 55 for the superior. The only difference is that the superior ones are so large that you can dance.
Good service, very clean.

The breakfast offered all we liked.We could choose between several soups, several hot meals apart from the usual items like corn flakes with milk, any kind of eggs and fresh French bread. The main street is just in front, but because of the garden not disturbing. Not few of the better guesthouses charge the same price without breakfast. Prices have gone up wildly in the last years, we learned. Somehow the Phousi management cannot fill this good hotel, and so they kept the price. A good hotel, comparing price with what you get excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank fredgerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2007

We stayed at the Phousi hotel with my husband for two nights in December 2006 and it was a very convenient location, right next to the entrance of the city's flea market. The staff were helpful and polite, and their communication skills were good enough. We had breakfast once and regreted it, as it was just plain boring - not bad, as Lao coffee is quite a brew. But we weren't staying at a fancy property so we cannot complain for our choice. We would not have dinner there even if it was for free! However, we had a very nice breakfast the next day at a cafe across the street that caters almost exclusively to Westeners - the JoMa cafe. However, the room quality was very poor and we would not stay at the Phousi again because of this. Especially the hot water situation was intolerable, with barely a drip of lukewarm water at any time of day. If they fixed this problem then I would say that their prices somewhat reflect their value, but as it is I cannot give them any better grade than a 2/5.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank meandrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2007

I wish I'd had the chance to read the two most recent reviews of this place before we left on our travels. Our experience was similar . The hotel is State owned and managed and they obviously have no idea how to run a hotel, nor do they care.

We had reserved Superior rooms for six nights, were initially given unsatisfactory rooms and when we questioned this they just kept giving us different room keys and indicating that we should look for ourselves. There were no tea/coffee facilities, nor any hot water available, and the coffee shop was only open 7 - 9am each day.

The rooms were of reasonable size but shabby and grubby, and the hot water was erratic, mainly absent.

Even worse, after we had checked in for our six nights our driver told us that the hotel was booked for a convention on the fourth night and we would have to move out and stay somewhere else for that night. He was obviously embarrassed but had no choice. We ended up (after some wrangling) at Sala Prabang, which is really lovely.

We asked if we could stay our remaining three nights at Sala Prabang but that was out of the question so we had to move again back to Phousi and go through the same rigmarole of
finding acceptable rooms. We gave up in the end and took one which stank of sewage and had a blocked toilet.

The whole performance of having to move out and back meant that we lost most of two days in that we had to check out and in and fit in with the times that suited the Phousi .

From talking with our driver we got the impression that the travel companies are forced to offer this hotel because it is in State ownership. It should be closed down, or priced at no more than US$20. We paid about US$50.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirt and smells
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Alvaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thai -Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2007

The location - great. The staff is friendly and the grounds are nice. But, the property is run down and certainly NOT worth the price. Having hot water in the morning was a miracle, the towles were so old and stained they felt like sand paper. A $40 room at best if your desperate - but, our travelagent charged us $125usd. You guessed it - we have stopped payment on our credit card and now we get to deal with that too.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shabby room
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoiSaketThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2007

Let's get one thing clear, the location of the hotel is excellent, centrally in the city. And the staff is friendly, definately.

But the hotel is not worth the money. We booked the hotel directly and they charged us $60,-. For that kind of money you can expect in LP a lot, with so many very, very beautiful restored boutique type of hotels and guest houses. The large and unpersonal Phousi unfortunately gives the impression that maintenance does not exsist, all paintwork must be done, we had to change rooms 3 times before we had one with a hot shower. State of the bathrooms is so old that everything gives the feeling of not being clean, miniature shampoo bottles are refilled just too many times, showercurtain is stained. This is a pity, because the rooms have beatiful wooden floors and it has all the potential to become a great hotel if they would invest money in stead of just using the tourism boom and make a fortune. Breakfast is included in the rate (as they are a typical hotel for tour groups large and small), and here they also lived up to expectations: bad quality of food and old coffee and tea.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltdorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2006

Location of the hotel is excellent. Very close to night market. Lots of restaurants and food stalls nearby. River is two minutes walk from the hotel. Our room was nice, a corner room with nice big windows and good view of garden. Sheets and towels are kind of old. Service is average. Knowledge of English is limited. Hotel seems catering tour groups most of the time so it is difficult to get a double room, most rooms are twin rooms. Breakfast service is quite disappointing. They don't take note of what is ordered and bring whatever to your table until they hit the jackpot and bring the right item.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrab...
#41 of 69 in Luang Prabang
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manoluck Hotel
Manoluck Hotel
#58 of 69 in Luang Prabang
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#5 of 69 in Luang Prabang
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vang Thong Hotel
Vang Thong Hotel
#62 of 69 in Luang Prabang
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xishuangbanna Hotel
Xishuangbanna Hotel
#63 of 69 in Luang Prabang
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
#50 of 69 in Luang Prabang
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phousi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phousi Hotel

Property: Phousi Hotel
Address: Setthathirath Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phousi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Phousi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phousi Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing