We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opportunity Lost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Opportunity Lost”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

What a magnificent location! What a fantastic historical building! What beautiful gardens and Mekong views! You may be wondering why we rated the Grand as "average"? Here are the reasons: Many young staff members with blank expressions and no language / communications skills. Many staff demonstrating indifference to the extent of appearing unwelcoming. This hotel is a magnificent piece of Luang Prabang's heritage that needs a genuine experienced hotel manager and well supported change agent. This is what is lacking. Without this - it will be a cheap tour group destination only.

Room Tip: Mekong View Rooms are absolutely wonderful. Getting an extra tea bag is a problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luangprabangsmile, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Kath M,
Thank you for taking the time to review and sharing your experience. We appreciate your comments in regards to our location. Your comments which needs improvements are extremely valuable in helping us to maintain the highest levels of service and we respect your points and have shared with our teams with the aim of improving communication skills mentioned.
Thank you once again and from today we look forward to welcoming you soon in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    156
    41
    16
    8
See reviews for
47
117
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I'm writing this review from my hotel now. First they do have free WiFi. I ended up at this hotel as a result of a package tour in SE Asia. It is a nice hotel; however, there really isn't anything with a short walking distance. The town of Luang Prabang is about a 5 minute drive. The taxi fare to/from town can be negotiated for about $5. I did see a sign in the lobby where they rent bicycles. The hotel does offer a free shuttle to/from town. However it is only available at specific times in the morning (3 departures and 1 return), afternoon(3 departures and 2 returns) and evening (2 departures and 2 returns).

The rooms are nice, my air-conditioning works fine (it is very hot here), the room has a TV (several channels), refrigerator, and hair dryer, etc. There is also a nice walk in shower. I'm in building 3 and have a nice view of the Mekong River. The hotel's buffet breakfast was very good too. There are some table overlooking the river. The voltage is 220 (type F plugs); however there is one 110v (type A plug) in the bathroom. The rooms do not have a safe: however, they have safe deposit boxes at the reception desk. The staff seems very friendly. There is a sign on the desk here that says they offer an hour massage for only 85,000 kips (a little over $10). The pool looks nice (didn't use it); however there isn't much shade there and the few lounge chairs didn't look very good.

Note: The hotel provides 2 bottles of drinking water daily free of charge, their tap water is not drinkable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor with a good view of the river; and leave your balcony light off when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel you recommend is beautiful, but totally impractical as the hotel taxi service into town is very intermittent, and because it is so far out of the centre, taxi drivers in the centre don't know where the place is. It's not a good choice for people only spending a few days in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guatemaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel twice within 4 months. The first time with a friend during the New Year holiday and the second time with a group for Easter. Although the hotel was not in town, the view to the Mekong, the extensive ground (this hotel was indeed a palace before) and the warm hospitality more than made up the slight incovenience. In fact, instead of taking the shuttle (provided free by the hotel) or a tuk-tuk, we rode the hotel's bike (about 20 to 25 minutes to town) which was most useful while touring in Luang Prabang. When we were tired at night and didn't feel like riding back, all we had to do was to take the tuk-tuk together with the bike at no extra charge. On both occasions when I stayed in the hotel, I was given the same river-view room on the 2nd floor of Block 7. This was not a coincidence but the result of a very kind manager who was most accommodating to my request. In fact, the manager arranged for nearly everyone in the group to have a 2nd floor room in that Block and the adjoining one (Block 6) which have the best view to the Mekong. The hotel looked after all of us very well and we were all happy to have chosen it.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank birthday-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luangprabangsmile, Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you very much for such a good comment, we are very pleased if we have full your expectations, we all, the Grand Hotel will be waiting for your return to the hictoric place again.
Happy Lao New Year!!
best regards,
Management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San rafael, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We just left the Grand Luang Prabang where we stayed for 2 nights. The location of this hotel is a bit out of the ways and it was necessary to either take a tuk tuk or use the infrequent hotel shuttle to get into town.

The grounds of this hotel had a very lush tropical like setting with liy ponds surrounding all the 4 separate buildings. All the units had a nice veranda or patio with outdoor seating. This is a 2 level hotel and we were on the lower level. The problem with this is the walls and floors are thin so we heard a lot of toilet flushing, door slamming, furniture moving(hardwood floors), and idle conversations going on. Unless we had ear plugs in, it made for sleepless moments until around midnight unless there was a late tour group coming in. The dining area is a little walk away in a relaxing and beautiful setting with spectacular views of the MeKong river. The breakfast is inclusive but is only fair. While we were here,the bar and restaurant closed up quite early, around 7-7:30pm. If there isn't anything going on they just wrap it up.

This is a busy place with tour groups. Overall, we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Due to all the noise that can be heard choose rooms on the 2nd level. We had room 215 and it was to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firepois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luangprabangsmile, Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
we would like to thank you for all your comment and especially with our service that it is our pleasure to be able to satisfy our guest expectation and we hope to have an oppotunity to welcome you back to visit our hictoric place again.
With our best regards,
Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

A must stay for its location alone! Sited on the banks of the river with beautiful views in both directions. Beautiful lawns and gardens with lily ponds stocked with fish, a place to relax ,and also have a swim in the outdoor pool which is sited away from the rooms and restaurant. The rooms themselves are probably due for a refurbish but are perfectly serviceable and who wants to spend time inside when the beauty lies in the hotel grounds. Good restaurant and breakfasts. Quite a way from town but hotel runs an infrequent shuttle 'bus' throughout day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnson11Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uralla
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This is my third stay in as many years at "The Grand". Located out of town it is truly a place to unwind and smell the frangipani. Some things could do with a bit of cosmetic, but overall it is a beautiful place to stay. It's views over the Mekong are breathtaking, the grounds are lush with tropical vegetation and well maintained. Unusually the pool area is very quiet (which suited us perfectly), with drinks and snacks available from 10am until 7pm. The food in the restaurant is very good as is the complimentary breakfast. The cocktail bar (a separate building) is beautifully furnished and a great place to catch up after a not too hectic day.
Staff are very friendly and accommodating and nothing is too much trouble, most of the staff have fairly good English - so much better than my Laotian!
A free shuttle bus to and from town runs regularly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luangprabangsmile, Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
2.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
1.6 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Palais Juliana Luang Prabang
Le Palais Juliana Luang Prabang
#33 of 69 in Luang Prabang
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#10 of 69 in Luang Prabang
560 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
763 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort

Property: The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort
Address: Ban Xiengkeo, Khet Sangkalok P.O. Box 1191, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#14 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#23 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miracle of Luangprabang city, the Grand luangprabang hotel is where the music offered by the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel Luang Prabang
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel And Resort
Grand Hotel Luang Prabang
Grand Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing