We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort
Ranked #33 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location. Just outside Luang Prabang on a bend in the Mekong. Its quiet, tranquil and idyllic. The river facing rooms are fabulous. The breakfast terrace views are spectacular. One word of caution, don't have anything other than breakfast at the hotel. Dinner was disappointing and very expensive compared to going into town. A tuk tuk is cheap as chips and the restaurants there are all second to none. The staff are very young but helpful, this is a relatively new destination, so their lack of polish is part of their charm. Go before its too late.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    156
    41
    16
    8
See reviews for
46
117
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

It's a funny place one could imagine in the days of the Empire. The whole hotel could do with a makeover. But it had a certain charm & we enjoyed our stay. Our room was fine. The shower was hot, if a bit of a drip. The air con worked efficiently and the room had a great view over the Mekong. The swimming pool was great although it did have limited sun beds. The breakfast was average, although pleasant being outside. The trip into town was easy enough & the shuttle bus worked well for us.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleggy12A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at the Grand for three nights while visiting Luang Prabang which is fabulous!!. Yes, the hotel is a bit outside of the city's center but it is a destination unto itself with gorgeous grounds, fish ponds, water buffalos, pool, breakfast overlooking the river each morning, and more. The staff was friendly and helpful with a wonderful sense of warmth and good humor. And town is only a short tuk-tuk ride away (and is inexpensive) so heading to town in the morning - back to the hotel for the afternoon - and then back again for the night market is not hassle. The rooms have balconies with gorgeous views of the landscape and river. Our room in Building One on the second floor was moderate sized, clean, and nicely decorated. I would recommend this for families, couples, and business travelers.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I just arrived back in Bangkok last night after a trip in Laos. We were in Luang Prabang from Friday to Sunday. The hotel is very charming . The food is quite good. However the location is very far from the downtown and the staff is quite dreadful. They seem not to understand what we want and very slow with their service. The worst part is the last night before checkout ,we asked for the transportation to airport and we were told it is available free of charge. We checked out the later day and took that transportation to the airport. A guy from hotel called to the driver and we were told we had to pay for the transportation and the driver drove back to the hotel because they will not let us go to the airport without paying for transportation first.Do not care whether we would missed the flight or not. We managed in the end after that guy at the hotel hung up on my friend Not to pay for transportation and go directly to the airport but that already made us very upset . I love Luang Prabang and the hotel itself but I will definitely NOT go back to this Grand hotel ever again. It seems there are no kid of manager there and the staff runs the hotel by themselves!! Totally disappointed!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank park2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The Grand Luang Prabang is a beautiful sprawling resort on incredible grounds with gardens, a pool, ponds, and water buffalo grazing. It seems like a place that was absolutely stunning about 20 years ago and is now a little past its prime, needing some paint touch-ups and a little love. There were practically no other guests while we were staying there. The other reviews that mention blank, indifferent staff are true but all our requests were met. They picked us up and dropped us off at the airport, they have a free shuttle into town that runs a few times daily, breakfast was pretty good - not great. No real complaints about this hotel, although it does require a tuk-tuk or shuttle into town or it would be a looong walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlJess902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here for three days recently. The setting is perfect but the service was dreadful. We were told dinner was from 6 to 10. We arrived at 9 but at 9 45 they turned out the lights and left us. We asked reception to get us a drink. They said they could not as the restaurant was closed. Overall the food was dreadful . Stay awat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niftydublin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luangprabangsmile, Front Office Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear niftydublin55,

Thank you for choosing The Grand Hotel and Resort for your recent stay in Luang Prabang.
Please accept our apologies for your recent experience in our restaurant.
Let me assure you it is our intention to maintain the highest levels of quality and service within our restaurant.
We shared this matter to our management team and will correct promptly to avoid this matter to happened again.

I sincerely hope you, our valued guest, will give us another opportunity to serve you. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

What a magnificent location! What a fantastic historical building! What beautiful gardens and Mekong views! You may be wondering why we rated the Grand as "average"? Here are the reasons: Many young staff members with blank expressions and no language / communications skills. Many staff demonstrating indifference to the extent of appearing unwelcoming. This hotel is a magnificent piece of Luang Prabang's heritage that needs a genuine experienced hotel manager and well supported change agent. This is what is lacking. Without this - it will be a cheap tour group destination only.

Room Tip: Mekong View Rooms are absolutely wonderful. Getting an extra tea bag is a problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luangprabangsmile, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Kath M,
Thank you for taking the time to review and sharing your experience. We appreciate your comments in regards to our location. Your comments which needs improvements are extremely valuable in helping us to maintain the highest levels of service and we respect your points and have shared with our teams with the aim of improving communication skills mentioned.
Thank you once again and from today we look forward to welcoming you soon in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
2.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
1.6 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Palais Juliana
Le Palais Juliana
#28 of 69 in Luang Prabang
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
547 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
755 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort

Property: The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort
Address: Ban Xiengkeo, Khet Sangkalok P.O. Box 1191, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#15 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#23 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miracle of Luangprabang city, the Grand luangprabang hotel is where the music offered by the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel Luang Prabang
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel And Resort
Grand Hotel Luang Prabang
Grand Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing