We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, but backpacker vibe”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khammany Inn II Hotel
Ranked #88 of 265 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Pros:
- Really friendly staff. The lady at the front desk was one of the most helpful people in Laos.
- Rooms were clean.
- Free breakfast, but its only butter, jam and baguettes.

Cons:
- Location is not very center. About a 10-15 minute walk from anything.
- Has a backpacker feel. We stayed in a room (ensuite), but the place was dominated by young backpackers.
- Rooms are clean but lack any character.
- Wifi is only avaliable in the lobby and not in the rooms. Can sometimes pick up wifi from neighboring cafe, but need the code.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

I have never come across any guesthouse which has the most young female college backpackers who stays here for their holiday.

The price of the room was value for money and their friendly and helpful receptionist has the most knowledge on what's the best arrangement for sightseeing trip in Luang Prabang and Laos.

Room Tip: This might not be the hotel you want if you are seeking for nightlife as it's located slightly o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The lady Thu who runs the Inn is just fantastic!!!!! It loosk like she runs the place single handedly but so easily! When we arrived in Luang Prabang I wasn't very well and we booked a dorm room on hostelworld. She let us upgrade to our own double which was just wonderful. We had a twin room with a big wet room style bathroom.This was probably one of the cleanest places we stayed and such good value for money!!!
Downstairs is free tee and if you are up in time some toast too! Located only5 mins walk from the restaurants and night market I highly recommend this Inn!! :) She arranged flights for us, day trips to waterfalls, tuktuk to airport, literally anything you want to do Thu will sort it for you! She even sleeps by the reception incase you need anything!!!! The communal wifi reception area where you can get the tea is great for meeting other fellow travellers too

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Rooms were average, quite bland and clinical. Free breakfast of bread, butter, jam and noodles was available, but apart from that, not much else to speak of. Free wi-fi available only in the lobby, not in the rooms - more of a guest house for backpackers rather than a hotel. Excellent service from the girl at the front desk.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank krishkay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I was very disappointed with Khammany Inn Hotel. The room itself was nice, but when we came in we thought they had forgotten to put towels in our room. We were shocked to find out we had to rent towels! I've stayed at lots of places, much cheaper places and I have never had to rent a towel! It's not what I expect from a hotel. Breakfast was not good. Bread, margarine, jam and some packets of noodles. They ran out of jam the first day and so it was just bread with margarine and the bread was not very good. Also, there was no wi-fi in the rooms, there was wi-fi in the lobby. It felt like a hostel or guest-house rather than a hotel. I wouldn't stay here again.

Having said that I must say that the girl at the front desk was really good. She was very friendly and was great at organising buses, tours, etc. If it hadn't been for her we probably would have left early and I would have given a 2/5 rating.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gelley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We were really impressed with the Khammany Inn. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and there was a good feel about the reception/dining area, especially if you're keen to meet other travellers.

We found the location was no problem, it is a 5-10 min walk into the centre of town and we enjoyed the stroll to the night market and tourist sights.

The free breakfast was nothing to write home about- a basic roll and pot of jam, but it was okay for a freebie.

The room itself was very spacious and clean. The bed was large and comfy with a mossie net if needed. It felt more like a decent hotel than an inn as the decor in the room great.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shep03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

One of the best things was the 35000 kip (3,5€) trip to the waterfalls that the lady was arranging. Also transport to airport for 30000 kip was nice. Breakfast was poor, need to eat something more. Towels need to be rented..

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaakko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#33 of 70 in Luang Prabang
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 70 in Luang Prabang
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
834 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 70 in Luang Prabang
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khammany Inn II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khammany Inn II Hotel

Address: Chao Fa Ngum Road | Ban Thad Luang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £26 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing