We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRONT ROW ORCHESTRA seats in the ROYAL KINGDOM CITY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“FRONT ROW ORCHESTRA seats in the ROYAL KINGDOM CITY”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

3 NAGAS is located on the perfect block to be RIGHT near all the action , yet still be a respite and sanctuary from the absolute heartbeat . get yourself a bike , not that you need it , but it`s so much fun to float up & down the main streets in the " languorous " tropical nectar day & nite . at sunrise the HOTEL is literally the front row orchestra seat for the daily monk procession and alms offering ritual . the rooms are wondrous in every aspect . the staff is flawless in every way you could ask . LUANG PRABANG has other super pricey hotels outside the main arena if u wish to be hermetically sealed from the street action and jeweled wonders . not for me . great outdoor breakfast area and bar which becomes the evening dinner scene . i spent 9 great nites in the ancient royal capitol and was granted a privileged entree to its delicacies.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIchaeLEVINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear MIchaelLEVINE,

Bravo Maestro, your review is nothing less than an ode to Luang Prabang and received with grateful heart.

Warmest regards - Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    168
    46
    15
    11
See reviews for
92
277
69
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I'd wanted to come to Luang Phrabang for years and I'd always wanted to stay at the 3 Nagas. There are far larger, more modern and even nicer hotels in LP but this is a great place to truly experience the center of this UNESCO World Heritage city. True, there's no TV in the room. But to be honest, there's simply no place for one. It would feel out of place in this classic structure.

My room was located in the older of the two buildings comprising the 3 Nagas, on the upper level overlooking the main road. I had a great view watching the parade of monks walk by as they made their daily alms procession. (Note, the monks only pass by as the hotel lies between two alms giving sites.) The balcony was very spacious and had a ceiling fan as did the room itself. The bed was large and very comfortable. It came equipped with a mosquito net which did come in handy. (This speaks more to the fact that the old city lies between two rivers and this is no reflection on the hotel itself.) The bathroom, like the rest of the room was very clean. It was a bit dark inside the shower but this wasn't surprising given the traditional style of the house with its antique mahogany paneling. The air conditioning worked fine and it wasn't overly noisy. Street noise could be heard from inside the room but that's normal with an historic structure of that type. It certainly was not excessive of bothersome at all. The treats left during the evening turn down service were wonderful.

Breakfast each morning was a real treat. It's cute how the staff bundles themselves up in winter attire during the (relatively) cooler mornings. In fact, the nicest part of this charming property is the friendliness of the hotel staff. Service was really top. The on-site manager makes it his priority to ensure that his guests are well attended to and he should be very proud of how well the staff performed. I did have one dinner at the hotel but frankly, I was not impressed and this was surprising given the nice write-up in the NYT travel section. It wasn't bad at all but I suppose I would have enjoyed more authentic dishes than the fusion cuisine they serve. Since this hotel is where the first ice cream in Laos was ever made, I had to try it. I'm afraid it was fairly icy, no doubt due to it being hand made in that climate.

The patio furniture on the terrace where breakfast is served was in need of replacement. The manager admitted as much noting that new furniture was being ordered which could withstand the tropical climate better. But this is the only really negative criticism I had and it's a fairly minor point. The friendliness of the staff and the historical charm of the hotel more than made up for a couple of sun-faded cushions. I'm so happy to have stayed four wonderful nights at the 3 Nagas.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Tom N,

Happy New Year from all of the team at 3 Nagas!

Thank you for your very comprehensive and honest review of our hotel. We are indeed at the centre of this World Heritage City, actually being located in Zone 1, the hotspot, and our buildings are a stately example of another era, the perfect compliment to this precious part of the world.

Thank you for your comments about your dinner and our menu, though I am a tad confused, the hotel has not served Fusion Cuisine for some time now. Our current menu, that has been in place since mid year, is only traditional Lao cuisine cooked by our Lao Chefs that have been with us for many many years. Perhaps it is their presentation that makes the food look like a mix of traditional and new age?

I also appreciate your notes on the outdoor furniture and my colleague the hotel manager was correct in advising the new soft furnishing are indeed on order.

I will forward your lovely comments about our team through to all. Lao are a genuine and caring people and to know their intentions have been well received will certainly bring a smile to their faces.

We wish you safe travels for all your future adventures, thank you again for staying with us and may 2014 be your best year yet.

Warmest regards - Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Restaurant with Delightful service, wonderful fission Lao food. Great steamed, stuffed fish in banana leaves. Perfect weather to sit out and off the main track so nice and quiet. Roast chicken with green papaya salad (3 Naga special) was also good and interesting difference from Thai green papaya salad.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear DTAsia,

Happy New Year!

Thank you for your kind review of our fabulous restaurant. I'm so glad you took the time to relax and enjoy not only our great Lao cuisine but also the location and tranquility of the hotel.

Lao food is very different from our surrounding neighbours and not to be missed, fresh, simple, clean, healthy and spiced to your personal choice as opposed to cooked/prepared within…perhaps I am a little biased by I do believe our Green Papaya Salad is unbeatable.

Wishing you all the very best for 2014 and may your travels take you to many more exotic and soul inspiring locations.

As ever - Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in November, though part of a small group I was solo if that makes sense .Luang Prabang is a truly lovely friendly & safe place . So is the hotel, the rooms are large ,well equipped 4 poster very comfortable bed & a huge bathroom, with a little area to sit outside your own room. All I could want for 3 nights sight seeing. Have read negative comments about the room safety of this hotel, I have to say that I travelled with iPhone, ipad & camera, yes I locked them in the room safe every time I was not in the room that is what the safe is for your personal peace of mind. The staff were wonderful friendly & helpful, even organised a tour for me when I had been let down, they could not do enough to help. food good you can sit outside & watch the world go by. I would recommend this hotel & go back , I really enjoyed my stay in this lovely country.Please remember this is a small hotel so does not have pool or fitness room, if you want this its not your hotel,,but it is my number one choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Lola008,

Sabaidee and Merry Christmas from 3 Nagas! Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and for staying with us during your time in Luang Prabang. We are only a tiny hotel as you stated but have a unique and interesting past of our own, if only our walls could talk they would herald many special moments in history.

I will be sure to thank the team for the wonderful attention they paid, and for your acknowledgment of them.

Please do feel free to visit us again, we would be delighted to have you return and experience all the more that Luang Prabang has to offer.

Until then, very best wishes from all of us at 3 Nagas and Happy New Year!

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Not only did we love the laid-back, warm and welcoming experience we had in Luang Prabang, but the icing on the cake was our wonderful hotel. 3 Nagas is luxurious, but not over-the-top. It blends in with the local "vibe", but treats each guest like a VIP. The staff is gracious and friendly. Noy and Marko were part of the management team that made sure we had everything we needed during our stay. And, all we can say is that we can't wait to go back and spend more time. This destination is not to be missed if you are traveling in SE Asia.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniegbalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear anniebalto,

Sabaidee and warm greetings from 3 Nagas! Thank you for your generous review of our hotel and I am thrilled that we were the ‘ice on the cake’. Gracious and friendly is a lovely description of the team, I totally agree and further also know it lends itself to the people of Laos in general. We are a destination not to be missed and should be on everybody’s bucket list for sure.

Please do return and allow us to welcome you back the our hotel, it will be our sincere pleasure.

Until then safe travels where ever they may lead.

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. We had a slight problem with our room and the Manager Marco quickly remedied the situation and moved us across the road to another room. Beds were incredibly comfortable and the room very quiet. The hotel is well positioned for the Alms ritual. Please make the time to wake early and see this. Very nice little boutique hotel but the addition of tea and coffee in the rooms would be welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room across from the road from reception. These seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Kerryn P,

Sabaidee and warm greetings from 3 Nagas. Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and please, allow me to apologize for the initial issue with your room, I am pleased that Marko was able to sort for you and the balance of your stay was as expected.

Point noted for the tea and coffee, we will take under advisement and appreciate the suggestion.

Wishing all the very best where ever your next travels may take you.

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. This was my fourth time in Luang Prabang, but 1st time here.
3 Nagas hotel was amazing. The bed is super comfy with these great feather pillows. We stayed in the building opposite the lobby. It was quiet, We overslept and never even heard the alms procession.
This is my hotel of choice when I come back. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swaldman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear swaldman111,

You are clearly a Luang Prabang fan and one of the lucky ones that has had the chance to return again and again. We may seem like a sleepy little village but there is so much more to do than first meets the eye and more you return the more there is to explore.

Feel free to ask for me personally when you next return, very happy to have you back.

Until then safe travels where ever they may lead - Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
594 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Sakkaline Road | Vatnong Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#16 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel is a small charming boutique hotel comprising three restored historic UNESCO World Heritage buildings more than a century old. The hotel is ideally located in the towns Old Quarter, just a short walking distance from the major tourist attractions, on the path of the morning alms-giving procession. High ceilings, exotic dark wooden floors, four-poster beds, silk fabrics and traditional weavings ooze elegance, style and character. A beautiful courtyard garden beside the Nam Khan River plus an acclaimed fine dining restaurant, serving exquisite Laotion food, make this hotel the perfect place to relax and enjoy the serene Lao lifestyle. The hotel's intimate collection of 15 rooms and suites each blend space, luxury and exquisite charm, exuding a warm and inviting ambiance amid the tranquil surroundings. Eight rooms are located in The Khamboua House, a jewel of traditional Lao architecture. Built in 1903, it opens onto a beautiful garden edging the Nam Khan River, from where you can glimpse the serene Lao lifestyle. The other seven rooms are located in The Lamache House, built originally in 1898 to host the Royal Court. The house was restored using traditional techniques and materials, indulging guests in a truly authentic stay in this charming historical town. The hotel guests are invited to use these facilities at our 5-star sister resort, Sofitel Luang Prabang, located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Nagas Hotel Luang Prabang
Les 3 Nagas Luang Prabang
Les 3 Nagas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing