We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Very Good Food. Wonderful Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location. Very Good Food. Wonderful Service.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Room was beautifully presented, clean and very comfortable.
Breakfast was wonderful. Evening meals are very good although more expensive than other local, family run restaurants that are only a short walk away.
Well located for easy walking access to main temples, shops, restaurants and markets.
Boutique Hotel is a great description for Le 3 Nagas.
Although NOT having a pool is a Negative.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Jon0024,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay at The 3 Nagas Luang Prabang, certainly one of the best located hotels in town.
We are proud of our chef's Lao Menu which has been awarded many accolades, including 'Best Lao Food' in Luang Prabang, not easy to achieve.
Prices are bit higher than others in town as we invest in training of the staff and follow very strict hygiene procedures.

As for the pool, we agree with you and wish we would be able to add one in our beautiful garden, this is just not possible due to The 3 Nagas being a UNESCO Heritage site, in which we cannot modify the current setting., also for religious reasons, no hotels in the centre of town can have a pool.
We do invite guests to use the pool at our sister Hotel de la Paix Luang Prabang, just 15 minutes away walking.

We hope you return soon to continue enjoying the serene peacefulness of Luang Prabang,

Thank you for your visit,

Pablo Barruti
gm@hoteldelapaixlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    165
    45
    15
    11
See reviews for
92
275
67
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at the 3 Naga's hotel based on the recommendation of several friends. After spending some time sightseeing after our noon arrival we were ready to relax on the large porch outside our room. After settling in we discovered that the overhead fan was not working. The repair man came to fix. When I noted that this was intrusive just as we were set to relax the lovely young woman at the front desk immediately offered to move us to the Executive Suite which was considerably larger and VERY comfortable. I loved the historic feel to the decor and we enjoyed being able to watch the 5:30 am monk procession from our own porch. Every member of the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome. The manager even drove us to the airport! They were totally relaxed about the check out an check in times. This probably is due to a very slow season right now. They are eager for tourists and it is very apparent in how warmly we were welcomed.

Room Tip: We didn't see the rooms in the building with the enclosed restaurant. Our suite was in the smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronandjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Ron and Judy,

Thank you for your review, we are very happy to know you had such a great experience.
We are sorry for the initial malfunction of the fan, glad to know it was quickly taken care of and you were made to feel at home.

We hope you have great memories of your time here and that you visit us again soon,

Sabaidee!

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The location is great, food is good, breakfast huge, lovely staff- however rooms can make or break your stay. We had a room upstairs with a balcony that was beautiful but the one small air conditioner could not possibly cool the room, which in the July heat is no good. The hotel staff was lovely and found us another room, across the street on the garden level. The room was clean, the air worked just fine, bed very comfortable, but not the charm of the room we had initially had. Also, being in the garden, we did have to contend with a bug now and then(which in this climate is of course the norm!).
All in all, clean, convenient, charming but would probably try somewhere else if I return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Beth,

Thank you very much for your review and constructive feedback!
We are indeed a boutique hotel of only 15 rooms spread over 3 restored Unesco Heritage protected homes.
The ambiance and atmosphere is unique, including for Luang Prabang.

We take your comments with appreciation and will make sure we can improve very soon.

Hope to welcome you back in Laos soon,

Pablo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I'm really struggling with what to write here, and I think it comes down to this. The website is rather flash, with lots of lovely images, great style, and high boutique standards, promising the world. So naturally that's what we expected. Plus it's on websites such as Mrs and Mrs Smith so because of that you expect top notch!

On arrival we were a little disappointed to find it wasn't quite so shiny and wonderful as we'd been led to believe. The rooms were pleasant but some of the finishes were of poor standard, particularly in the bathroom (the upper layer of plastic on the toilet seat was stained through long use and was peeling off in large patches, the bath was dirty (again stained rather than actual dirt that could be wiped away), the shower curtain was too long as it dangled in the bath etc). All things that could be easily rectified.

We had a first floor room (a deluxe double I think) in the building across the road from the reception/restaurant and from the website and photos believed we'd have a private balcony (reading back it perhaps doesn't say 'private' but from the images and text it certainly reads like it should be private). We didn't, and I don't think any of the rooms did. We had a large public veranda shared by the 3 or 4 rooms on that floor, and it's not really somewhere I'd want to go and sit out in an evening, very public. Yes you have a view of the alms procession in the morning, but you're set back a fair way from the road with lots of foliage in the way so you won't get any decent photos from here, much better to walk 1 minute down the road to the temple with the long white wall, which is great for pics.

The downstairs rooms have outside garden space which looked a much better deal if the weather was cool enough to actually want to sit outside. The back garden is lovely, and is on the other side of the building to the main street.

Having said all that, the bed was extremely comfy, with the sort of pillows that mould themselves to your head. Yes there was some noise (but you're in the centre of town for goodness sake, what do you expect??), but with most people observing the 11.30pm curfew the night itself is generally quiet. The noise does of course start early, so it's worth having early nights and early mornings and getting in tune with the local way of life. Much cooler in the mornings anyway, best time of day.

Service was welcoming and pleasant, if a bit lacking what we've experienced elsewhere in LP, especially when we were virtually the only guests there. Information was a bit lacking too, like we knew from the website we could have free use of bikes, and that there was wifi, but nothing was ever mentioned about either. We could have asked about the bikes, but didn't actually want to use them, and for the wifi codes we found a bit of paper in the room in the back of a drawer along with the environmental info about re-using towels. Would also have been nice to have a welcome pack in the room with info on things to do, where to eat etc.

Breakfast was really good with lots to order from the menu, and good quality food. Staff were very attentive and brought over fans to keep us cool, which was thoughtful. We were going to try the restaurant for dinner but ended up going to Tamarind for 2 nights instead. What we saw of other diners plates looked tasty though.

Had the vintage car airport transfer which was both rather cool and a bit embarrassing as the vehicle sounded like it was about to break down any minute, had questionable suspension, didn't really get above 30mph and make one hell of a racket so everyone on the streets turned their heads to stare. But I guess its a vintage car from the 1950s so what did we expect?! Still a nice touch and something a bit different.

It is very overpriced, although bear in mind all hotels of any sort of standard in LP are more expensive that you'd expect in Laos. We only stayed here because they had a stay 3 pay for 2 offer on which made it more acceptable.

In summary, I think if the website hadn't been so flashy and raised our expectations beyond what the reality is prior to visiting we would have really enjoyed staying here. As it was we had a pleasant stay but left feeling a little disappointed. It really wouldn't take much to bring this place up to the standard implied by the website, so I hope one day all the advice on here is acted upon.

Room Tip: The balcony for upper rooms is shared, not private! Ask for a room across the street from the recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Luang Prabang!

Your detailed feedback is very constructive and we are activating some modifications to assure all guests are satisfied with their stay.

We believe the 3 Unesco Heritage protected buildings that are part of 3 Nagas are restored to the best manner possible to allow for guests to stay. There is a unique character to the ambiance of the place that most guests love.

I am glad to know the service and experience was positive, and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon,

Kind regards,

Pablo Barruti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. The location was in the heart of the old quarter, well about a 3-5 minute walk from the crazy middle of the street (which was better). It was located closer to all the best restaurants which was better. It was right in the middle of both rivers, and a 7 minute walk to the night market. We were able to see the monks processional from our balcony, yet the trees were blocking part of the view and we decided to quickly get dressed and go down to the street to get a better view which I highly recommend.

For the hotel itself, the staff spoke very good English and was able to help us with all the questions we had and were cheery and helpful. The morning breakfast was so large, we couldn't eat it all and it was well presented and very good. We came back for afternoon cocktails (and have to recommend the lemongrass mojito (yet we changed out the Lao whisky for Rum which was better).

Wifi in room and at restaurant was strong. Safe in room and mini fridge. They did turn down service with a little treat at turn down which was a nice surprise. A/C was cool, but not great.

All in all, loved our stay at 3 Nagas and would stay again and highly recommend staying here. Once you are here, you are can see everything on foot and take in the charming city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13_Meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Hotel Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Deear Guest


Thank you for your comment and excellent review!

I am very delighted to hear that you enjoyed the stay and found every single bits of your experience was exceptional.
Yes! The monks procession is a very warm-hearted local culture that not easy to find much in any buddhism cities these days.

We hope you will return to visit us again as our team will be thrilled to have the chance to welcome you back and serve you!

Thank you again for the feedback! See you soon!

Pablo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

It was an excellent surprise to find this nice terrace to have an excellent tasting and well served dinner. The service was perfect. Even the manager "Pablo" approached us to ask how everything was working out.
We were walking just past the night street market looking for another well known restaurante. After looking at both, 3 Nagas definitely had the best elegant ambiance. The food was delicious and well prepared.
I highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank deviajeMEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Hotel Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear deviajeMEX

Thank you so much for the feedback and kind message. It is truly encouraging.
I am happy to learn that you had a fantastic experience at our restaurant. Our team has put the high pride, service standards and attention to detail into every dish and service encouter.

We hope you will visit us again and next time please do not just visit the restaurant but try our hotel and you will forget out the rest of the world out there as our property is very serence and relaxing!

Thank you again for taking the time to share the feedback.

Wishing you a wonderful day!

Kind Regards

Pablo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nestled in the heart of laid-back Luang Prabang, the 3 Nagas is an absolute gem. We stayed in the delightful rooms in the beautiful early twentieth colonial-style building on the other side of the road from the main block. The rooms are large, comfortable and scrupulously clean, looking out onto an immaculate garden, and well positioned for the famous morning alms ceremony, night market, temples, and restaurants overlooking the Mekong.

As others have noted, the amount of road noise throughout the night is quite surprising for such a quiet place. While it’s not helped by the visible gaps in the doors and windows, the soporific drone of the air conditioning overcomes much of it. It’s also possible to hear your neighbours in the bathroom. If you stay here you should be aware it’s not going to be like a big name chain hotel but the positives of such a local boutique hotel far outweigh the odd quirk.

Breakfast every morning was varied and excellent, and lunch was equally satisfying. Evening cocktails were pretty good if you like them sweet / fruity and all the food and drink was reasonably priced.

3 Nagas is very pricey, even compared with the US, and as mentioned both our rooms were noisy, but all things considered the hotel and the extremely friendly service in aggregate create a genuinely relaxing and memorable experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem a bit noisy; in the annex the room on the left had a better layout for socialisin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeepNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHotel1, Hotel Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear JeepNYC

Thank you for the feedback and excellent recommendation here on Tripadvisor!

I am very happy to learn that your recent stay with us was execptional, especially with our spacious and luxurious bedroom, our friendly and helpful team and the local sights and culture in Luang Prabang.

Regarding the noise factor, we are located in a unique location in the heart of charming quaint Luang Prabang, which is a UNESCO protected Heritage site, therefore we are very limited in terms of what can be implemented.
Currently we are undergoing processes to insulate some of the noise form outside and we expect very soon this will not be an issue.

We hope to welcome you back very soon so you can experience a magnifique time in Luang Prabang.

Best Regards

Pablo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
581 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Sakkaline Road | Vatnong Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#16 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel is a small charming boutique hotel comprising three restored historic UNESCO World Heritage buildings more than a century old. The hotel is ideally located in the towns Old Quarter, just a short walking distance from the major tourist attractions, on the path of the morning alms-giving procession. High ceilings, exotic dark wooden floors, four-poster beds, silk fabrics and traditional weavings ooze elegance, style and character. A beautiful courtyard garden beside the Nam Khan River plus an acclaimed fine dining restaurant, serving exquisite Laotion food, make this hotel the perfect place to relax and enjoy the serene Lao lifestyle. The hotel's intimate collection of 15 rooms and suites each blend space, luxury and exquisite charm, exuding a warm and inviting ambiance amid the tranquil surroundings. Eight rooms are located in The Khamboua House, a jewel of traditional Lao architecture. Built in 1903, it opens onto a beautiful garden edging the Nam Khan River, from where you can glimpse the serene Lao lifestyle. The other seven rooms are located in The Lamache House, built originally in 1898 to host the Royal Court. The house was restored using traditional techniques and materials, indulging guests in a truly authentic stay in this charming historical town. The hotel guests are invited to use these facilities at our 5-star sister resort, Sofitel Luang Prabang, located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Nagas Hotel Luang Prabang
Les 3 Nagas Luang Prabang
Les 3 Nagas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing