We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trendy hotel , great location!”
Review of Indigo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Indigo House
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

we stayed on the second floor (no elevator) with a room with balcony with a view on the nightmarket area! great way to enjoy the atmosphere! (quite a bit of noise though for those you need silence to sleep)
rooms are very modern with bathub and shower and seperate toilet. no airco or heater.

the hotel has a bakery on the ground floor selling muffins and cakes during the nightmarket! breakfast is included in the price but they charge you extra for stupid things like butter for ex...
breakfast was not that great considering the quality of the cakes and muffins they sell.

on the third floor they have a lovely lounge area overlooking the markets.

this is an ideal place for people wanting modern and clean rooms and soak up the local atmosphere right in the middle of Luang Prabang!




Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank travelling006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

as it can be very cold in January, make sure to get a room that faces the sun... we first had a room on the side that doesn't get any sun which was awfully cold and humid, luckily we were able to change rooms and it got much better.

pro:
- very central
- friendly staff (don't expect much English and therefore much out of the ordinary service though)
- clean/daily room service
- free airport shuttle

con:
- warm water was somehow always limited to 5 minutes
- rooms can get very cold and humid, make sure to request a room that gets sun
- no heater, only AC, request extra blankets when cold
- beds are hard as everywhere in south east asia
- price is worth half, but then the location is so bloody good
- breakfast was not that convincing

Room Tip: Request a room facing either the street or the side that gets sun, otherwise you'll end up on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vir2l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel was great. It was very well located (in front of the night market), had a very large room and bathroom. It´s decoration style is a bit odd but I liked it. Well, I confess I missed a wardrobe but I just spread out my clothes through out the room and it worked.

The hotel has a bakery and a café on its first floor. Food was great here. The bakery is the best one in town. And since we were guests, we took advantage of its good and healthy breakfast.

Service is not good at the hotel. But nowhere service is good in Luang Prabang. Our heater and telephone in the room were simply not working and nobody could fix them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somock, Director of Sales at Indigo House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Sir,

We'd like to say thank you very much for your recent stay at Ancient Luang Prabang Hotel (Ban Pakham) and also your review on tripadvisor.com.

We are disappoint that you're not inconvenience during you stay with us, we have no heater in room ( Extra blanket is available ), the telephone now has been fixed now. We had checked with housekeeping and laundry section but they confirmed that they haven't found your clothes which you've missed.

Thanks again and hope to see you again,

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Smells bad like sewage, cold at night, terrible breakfast, way over priced, very noisy. No elevator.
Not recommended at all !!!!!
It is hard to understand how this hotel was rated so highly. Yes, it is well located, but really nothing else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

If you care more for extravagant design than for a quiet, confortable room, this hotel is the right place for you. There are rooms with no separate bathroom, but a huge bathtub right in your room. You cannot take a shower standing up - otherways you would sprinkle water all over the room. After the shower, the whole room is filled with moist air. There is nothing provided for stocking our hanging your clothes, not even a hook to hang up towels. As for quiet nights, you have to look elsewhere, this hotel is located near the nightmarket and near the busiest crossing in the old town of Luang Prabang, so be prepared to hear the nois from the street till late at night and early in the morning. There are many nice guesthouses in quieter side streets that offer more confort at lesser prices.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a separate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Excellent location. If you do not like stairs to climb then this hotel is not for you. Over 60 steps to climb if on the 3rd floor. Staff very helpful and will carry your cases up the stairs.
Breakfast great. The night markets are right at your hotel and they are wonderful.

Really enjoyed our visit.

Room Tip: Piggy room great, lots of space but on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wombat2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, lovely clean big room. Great staff with free airport transfer, good breakfast. Lovely cafe downstairs with freshly baked cakes. Our only gripe was the poor WiFi connection - kept dropping off every few mins & u had to re-enter log in details. We got around this by visiting nearby bars instead (a minor gripe and not a reason not to stay)!
Overall, we would highly recommend the Ancient LP - please note, we stayed at Ban Pakham (there are two Ancient LP hotels).

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank YT1Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 70 in Luang Prabang
898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 70 in Luang Prabang
281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 70 in Luang Prabang
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#22 of 70 in Luang Prabang
312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo House

Address: Sisavangvong Rd., Ban Pakham | Close to Night Markets, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos (Formerly Ancient Luang Prabang Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £54 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Indigo House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and style, combined with location, give the Indigo House Hotel a unique, boutique feeling. Plan your stay with us, and you will find yourself at the center of cultural activities of the city, surrounded by breath-taking sites and with easy access to some of the most amazing Buddhist temples, monasteries and markets. Let us pamper you in one of our 12 rooms, exclusively designed for your comfort and relaxation. We stand apart from other hotels because we don't just promise exceptional service, we deliver it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indigo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient Hotel Luang Prabang
Ancient Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing