We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We spent 3 nights there and had a wonderful stay. Location is just perfect as it's only a few minutes walk to the centre. As it is a rather small hotel it is very calm and relaxing. Rooms are nice and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the management was very attentive. Breakfast was not very big but okay. The only thing to change is the fruit juice. They'd rather go for fresh juices and the bread was not the best I had in Laos.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank Sidi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    177
    37
    19
    9
See reviews for
105
419
61
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Asia, Peru
Level Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

LOCATION: Five-minute walk to the night market and the lively Sisavangvong Road.
HOTEL: Welcoming staff. Fast check-in and check-out. (Maison Room): Very good size room. Huge balcony overlooking the main road. Good bed and pillows. Good shower, albeit slow drainage of the water. A big size spider web over the bath tub stayed untouched during our four-night stay. Excellent turn-down service. Powerful, but old and loud air conditioner. Poor and tasteless selection of breakfast.
CONCLUSION: Very good location. Staff were warm and welcoming. Quite disappointing breakfast.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Comfy hotel with style within easy walking distance of old town.Staff very friendly and personal.
Luang Prabang is a city where you have to stroll through the lanes,therefore I would not stay outside of town.Maison Souvannaphoum has a perfect location,just avoid the rooms close to the main street in the garden wing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herblambrechter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We spent three enjoyable and comfortable nights in the Champa suite. The hotel is ideally located for walking round the town, yet far enough away not to be bothered by noise. The hotel is well run, with helpful and friendly staff. We mostly ate in town but stayed in on Friday night for a great meal of Lao food, eaten in the garden, to the accompaniment of traditional music and dance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loshalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We had a Room in the main building which was very comfortable, the breakfasts are very good and the pool is perfectly adequate although described as narrow. It is a boutique style hotel, updated elegantly and staffed by well trained and helpful staff. Most enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had the King's Residence and I think I would go foe a room in the main building on the poolsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

A former royal residence, restored colonial style building, boutique, well located, a real gem that we could have stayed for much longer just to chill out. A few minor eccentricities expected with a restoration but overall lovely. Good food great staff nice pool free wi fi in public areas

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnapperSnatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

14 of us stayed for three nights and enjoyed all aspects of this hotel. The rooms are beautifully furnished and the staff are both friendly and helpful. The food is excellent, particularly the set menu meal on the lawn with traditional dancers. And it is all available at very reasonable prices

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleo5244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.9 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Property: Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing