We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Australian in Europe
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We arrived in evening at this hotel for a 2 night stay based on a package extension we had purchased so we were not sure what we would get on arrival.
What a wonderful surprise. Greeted by some wonderful staff, room was well maintained, clean and comfortable, high ceilings and the balcony was very pleasant also. Guess one would expect this when it is a totally renovated french colonial structure. Had a snack and drink by the pool and again the staff here were extremely nice and co-operative. Breakfast was a joy as again were the staff. Even though a main road is nearby the hotel, rooms and surrounds are extremely peaceful. Has only 24 - 25 rooms, well maintained gardens. Location quite good as near market but not to close.
Wonderful and lovely place as is Luang Prabang.
Nect time we are back here we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Suspect that high season October - Janiary will be extremely difficult to reserve a room based on fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenslandtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear queenslandtraveller,

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback which I have certainly not missed to share with my team.

I am really glad to learn you enjoyed the colonial, boutique feel of Maison Souvannaphoum. Also it is nice to know that you liked the convenient and central location of the hotel and I hope you have been able to make some exciting and memorable shopping on the close by night market.

Queenslandtraveller, please trust that we are committed to making Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel a more enjoyable and pleasant place on a daily basis and we shall make every effort to always keep our standards and services at high levels.

I am looking forward to welcome you back in the hopefully not too distant future and in the meantime, would like to wish you happy travels and all the very best.

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    176
    37
    19
    9
See reviews for
104
415
61
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Quiet and peaceful. Lovely pool, wonderful restaurant, attentive staff and well appointed rooms. Walking distance to the morning and night markets and all the temples. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool and garden.

We arrived a day late after a travel snafu but were accommodated with smiles, no additional charges, a cool drink and a cold towel. We immediately went to the pool which is in a peaceful corner with a waterfall. After a bit, we decided to eat in the restaurant which seems to float above the pool. We had the special Laotian meal in a long boat with a wonderful Australian Rose. At our request, the restaurant staff explained each dish to us.

Don't miss the hotel store - it has exceptional local textiles and souvenirs not seen in town.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kin206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Katherine S,

I trust you have had exciting onward travels and eventually a smooth and uneventful journey back to the US.

It has been a pleasure to have made your acquaintance during your recent stay with us at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel. I am delighted to learn that you have had an overall excellent stay with us and have certainly not failed to share your kind praise with the team.

My shop manager in particular was very pleased to hear that you found the local product selection to be interesting and we do indeed try to select textiles and other local handicrafts that are not seen on the night market for instance.

Once again, allow me to thank you for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your preferred hotel in Luang Prabang and for providing us with your encouraging feedback here on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you may travel to this wonderful part of the world again and I the meantime I wish you all the very best.

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We are coming to the end of a 3 night stay at this wonderful boutique hotel - highly recommended the staff are very helpful and attentive the spa ladies and massage services are a delight absolutely nothing to fault this hotel if you are coming to this city then stay here you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Steve P,

Thank you very much for your recommendations.
We are delighted to learn that we have been able to contribute to an overall enjoyable stay in Luang Prabang. My team and especially our spa therapists were delighted to have received such kind praise from your good self. On behalf of everyone here at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel – thank you very much.

We would certainly be delighted to be of service to you again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

In the meantime, I wish you happy travels and all the very best!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at MSH. The property is extremely charming, and perfect walking distance to most of the tourist attractions in Luang Prabang. The service was outstanding, led in particular by the GM, Serge, who was helpful and knowledgeable. And we really enjoyed the food - the Lao coconut pancakes in the breakfast buffet were magnificent! The only minor irritation to us was a lizard in our room that made some noise at night - hard to blame the hotel for that, since you're always likely to get some lizards in a tropical location like that. All in all, a place we would love to return to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Ravi V,

I trust you have had a smooth and uneventful journey back to New York.

It has indeed been a pleasure to have you with us and I am glad to learn that you had an overall delightful sojourn in Luang Prabang.

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on our food and especially on our breakfast buffet. We are constantly looking for ways to keep our spread original and interesting and have made some improvements yet again. The Lao Coconut-Pancakes however are here to stay and I fully agree with you: They are addictive!

Once again Ravi V, thank you for your time and consideration and for providing us with your insightful feedback here on Tripadvisor.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the hopefully not too distant future and in the meantime I would like to wish you a good day!

Best regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I was torn whether to stay closer to the city or at some of the resorts outside the city. I'm so glad I chose the former. Maison had the best of both worlds...it was a total oasis (one of the nicest hotel pools I've ever been to) yet it was also a short walk away from the center of Luang Prabang. Breakfast was excellent and the room was also clean with a spacious balcony overlooking the gardens. We had a small problem one night when we got locked out of the hotel (they didn't tell us to leave the key with the front desk...), but they more than made up for the inconvenience by offering my friend and I free massages. I will recommend Maison Souvannaphoum to any friend of mine who goes to Laos...affordable luxury.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Nicolas N,

Thank you very much for your feedback which I have read with great interest. We are delighted to learn that you found Maison Souvannaphoum to have been exactly the right choice for your recent holiday in Luang Prabang. I did certainly not miss to share your comments with the team and my Chef in particular was very happy to have received such positive feedback on his breakfast.

I would not want to miss to express my sincere apologies to you for any inconvenience that was caused to you when you found our main gate closed and would like to assure you that this situation has been discussed with our security guards and night receptionists.

Nicolas N, once again – thank you very much for your time and consideration and for providing us with your encouraging feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel and in the meantime I wish you a good day and all the very best!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Maison Souvannaphoum and really enjoyed it.
THe hotel has a great location (10 min walk from Royal Palace), rooms are nicely appointed and the swimming pool is very good.
The staff is excellent (especially the pool bar staff) and the level of service is beyond expectations.
I would definitively stay there again when visiting Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: First floor room have a nice view on the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rom-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Rom-85,

I trust you have had exciting onwards travels and a smooth and uneventful journey back to Paris.

On behalf of everyone at Maison Souvannaphoum, I would like to thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review here on Tripadvisor. Especially our pool bar team was very happy to have received such kind praise from your good self. We are glad to learn that we have been able to contribute to an overall excellent sojourn in Luang Prabang and would be delighted to be of service to again in the future.

In the meantime, I wish you a good day and all the very best.

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. As soon as I arrived I was greeted by the most friendly staff you will ever meet. They took our bags and led us to our room as if this was the 100th time we had stayed here. Immedietaly I felt welcome at this hotel. They have an amazing pool and an even better poolside bar. Amazing airconditioned rooms, foxtel on the tv, a full buffet breakfast, these are just four of the things that make this place great. The Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel used to be a princes house. I felt like I prince when I stayed there. Amazing gardens with chess boards to be used at your leisure. Every morning the gardener wakes up and picks every single leaf out the garden and places it in his bag so that the garden stays beautiful. After an amazing nights sleep I woke up to go have my breakfast. "Hello Liam!" said the staff as I walked into the poolside restaurant. As I tried some of their incredibly tasty food, I was greeted by a member of staff called Easy Tom. "Would you like some hot chocolate Liam?" he asked. I nodded in approval as he went and made it in the bar. All day dedicated staff wait at the poolside bar for someone to come order a drink. A man called Yia Her was extremely nice to me and my family. He deserves a raise.As I am only eleven years old, you would think the staff would be condescending to me, but no. They treated me the same as an adult and I felt great. Great place to be, I was very sad to leave.


-Liam

Room Tip: Every room is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toasterface450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear toasterface450,

A warm “hello” from Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel.

Let me first and foremost tell you just how proud my team was when I shared your review with them. Especially “Easy Tom” and “Yia” were very happy to hear from you and they are both sending their best regards.

I was reading your review with a lot of joy and we are very pleased to know that you and your family have had a few excellent days in Luang Prabang. We would certainly love to have you back here again soon.

Once again toasterface450, thank you ever so much for having taken the time to share your review here on tripadvisor and for giving the team your thumbs up!

I wish you many more happy travels to come and all the very best to you and your family.

Kind regards

Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
794 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
542 reviews
0.9 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
664 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Property: Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing