We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
US$291
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$109
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
US$136
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Maydou(Luang Prabang)
US$76
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santi Resort & Spa(Luang Prabang)
US$100
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maison Dalabua Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$76
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$154
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Apsara Rive Droite(Luang Prabang)
US$125
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (869)
Filter reviews
869 results
Traveller rating
600
199
40
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
600
199
40
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden wingangsana spanight marketcoconut pancakesin townspacious balconyswimming poollovely hotelhotel managerbuffet breakfastrestaurant staffshort walkegg stationturn down serviceeach eveningan oasissmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 869 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

To cut to the chase here, the team really make this hotel work. It's not the ultra modern air conditioned concrete box most hotels are. This is the real deal colonial building resplendent of a different era and a very different world. Serge the manager, leads by example and ensures his team are attentive, but not intrusive. You are made welcome and a lot of good advice is available by just asking.

The pool is definitely an asset!

Just wish there were more hotels like this!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KarenPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear KarenPerth,

Greetings from Luang Prabang and thank you very much for your Tripadvisor post.

It is wonderful to hear that my team was able to contribute to an overall pleasant sojourn. I am also very glad to learn that you have enjoyed the colonial feel of our hotel. Our main building is indeed of a different era and was once the residence of the late prince and four-time prime minister of Laos, Souvanna Phouma.

KarenPerth, once again thank you for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your hotel of choice in Luang Prabang and for providing us with your encouraging review here.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the meantime would like to wish you happy travels and all the very best!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great location for wandering around Luang Prabang with markets within 5 minute walk.
Rated 4 star but 5 star treatment. Close proximity to Mekong river with many good dining options nearby. Luang Prabang is just starting to cater for tourists but many backpacker hotels in this heritage listed location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Frank G,

I trust you have had a smooth and uneventful journey back to Australia.

Thank you for posting your review and sharing your insights with fellow travelers here on Tripadvisor.

It is great to learn that you found the location of Maison Souvannaphoum to be ideal for wondering around this wonderful heritage town. Luang Prabang is indeed in the early stages of tourism which makes it a truly authentic, aesthetically as well as culturally pleasant place to visit.

We hope you will have the chance to travel to this wonderful part of the world again in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back to our “Maison”.

Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang and all the best!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in a the garden room wing on the upper level. It was a spacious & well equipped room that included a super kingsized comfortable bed, also a large balcony overlooking the garden & pool. It was simply but tastefully decorated and the bathroom included a large shower - both were spotless when we arrived & were kept maintained that way throughout our stay. The grounds too were immaculate as was the pool & it's surroundings. The dining area was pleasantly located near the pool with some tables outside & the breakfast included was varied & very tasty especially some small coconut pancakes. The staff were delightful, thoughtful & extremely helpful & it was a pleasure to stay here. I would happily return to this hotel for a further visit in the future - probably for longer. Very relaxing environment away from the lively main road only a brief walk away.

Room Tip: The upper level garden wing has good views over the gardens & pool area
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabethM527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear ElisabethM527,

Thank you for kindly having taken the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here on Tripadvisor. I did read your account with utmost interest and joy. I am truly delighted to learn that we were able to make you feel so much at home here at Maison Souvannaphoum and that you would gladly return to our hotel again. Also, I have taken your feedback as a good reason to give our two gardeners a tap on the shoulder and they were very proud to learn that you found the grounds and gardens to be immaculately maintained and pleasant.

On behalf of my entire team here – thank you very much for your encouraging words!

Please trust that we are sparing no effort to make Maison Souvannaphoum a more enjoyable and pleasant place on a daily basis and shall hence certainly not rest on our laurels now.

Once again ElisabethM527, thank you for your time and consideration and for providing us with your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.

In the meantime, have a good day and all the very best!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

If you're not for the soul-less 'could be anywhere' hotels, this is the place for you. The rooms were spacious,clean and comfortable; the 'Welcome Home' spelled out in cut palm fronds on our bed on arrival really says it all. Only two storeys and built in colonial style it is set in lush tropical grounds with poolside bar. It is close enough to walk to the night markets in town after dinner. This was our favourite accommodation of our SE Asia tours. Staff were friendly and happy to tell us about their culture. Loved the total feel of the place.
Be sure to order the 'Dragon Boat' meal one evening for dinner!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Liz H,

Greetings from Luang Prabang and a BIG thank you for posting your review here on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that we, at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel were able to contribute to an overall pleasant and memorable sojourn in Luang Prabang. We are especially proud to learn that we top your personal list of favorite accommodations in SE. Thank you also for your kind words about our employees and I do indeed realize just how lucky I am to be working with such a delightful group of young and eager people.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future and in the meantime I wish you happy travels and all the very best!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Having just spent 4 nights at MSH I can attest to its charm and tranquility. The staff are very attentive and accommodating. We felt very welcome and well taken care of. I took a cooking class while there and thoroughly enjoyed it from the trip to the morning market to the cooking. The spa is sublime. Our transport to and from the airport was efficient. Our room was comfortable and clean with a sizable private terrace in the garden like estate grounds which meticulously maintained. Nice pool and bar area as well with good bartenders and cocktails. Perfect location. Can't go wrong with this one.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Zamborgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_Ditesheim, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Zamborgini,

Thank you very much for your Tripadvisor review which I have read with great interest and joy!

It was a great pleasure to have made your acquaintance during your recent visit to Luang Prabang and I would like to thank you yet again for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your hotel of choice.

I have gladly shared your feedback with the team and especially Chef Vanhsay, our gardeners, bartenders as well as our SPA therapists were delighted to have received such kind praise from your good self. On behalf of the entire team here – thank you very much!

I truly hope you will have the occasion to travel to this wonderful part of the world again soon. We would certainly love to host yet another comfortable and memorable stay for you then.

In the meantime I would like to wish you a good day and all the very best!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews