We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (949)
Filter reviews
949 results
Traveller rating
663
212
42
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
663
212
42
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden wing angsana spa night market in town swimming pool lovely hotel hotel manager buffet breakfast restaurant staff each evening turn down service our honeymoon egg station small hotel nice pool short stroll the main street
Filter
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 949 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have recently completed our second stay at Maison Souvannaphoum in three years and would not hesitate about returning. There was initially a problem with Air Conditioning but we were duly compensated by an upgrade to the Lao room, formerly the Queens bedroom, so had five nights of absolute luxury! In particular the attention provided by Apple, Buon and all staff to us and the other guests was exceptional, and their understanding of our problem in dealing with a flight cancellation was wonderful. In particular I would commend the cooking class conducted by the chef, Su. It was most enjoyable, and as mentioned by another guest, we were surprised by the lack of patronage of the restaurant, as the quality and value was outstanding

Room tip: Ask about the Lao room!
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Greg O,

Please allow me to first and foremost thank you yet again for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your preferred Hotel for your return vacation in Luang Prabang.

I am thrilled to learn that my team was able to contribute to a memorable and overall delightful sojourn and I have not missed to share your feedback with everyone here. Especially to Mr. Boonliang, Front Office and Chef Sujinda, we were very proud to have received such kind praise from your good self. Also on their behalf – thank you very much!

My apologies again for the slight inconvenience of the air condition and thank you for your understanding.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future and in the meantime I wish you happy travels and all the very best.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The "Maison SVP" really stands out as being a first class hotel and it deserves its 4 star rating. It is frankly it is difficult to think of anything negative to say! Our ground floor room (in the garden wing) was very comfortable and roomy, with a four poster bed and a small terrace overlooking the hotels delightful grounds. The staff were all quite charming, along with being friendly and professional. Loved the food here. Awesome breakfast, and although it was a limited menu, the food served in the restaurant in the evening was really good. Unfortunately the restaurant itself was not well patronised during the evening (as folks mostly head into town) which is something of a shame. This hotel was a former royal residence and it provides a tranquil and very pleasant environment. It has a nice pool and pool bar. If you need to stay in Luang Prabang, look no further. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Michael T,

Thank you very much for your Tripadvisor review which I have read with great interest and joy!

It was a great pleasure to have made your acquaintance during your recent visit to Luang Prabang and I would like to thank you yet again for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your hotel of choice.

I have gladly shared your feedback with the entire team both Front and Back of the house on your gracious comment in regard of their services. On behalf of the entire team here – thank you very much!

I truly hope you will have the occasion to travel to this wonderful part of the world again soon. We would certainly love to host yet another comfortable and memorable stay for you then.

Kind regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

the breakfast was excellent ,rooms airy and large and the staff gracious.When we arrived our room did not have a bath but Serge,the hotel manager was wonderful and obliging and put us up in a suite at no extra charge.great staff always helpful and as goog as any and better than most. Bob Z

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertz843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Robert z,

Thank you very much for kindly having taken the time to review your recent visit at Maison Souvannaphoum here on Tripadvisor.

I am very pleased to know that our services and facilities had make your stay enjoyable one. We would certainly be delighted to host yet another comfortable stay for you when you may return to wonderful Luang Prabang.

Kind Regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We spent two nights here on our honeymoon and loved every second. The staff is absolutely incredible and beyond accommodating. When we arrived the chef came to meet us to let's us know that he could accommodate any kind of dietary requirement (I can't eat gluten) and each breakfast I received gluten free pancakes that were out of this world. The client manager Apple also greeted us when we arrived, checked on us during our stay, and even came to say good bye and see us off when we left. The hotel itself is beautiful. One of my favorite moments was lounging by the pool in the afternoon with the sound of monks chanting at a near by temple. The only disappointing part of our stay was when we left!

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank hbrown91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear hbrown91,

I read your review here on Tripadvisor with great interest and joy. It is really wonderful to know that we have been able to provide a comfortable “home away from home” in Luang Prabang and thank you for choossing our hotel during your special occasion. This is certainly all my team and I could possibly wish to achieve. Thank you for your kind feedback on the breakfast arrangement please trust that we shall make every effort to upkeep the levels of our service and the attention to details to ensure we can brought you a memorable stay.

We would be delighted to host yet another comfortable stay for you in the hopefully not too distant future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Katejiraporn K ( Apple)
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our trip and enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. The rooms were large, airy and beautifully clean, and the beds very comfortable, it was a joy to return to the hotel at the end of our sight seeing trips. We spent a few afternoons relaxing by the pool which was very well maintained and manned by very attentive staff. All of the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble.We ate both lunch and breakfast in the hotel and found the food to be very good. The location is excellent, only a short walk from the night market but out of the main hustle and bustle. Going to watch the monks in the alms giving ceremony is a must.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret5510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Margaret5510,

It was a real joy to read your review here on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your room as well as the convenient location of Maison Souvannaphuom Hotel so much. It was a real joy to read your account and I was really pleased to learn that you had an overall excellent stay with us. Also, I have certainly not missed to share your kind feedback with the pool staff and it was a great encouragement for all the team. On behalf of all of us here at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel – thank you very much.

My team and I wish to have a chance to welcome you back and to be of your service again in the future.

Kind regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews