We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but rooms are a little warm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but rooms are a little warm”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel deserves its good reviews for the ambiance, service, history, and location. I especially enjoyed the decorations from local fabrics.

The main negative about this hotel is the lackluster air conditioning, which may only be a problem in the hot season. In our garden wing room, the A/C is not pointed toward the bed, and it really wasn't powerful enough to cool the entire room. It was an older model, and we were very hot at night. I wouldn't recommend this hotel in the hot season. It would really benefit from some ceiling fans to push the cool air down toward the bed.

A second, albeit small point, is that the slotted door to the restroom provides little if any privacy.

Room Tip: During the hot season, ask for a room with a new A/C unit or a room that has a ceiling fan (I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear DC3s,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your review here on TripAdvisor.


I am really sorry to hear your disappointment in regard of the air-conditioning condition in your room. As well as we have taken note on your suggestion of the slotted door to the restroom. Nevertheless, I do certainly understand the inconveniences this may have caused to you and would therefore like to extend my apologies to you yet again.

On the other hand, I am really glad to learn that you found our location, ambiance and services to be excellent and our team to have contributed to an overall pleasant stay. Thank you for your kind words of praise in this regard!

We would certainly be delighted to be of service to you again when you may return to this wonderful part of the world and please do not hesitate to contact me directly – I would be pleased to assist with arrangements.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    179
    37
    19
    9
See reviews for
105
423
63
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Location, vegetation and overall spirit contributed to an unforgettable 5 night stay! The staff was help full and kind however the waiters and waitresses need some additional training! The menu is extensive and all plates tried were delicious!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_burgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear peter_burgers,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review here on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to learn that you have throughout been delighted with your stay with us at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel. I have shared your encouraging feedback with my Kitchen team as it is really them who merit your kind praise. Please trust that we are fully committed to making Maison Souvannaphoum a more enjoyable and pleasant place every day and in any way we can and shall keep improving on our facilities and the services rendered.

We would certainly be delighted to provide you with yet another comfortable stay when you may return to Luang Prabang.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I think i will come back again if have a chance for this coming new year 2015

I visit here in summer, very hot but i can calm down by staffs services, plus it s a nice place, good food good taste. Also enjoy with the price comparing with over all services and atmosphere.

.

Room Tip: Happy stay at Maison
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sittichai U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Sittichai U,

Thank you yet again for sharing your impressions of Maison Souvannaphoum here on TripAdvisor.

I am really glad to know that you were overall delighted with the location of our hotel as well as with the services rendered to your good self. We very much hope that you are already planning your next visit to Luang Prabang on which occasion we would love to welcome you back!

Until then , I would like to wish you a good day and all the very best.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very much impressed about their services, plus nice place, good food good taste. Also enjoy with the price comparing with over all services and atmosphere.

Will come back again if have a chance and i will bring more guests to join.

Room Tip: Good place to visit and stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Titiang,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your preferred hotel for your recent visit to Luang Prabang.
Your kind words of praise have been conveyed to my team here and your feedback certainly made everyone very proud. I am happy to learn that we have been able to contribute to an overall memorable first visit to Laos and hope that you may be traveling to this wonderful part of the world again soon. It would certainly be delightful to welcoming you back to Maison Souvannaphoum on this occasion!

Kind Regards,
Katejiraporn K.
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here during Laos new year the city was crowed however hotel provide great food in the restaurant. The had everything for what the country are allow to I believed some item are hardly find in the city. The hotel is unique, feel like stay home. All staffs are attentive nice, polite and try every effort the assist you with. Lovely garden, pool and lotus pond. Spa is lovely they have special promotion which worth of every penny. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Gerden wing nice overlook garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Kwan L,

On behalf of everyone here at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, I would like to thank you for your kind praise and encouragement. We were delighted to read your review here on Tripadvisor. I am particularly pleased to learn that you enjoyed our Hotel Facilities, Food and Services as well as the convenient location of our hotel.

Kwan L, we would certainly love to be of service to you again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to “Maison” again soon.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Have seen this hotel rated as four and five stars it is neither, however the staff and service are. The front desk people were excellent, helpful, knowledgeable and attentive.
We arrived late and had the option of eating in the hotel dining room. It was one of the most unappealing I have sen in a long time. Breakfast is served in the same room and to say it is tired is an understatement, furniture and decor both need updating. There was plenty to eat at breakfast but again not four or five star standard.
Our room had been updated but it did not live up to Angsana standards. Bathroom was fine but simple shower room. I had a nice massage in a good room, but the area leading to it was like a stagnant pond.
People say hotel has been renovated but just adding another coat of paint to woodwork that has been done many times over is not the same.
Having stayed at Banyan Trees and seen other Angsana this does not compare. There is nothing wrong and we enjoyed our stay but please give it a correct rating as it leads to high expectations. This was by far our worst hotel in Asia one of which had also been 4 star but was light years away from this. Service here was comparable to our other hotels. Having seen others hotels in LP we would not stay here again or recommend to friends as the other hotels, in our opinion are nicer.
I know this is meant to be a little old fashioned but so were others we stayed at which were so much better.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark and Wils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Mark and Wils B,

Thank you for kindly having taken the time to post your review here on tripadvisor. I did read your account with much interest. We are glad to learn that you had an overall nice stay with us and that you were pleased with the services rendered by our front office team.

In the meantime, I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback on the area of maintenance and I would like to assure you that we make every effort to constantly upkeep and improve our facilities and services.

Mark and Wils B, once again thank you very much for your time and consideration and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We would certainly be pleased to be of service to you again in the future.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have recently completed our second stay at Maison Souvannaphoum in three years and would not hesitate about returning. There was initially a problem with Air Conditioning but we were duly compensated by an upgrade to the Lao room, formerly the Queens bedroom, so had five nights of absolute luxury! In particular the attention provided by Apple, Buon and all staff to us and the other guests was exceptional, and their understanding of our problem in dealing with a flight cancellation was wonderful. In particular I would commend the cooking class conducted by the chef, Su. It was most enjoyable, and as mentioned by another guest, we were surprised by the lack of patronage of the restaurant, as the quality and value was outstanding

Room Tip: Ask about the Lao room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Greg O,

Please allow me to first and foremost thank you yet again for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your preferred Hotel for your return vacation in Luang Prabang.

I am thrilled to learn that my team was able to contribute to a memorable and overall delightful sojourn and I have not missed to share your feedback with everyone here. Especially to Mr. Boonliang, Front Office and Chef Sujinda, we were very proud to have received such kind praise from your good self. Also on their behalf – thank you very much!

My apologies again for the slight inconvenience of the air condition and thank you for your understanding.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future and in the meantime I wish you happy travels and all the very best.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
745 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
0.9 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
570 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Property: Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing