We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
L'hotel Souvannaphoum(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
Maison Dalabua Hotel(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Muang Thong Hotel(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AVANI+ Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treasure Hotel Laos(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amantaka(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (869)
Filter reviews
869 results
Traveller rating
600
199
40
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
600
199
40
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden wingangsana spanight marketcoconut pancakesin townspacious balconyswimming poollovely hotelhotel managerbuffet breakfastrestaurant staffshort walkegg stationturn down serviceeach eveningan oasissmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 869 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed over the Easter weekend and arrived to a very warm welcome when the staff took time to explain the hotel facilities and promotions. We did not expect much of the hotel and were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff, especially the manageress, Apple. It is fair to say that they tried to anticipate our needs which was appreciated.
The hotel is adequately sized although the pool may seem a little small. The poolside happy hours were great and, on one hot day, the staff brought around fruits on a skewer to guests by the poolside. The garden surroundings were serene and peaceful, although traffic from the main road may be a distraction for some. One drawback we had was the air-conditioning; it did not cool the room in spite of running at maximum coolness for the entire day. The room was adequate for two and the balcony was a delight where you can sip a glass of wine (or the famour BeerLao) late into the evening.
The location of the hotel is convenient; two-minute walk to watch the morning ritual of monks collecting alms and three-minute walk to the night market. All in all, a very conveninent location. And a very welcoming hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jmsgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear jmsgoh,

Please allow me to first and foremost thank you yet again for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your preferred Hotel for your recent vacation in Luang Prabang.

I am thrilled to learn that my team was able to contribute to a memorable and overall delightful sojourn and I have not missed to share your feedback with everyone here. In the meantime, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that you have encountered regarding the air-conditioning problem. Please trust that we shall make every effort to upkeep the levels of our facilities.

jmsgoh, once again thank you very much for your time and consideration and for providing us with your invaluable inputs and feedback. We would certainly be pleased to be of service to you again in the future hopefully you will be able to travel to this wonderful part of the world again soon.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K.
Director Of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

With only 24 rooms you experience a staff ratio of nearly 1:1, the friendliness of Lao people is intensified at this hotel, truly personal service with a lively nature with some nice personal touches.

Regarding the basics of the hotel: The hotel is located perfectly, a 3 minute walk off the night market yet in a quieter stretch of the Main Street of Luang Prabang. Pool area is nice and quiet. Great breakfast, which is served either buffet style or à la carte depending on occupancy. Rooms are spacious with convenient bathrooms and huge beds, that are - typically Asian - on the hard side.

Great Value. We will definitely return here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Georg H,

Greetings from Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel and many thanks for your encouraging feedback.

We were all delighted to read your review and I am particularly happy to learn that you found our staff to be friendly, our breakfast delicious and the rooms to be comfortable and well serviced. Please trust that we are fully committed to upkeep and improve our services and facilities on a daily basis in order to make “Maison” an ever more comfortable and pleasant place.

It would certainly be a great pleasure to welcoming you back when you may return to Luang Prabang.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a little gem of a hotel right next to the temples and night market. The pool is a welcome sight after a long hot day looking around Luangprabang as are the best pina coladas I have ever tasted, especially during the happy hour, or two I think !! Staff are so welcoming but they really do need some airconditioning for themselves in reception. Breakfast was substantial and the rooms were clean and spacious with a lovely verandah which also provides a ceiling fan.

I had one of the best massages I have ever had so please remember to give this a try !!

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hopefully will return one day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaP742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear LindaP742,

Thank you very much for your Tripadvisor review which I have read with great interest and joy!

It was a great pleasure to have made your acquaintance during your recent visit to Luang Prabang and I would like to thank you yet again for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your hotel of choice.

I have gladly shared your feedback with the team and especially the bartenders, housekeeping, Front office as well as our SPA therapists were delighted to have received such kind praise from your good self. On behalf of the entire team here – thank you very much!

I truly hope you will have the occasion to travel to this wonderful part of the world again soon .We would certainly love to host yet another comfortable and memorable stay for you then.

In the meantime I would like to wish you a good day and all the very best!

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I went to Luang Prabang first time during 11-15 April 2014, To enjoy Songkan Festival. And we stayed at a garden wing at room 207. During my stay, Miss Katejiraporn Kaewngarmsa-ard (Apple), Acting as Hotel Manager was very nice to us, professionally and helpfuu;y. She maked us feel welcome all 5 days. She really care and helpful, It was very hot and we justed came back from a short walking, MS Apple went to get us some cold drink water and ran after us to our room just to offer the best drinking water and best services mind. Breakfast very nice and a special dinner was wonderful the chef Mr. Sujinda was very nice and his cook was great, He told us that if we wanted any special menu, he would do it for us. All local staff was very helpful, very nice and all speak English and Thai very well. Peaceful and safety and clean. The balcony very nice touch. Turn over bed was very nice. The Spa was nice and I enjoy it a lot. The hotel really located in the best location in Luang Prabang. only 5 minutes to night market and morning market. Room services was nice. I would like to thanks all satff, espeacially MS Apple. I will come back again and stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Room on the deep gaeden wing where you can see swiming pool are more quieter
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawyernui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear lawyernui,

First and foremost I would like to wish you a happy and healthy “Laos new year.”

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your review with us and fellow travelers here on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you thought to have made the right choice with booking Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel. I have not missed to share your kind feedback with my team as it really is my staff who merits the praise. I was also very happy to have read that you found everyone at our hotel to have rendered delightful and considerate service. Once again – thank you very much. Please trust that we are fully committed to making Maison Souvannaphoum a more enjoyable and pleasant place every day and in any way we can and shall keep improving on our facilities and the services rendered.

We would certainly be delighted to provide you with yet another comfortable stay when you may return to Luang Prabang next visit.

In the meantime, I would like to wish you a good day and all the very best.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director Of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel deserves its good reviews for the ambiance, service, history, and location. I especially enjoyed the decorations from local fabrics.

The main negative about this hotel is the lackluster air conditioning, which may only be a problem in the hot season. In our garden wing room, the A/C is not pointed toward the bed, and it really wasn't powerful enough to cool the entire room. It was an older model, and we were very hot at night. I wouldn't recommend this hotel in the hot season. It would really benefit from some ceiling fans to push the cool air down toward the bed.

A second, albeit small point, is that the slotted door to the restroom provides little if any privacy.

Room Tip: During the hot season, ask for a room with a new A/C unit or a room that has a ceiling fan (I don't know if any do).
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DC3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear DC3s,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your review here on TripAdvisor.


I am really sorry to hear your disappointment in regard of the air-conditioning condition in your room. As well as we have taken note on your suggestion of the slotted door to the restroom. Nevertheless, I do certainly understand the inconveniences this may have caused to you and would therefore like to extend my apologies to you yet again.

On the other hand, I am really glad to learn that you found our location, ambiance and services to be excellent and our team to have contributed to an overall pleasant stay. Thank you for your kind words of praise in this regard!

We would certainly be delighted to be of service to you again when you may return to this wonderful part of the world and please do not hesitate to contact me directly – I would be pleased to assist with arrangements.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews