We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon during our stop in Laos, and we couldn't be happier with our choice! The service was unparalleled. The arrived at to pick us up at the airport, offering cool, damp towels and water -- welcome in the heat. When we arrived to check in, they offered us a sipping beverage during check-in and a snack. They made up our hotel bed beautifully, such a treat for our honeymoon.

On top of that, the hotel staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. We had an issue with the air conditioning on the first night and they fixed it right away. They also helped us book all of our tours, and one person we'd been working in particular stopped to make an additional phone call for us on his way out the door late at night. The service was above and beyond anything we could have asked for!

When we had an evening flight, the allowed us to lounge by the pool even though we'd already checked out of our room and used the pool shower so we could travel feeling refreshed.

We couldn't have chosen a better hotel!

Room Tip: The garden wing rooms are quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Kay S,

Thank you very much for your Tripadvisor review which I have read with great interest and joy!

It was a great pleasure to have made your acquaintance during your recent visit to Luang Prabang and I would like to thank you yet again for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your hotel of choice on this Honeymoon trip. Thank you also for your kind words about our employees and I do indeed realize just how lucky I am to be working with such a delightful group of young and eager people.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future and in the meantime I wish you happy travels and all the very best!

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Me and my wife spent a week in this beautiful and stylish hotel this month. Our time was unforgettable thanks to the staff's smooth and considerate service. We are happy we stayed in this hotel as our holiday would not have been the same without it. My only complaints is overprices spa services, which we then did not use.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValtteriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear ValtteriM,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to share your review.

It is great to learn that you have been able to enjoy the colonial charm of Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel. Thank you also very much for your kind words of praise for the team. I am glad to note that you have had an overall really nice time here in Luang Prabang and it gives all of us here at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel a true feeling of accomplishment to have been able to contribute to this as well as in the future.

Once again, thank you very much for having selected “Maison” as you preferred address in Luang Prabang and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My first time as a reviewer here. It's difficult to start from a specific point to explain my experience at this hotel - It's a truly heaven escape from a hectic life. I traveled for a leisure trip as an individual traveler and now i got lovely friends and a memorable experience back from 'Maison Suvanabhumi'.

I had stayed there for a week, and was surprised that's the time flied so fast and wish to stay there longer! This is simply because of the unbelievable staff. An outstanding - Mr. everything-can-do and my kind tourist guide, named 'ODD or Boonliang'. He is so friendly and can make you laugh all the time, coming along with 'Sorvue' - the gentle front office staff. i feel like i have 2 brothers. I lost important thing on the plane and felt so worried, i kept coming back to the reception counter, and i didnt have to ask - they just updated me the status and tried to assist me which i felt really appreciated. Every morning when i had breakfast, i will be greeted by charming smiles of the staff there. 'Udorn and Inthong' who were at the egg station will be there and cooked me yummy dishes. 'Thai' will serve my fav watermelon juice during the day. Love it!
They have amazing FB team, Chef came out to ask about your food. The quality of food is fabulous. Fresh ingredients and tasty. I won't go in details as the earlier review can tell you more, but will focus on the dinner. It's so sad to see that not many join this special Laos Set dinner - They missed an enjoyable dining experience. The view, weather, performance, and food presentation is absolutely gorgeous and worth every penny. You sit across the pool, watching the show (see the photo)and enjoy the yummy food. What a lovely night! The hotel is amazing - gives a feeling like home with a cool 'Gallery shop' where you can find souvenirs back home - please take a look :), especially for the quality spa products.

Talking in general, the hotel is located in the heart of Luang Prabang and it's very easy to travel to any places - you can walk, take the hotel's bicycle (The staff even remember the bike that you used! ), or even ask the staff to assist with 'tuktuk' arrangements'. I recommend a hotel transfer, a kind driver even stop the car to help me find the forgotten belonging and kind enough to go back and let me take my things at the hotel.

The spa you cannot miss! The two lovely staffs, Nang and Tik will completely blow your mind with their skills. If you are a spa lover, don't disappoint yourself finding any other places - although it's cheaper, but you cannot compare with this high standard for sure!

Last but not least, if you traveled here during this period, you will meet an absolute lively in-charge Hotel Manager - Apple! Her service is outstanding. She is there to make you happy and if you need any help with her professional and wonder handling ways. Thank you so much indeed!

GO hear - You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kittikanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Kittikanda,

We are delighted to learn that you thought to have made the right choice with booking Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel. Your kind words of praise have been conveyed to my team here and your feedback certainly made everyone very proud. I was also very happy to have read that you found everyone at our hotel to have rendered delightful and considerate service. Once again – thank you very much. I am happy to learn that we have been able to contribute to an overall memorable first visit to Laos and hope that you may be traveling to this wonderful part of the world again soon. It would certainly be delightful to welcoming you back to Maison Souvannaphoum on this occasion!

Kittikanda, Once again – thank you very much for your time and consideration and for providing us with your feedback.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Maison hopefully soon and in the meantime, I would like to wish you a good day and all the very best!

Best regard,
Katejiraporn K ( Apple)
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had a chance to stay in this hotel during visit Luangprabang with friend and had a memorable stay in this hotel. Most of the good memories come from uncompromising service from hotel staffs in everyday of my stay.Not only good take care to guest like every hotel but they also teach me how to dance in Lao style.This hotel also located in the best location of city which very close to night market and many temples. We always walk or bike around the city from hotel.The quality of food is also good.Breakfast is fantastic cause we had a chance to eat fresh cook omlet made from organic egg everyday and they can make very tasty ice coffee. We also had a chance to join special dinner " Prince Suvannaphumi night" which served singnature dish of Lao food such as Lao seaweed and Lao style paste in the small boat all the food is tasty without MSG.This special dinner included Lao classical performance during dinner time which make our night more enjoyable.Spa treatment is resonable price and the quality of massage is very good. Please come and stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nissara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Nissara S,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your preferred hotel for your recent visit to Luang Prabang.

Your kind words of praise have been conveyed to my team here and your feedback certainly made everyone very proud. I am happy to learn that we have been able to contribute to an overall memorable first visit to Laos and hope that you may be traveling to this wonderful part of the world again soon. It would certainly be delightful to welcoming you back to Maison Souvannaphoum on this occasion!

In the meantime, I wish you a very best and look forward to introducing you to our hospitality again.

Warm regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We had and still have until tomorrow a great stay. Service is 5+ , Snacks at pool ( we Had salat, sandwich and pasta) 5+, massage 5+ all over all perfect . We are traveling very often but this hotel is a benchmark for others especially the service personal.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Nikolaos73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Nikolaos73,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review here on Tripadvisor.

It was a real joy to read your account and I was really pleased to learn that you had an overall excellent stay with us. Also, I have certainly not missed to share your kind feedback with my staff and it was a great encouragement for all the team. On behalf of all of us here at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel – thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit to Luang Prabang.

Nikolaos73, we would certainly love to be of service to you again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to “Maison” again soon.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a lovely French colonial style, set in beautiful gardens. It has a real warmth & charm, & is definitely worth it's star rating. It's really convenient for the centre of Luang Prabang, only 5 minutes down the road, & the airport is 15min drive away. The staff are very helpful & thoughtful. I turned up at the hotel not feeling well, & all the staff wanted to make sure I was okay. They even arranged an appointment & escorted me to the local doctors. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chubster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Chubster84,

Greetings from Luang Prabang and thank you very much for posting your review here on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that we, at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel were able to contribute to an overall pleasant and memorable sojourn in Luang Prabang. We are especially proud to learn that we top your personal list of favorite accommodations in Luang Prabang and will be recommended to other traveler. Thank you also for your kind words about our employees and I do indeed realize just how lucky I am to be working with such a delightful group of young and eager people.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future and in the meantime I wish you have a full recovery and all the very best!
Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We spent 3 nights there on a private tour during a heat wave! Our air con was not working but the staff were so helpful and accommodating. We were quickly moved and compensated for the inconvenience. We enjoyed the breakfasts and the Long Boat dinner was awesome! The pool was well used and the gardens very tranquil! The location was also very good! The manageress was outstanding-thank you Apple!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Lorraine W,

Please allow me to first and foremost thank you yet again for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your preferred Hotel for your recent vacation in Luang Prabang.

I am thrilled to learn that my team was able to contribute to a memorable and overall delightful sojourn and I have not missed to share your feedback with the entire team here; from front of the house, kitchen team and back of the house.

My apologies again for the slight inconvenience that you experience after back from the trip and thank you for your understanding. My team and I truly hope you will have the occasion to travel to this wonderful part of the world again soon .We would certainly love to host yet another comfortable and memorable stay for you then.

Kind regards,
Katejiraporn K ( Apple)
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
782 reviews
1.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 68 in Luang Prabang
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#9 of 68 in Luang Prabang
574 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £126 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing