We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Villa Chitchareune

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Chitchareune
Ranked #115 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived without accommodation booked. I was looking for a place close to town with a swimming pool. We went to the associated hotel with the same name however it was booked out on one of the nights we wanted. The manager suggested the villa for two nights then transfer. He also matched the lowest on line price I am so happy we made that decision . This place is great.it is an old building that was opened last year following a major refurbishment. The rooms have a lovely contemporary style. The bathroom is luxurious ,however you would want to know your travelling companion well as the toilet and shower are behind open partitions with frosted glass doors. Politely they are not acoustically or aromatically private! The shower was wonderful best so far in Asia. Beds really comfy. If I want to use the pool at the hotel they will send a car!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mccpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    24
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
3
23
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

The highlight at Villa Chitchareuistanbul the delightful rooms. The hotel, likened to an oasis in the middle of the bustling city has simple, well appointed rooms and great (non English speaking) staff. It's perfectly located in a residential district between the Old City and the river and the beautiful wats. Just along the route the monks take for alms in the morning.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Our group arrived at different hours of the day. They were kind enough to give us all our rooms just to check if anything was wrong. You can't beat the location. Can't find anything to complain but noticed the following areas to improve:

- toilet and shower have glass doors that you can see through (no privacy)
- room 205/206 has best security (farthest away from stairway)
- hot water takes a while to reach rooms 205/206
- room 202 missing glass door to toilet
- mosquitoes everywhere (just keep doors and windows shut)
- room 203 is very close to office and is rather noisy
- room 205 has the WiFi signal repeater right outside

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2012. The hotel is very new and with clean rooms. None of the rooms seem to have any natural light coming into them though, unless you open the wooden shutters and then all the mosquitoes will come in. Toilet and shower have completely transparent doors which you will walk into a few times - an accident waiting to happen especially if children are running around the room.

The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the main shopping and dining street in Luang Prabang and the same from the river boat departure points.

The big problem with this place is that it is tucked up a little side street which vehicles can't go down, and nobody seems to no where this place is. If they ring the hotel for directions (as a tuk tuk driver did for me) they'll get through to the Vietnamese concierge who has no English or Lao for that matter, so he'll just hang up the phone on them.

It was actually dealing with the concierge that was the most frustrating part of my stay here. Trying to communicate was impossible, I handed in items for laundry on the day of my arrival, and the night before i was due to depart 2 days later I was still waiting for them to come back. Ask a question and you just get a vacant stare. I eventually got the items back on the morning of my departure, they had been washed but were still wet and some items were stained with bleach. Try complaining about that to reception!

Overall if they improved their attitude and tried to converse, have some staff with a little English this hotel would make a great stay.

Other points: cash only payment possible (US dollar preferred), complimentary breakfast was just mediocre eggs served with luminous orange juice and horrible coffee, but in-room wifi ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel was ok, but I couldn't have a good night sleep because of the pillows..
Most of the staff did not speak english, and althought they were nice, it was very hard to communicate.. And booking rides for the local attractions with the hotel was much more expensive than in the street.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Located in a quiet street close to the center. The hotel is new, with clean and well furnished large rooms. Unfortunately the room window has no glasses nor curtains nor mosquito net (just wooden doors) so it's impossible to leave it open and this is a pity. Surprising bath door, made of transparent glass! (We put a towel on it…) The personnel is gentle but unexperienced and almost don’t speak English. When we arrived, we didn’t find the pick-up at the airport (promised and confirmed the day before), so we had to call them. At the hotel, at the beginning they didn’t find our reservation (done – and paid – via agoda). Despite this, everything went well and we were satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

This place is great: hot showers, clean room, perfect location, hearty breakfast, friendly staff. Definitely recommend. Only minor annoyance is the rooster crowing in the morning but Luang Prabang wakes up early so it's not a big deal.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonvoyage760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
692 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#32 of 261 in Luang Prabang
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sayo River Guest House
Sayo River Guest House
#151 of 261 in Luang Prabang
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ammata Guest House
Ammata Guest House
#54 of 261 in Luang Prabang
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#55 of 261 in Luang Prabang
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nammavong Guesthouse
Nammavong Guesthouse
#200 of 261 in Luang Prabang
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitchareune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitchareune

Property: Villa Chitchareune
Address: Ban Phone Heuang, Kounxoa Rd, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Chitchareune 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Chitchareune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing