We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Villa Chitchareune

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Chitchareune
Ranked #80 of 272 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Like most places in LP noise can be an issue. Cockerels and early morning neighbours are noticeable day one but fade on day 2.
The owner is going to seal the rear windows to stop this and smoking stoves being an issue.
That's said the place is very comfortable, good quality and peaceful. Location is very good, near river and better end of peninsular.
The welcome is warm and efficient. A good choice and value for money. Lose the very high Laos pillows, they give me neck ache.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NorwichHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed a couple of nights including Christmas and found the Villa to be very nice. The rooms were spacious and clean, the villa is within easy walking distance of the centre of Luang Prabang. I would recommend the Villa as a nice place to stay while sightseeing in the area.

Room Tip: I was in 205 which had the WiFi router outside and meant a good connection, none of the rooms really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwan_Nyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. The rooms are very beautiful! The breakfast is great, the location is excellent and quiet. However, if early a.m.crowing roosters bother you, best not go to Luang Prabang!
But we left here because
1. no working wifi,
2. While we were there staff didn't speak or understand English so we couldn't get directions or information or communicate issues.
3. we were not able to pay with a credit card (their machine just wouldn't work).
4. The in room safe was closed and locked. We requested that it be opened so we could use it, but that didn't happen.
If these things don't matter to you, stay here. We paid 79 per night in high season. We had requested airport pickup, but that didn't happen. It was cheaper to just hop in a van at the airport anyway.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank diana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Arrived in Luang Prabang with no booking and ended up at a noisy hotel with hard beds. After wandering around quiet streets we found Villa Chitchareune. As soon as we walked in and saw the delightful little garden setting we knew this would be a nice place. Cant say enough about this hotel. Central to everything and in a tiny quiet little lane. It has a sign at the end of the lane so its easy to find. The room was on the top floor, very spacious and modern. Very comfortable beds and pillows (not easy to find in Laos!) and a simply breakfast menu of juice, eggs and toast and jam. The staff were delightful. One receptionist spoke very good English and could easily direct us to any place we wanted to go to. The other 2 receptionists had limited English but were still easy to converse with. All in all a very modern, comfortable and clean hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We arrived without accommodation booked. I was looking for a place close to town with a swimming pool. We went to the associated hotel with the same name however it was booked out on one of the nights we wanted. The manager suggested the villa for two nights then transfer. He also matched the lowest on line price I am so happy we made that decision . This place is great.it is an old building that was opened last year following a major refurbishment. The rooms have a lovely contemporary style. The bathroom is luxurious ,however you would want to know your travelling companion well as the toilet and shower are behind open partitions with frosted glass doors. Politely they are not acoustically or aromatically private! The shower was wonderful best so far in Asia. Beds really comfy. If I want to use the pool at the hotel they will send a car!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mccpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The highlight at Villa Chitchareuistanbul the delightful rooms. The hotel, likened to an oasis in the middle of the bustling city has simple, well appointed rooms and great (non English speaking) staff. It's perfectly located in a residential district between the Old City and the river and the beautiful wats. Just along the route the monks take for alms in the morning.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Our group arrived at different hours of the day. They were kind enough to give us all our rooms just to check if anything was wrong. You can't beat the location. Can't find anything to complain but noticed the following areas to improve:

- toilet and shower have glass doors that you can see through (no privacy)
- room 205/206 has best security (farthest away from stairway)
- hot water takes a while to reach rooms 205/206
- room 202 missing glass door to toilet
- mosquitoes everywhere (just keep doors and windows shut)
- room 203 is very close to office and is rather noisy
- room 205 has the WiFi signal repeater right outside

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
6.2 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#36 of 71 in Luang Prabang
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 71 in Luang Prabang
916 reviews
0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 71 in Luang Prabang
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitchareune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitchareune

Address: Ban Phone Heuang, Kounxoa Rd, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £20 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Chitchareune 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Chitchareune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing