We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing half day trip”
Review of Banana Boat

Banana Boat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Better Boat Trips on the Mekong. Welcome to Luang Prabang, UNESCO World Heritage Site, and convergence of the Mekong and Khan Rivers. There are many sites to visit around this beautiful town and the best way to explore is by boat. Our trips include the highlights, Kuangsi Waterfall and Pak Ou Caves, along with other interesting stops, and the ever popular sunset cruise.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing half day trip”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a really great half-day trip - the BB01 trip - along the Mekong, visiting a couple of temples and the Kuang Si waterfalls. Very helpful advice and quick email responses from the owner. It really is a great way of spending some time on the river. You need to be able to handle climbing quite a few steps (if you want to see the temples) and sitting in the flat bed truck (which we thought was fun) - nothing too strenuous though. Agree with others about the comfort of the boat, the drinks and snacks, and lovely boat driver! Great value.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mungo3068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    20
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Up the Mekong without a paddle”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We chose Banana boats on the recommendation of our hotel and they were fabulous. Emi the Australian owner is a delightful woman full of great local insights and we had a blissful day sailing up the river to temples and water falls. The boat also happened to have THE most comfortable seats....and life jackets! Always reassuring. A very professionally run operation and highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing way to spend a day on the Banana Boat”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

What more could you want to spend a relaxing Saturday? A fantastic boat with the most comfortable seats out, all with life jackets, a wonderful boat driver, 7 friends and an esky full of beer lao and water, and a second esky full of food. We each brought a dish or snack to share as we cruised up to Pak Ou Caves. The Mekong is pretty active at this time of year yet still remains kind of serene. The scenery is stunning along the way.
Highly recommend the banana boat if you want to chill out and enjoy a day on the river!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulesHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing Mekong Cruise”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had a beautiful evening cruise up the Mekong, leaving at 5 pm and returning after about two hours of cruising. The boat is equipped with comfortable seats made for a bus, and cold beer and non-alcoholic beverages were served. It was surprising to also find such delicious snacks on board- fresh rolls, spicy peanuts and seasoned dried mushrooms.
Some trips make stops, but our group elected to enjoy the lovely scenery.
It is a very nice way to spend an afternoon/evening in LP!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing on the boat in Luangprabang, laos”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The size of the boat is the right size for our group around 8 to 10 people, not to small not to big, the seats are comfortable, life jackets are in good condItion, it is important for us because I traveled with my nieces who are still the kids. The boat's driver Mr. Deng is very nice and has experience. My 75 years old aunt said she loves the toilet on this boat! It like they understand on what old people need! I love to be on boat by the river, love to see the lifestyle on the both sides, thanks Emi to make my boat trip became more convenient.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Keo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banana Boat also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Banana Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing