We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisited”
Review of Somjith Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Somjith Guesthouse
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here. It is probably a little on the pricey side but has a lot to offer. The rooms are clean and well equipped but shower rooms could do with updating. The veranda's are a great place to sit out and watch the world go by. The owner is a very friendly chap and willing to help. Great location for the centre, night market etc

Room Tip: Top floor rooms on the outside are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Good location, nice room with big windows, free tea and bananas if you can get one in time. Air con and fan and good tv reception, friendly staff.
Cleaners didn't clean room unless asked.
I got an electric shock off the communal water boiler/jug thing downstairs so be careful.
Price was 100,000kip and then 180,000kip over Lao new year.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Pros:

Free wifi - medium speed
Great Location!
Wood floors
Choice between fan or AC, balcony or no balcony, private or shared bathroom - range of price
Free drinking water
Friendly dude

Cons:

Can feel the springs in my bed
Old sheets
Minimal furnishings
Kindof sad atmosphere
Old side is definitely not as nice

Got a fan room with shared bathroom for 100,000 kip/night. A bit pricey in my opinion, but i'm not sure if this is a reflection on the hotel or Luang Prabang in general.


Yeehaw!

-Chinese Cowgirl

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChineseCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I stayed at the old side and got a perfectly decent double room with a balcony for 70,000 kip. Great location near the night market. The place was clean and the owner was friendly and helpful. There is a safe in the room, but you need your own padlock. Pack earplugs, unless you want to be woken up by roosters at 5am (like everywhere else in SE Asia). I enjoyed my stay and would recommend Somjith Guest House to others!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is not the newest, the trendiest nor the best guesthouse in LPB, the lobby is just so so (but then this is a guesthouse, more like a family house, not a hotel-to compare it with one is unfair.) But, what is really nice about this place:

1. Clean room, bathroom and beds.
2. Location - in the lovliest lane of LPB, and so near to the night market, the temples, and the Mekong and the jetty to board the boat to Vang Vieng, all within walking distance.
3. Almost the whole house is made from teak wood - wow! This is great in putting me in the context of LPB as a UNESCO World Heritage City.
4. The front room on the upper floor is best - with balcony and the view is nice.
5. Free coffee and bananas.
6. The boss is very nice and helpful with useful info (though other staff are not that good in English.)

Just regret that we didn't take any pics, but it looked authentic Laos-fantastic!

The only down side is that more competition is coming out, and many newer and more modern places can be found even in the same lane. The next time I come to LPB, I might consider staying here again, or head to the newer one - though choice!

Room Tip: - The front room on the upper floor is best - with balcony and the view is nice. - We went there in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I found this Guesthouse to be good value, I had air-conditioning, wifi, good shower and comfortable bed in my room. Free tea coffee and bananas were a welcome touch. I loved the location in this part of town

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 222g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 103suell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
6.5 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 70 in Luang Prabang
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 70 in Luang Prabang
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
823 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somjith Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somjith Guesthouse

Address: 27/2 Ban Hoa Xieng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 159 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £26 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Somjith Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Somjith Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing