We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning hotel, impeccable service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel, impeccable service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to spend 4 nights at Le Sen back in June. Right from the email correspondence with Noi to the moment we left, the service was absolutely brilliant.

The hotel is still very new and very clean throughout. You can't help but want to throw yourself in the pool every time you see it! The room was lovely and spacious with a balcony with comfy chairs overlooking the pool. The bed was incredibly comfy and the rain-effect shower was great. Breakfast was good, with a lot of choice. For the first 3 mornings we had to tick as many options as we wanted from a menu and they would bring everything out to you, but on our final morning it was a self-service buffet and I have to say I preferred the original method, but it was all good! We also made use of the gym whilst we were there, which was perfect for a light workout.

I gave the location 4 instead of 5 only because on our first evening we walked back from town at around 10pm and the roads aren't well lit along the way, which made me a little nervy/prone to trip! But the hotel has free bicycle rental which we took advantage of - excellent! All in all though, the hotel is just a 10/15 minute walk or a 5 minute cycle to the night market.

I would highly recommend Le Sen to anybody wanting to visit Luang Prabang. We will be hard-pushed to come across better service than what was given to us by their excellent staff. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phouvilath S, Manager at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Greeting from Le Sen!

We hope that you are doing great back home.

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Le Sen. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

Thank you so much for all the comment :)

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    132
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
108
378
60
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

I was a bit unsure about booking the hotel, but I did read reviews and took all opinions with a grain of salt. I, and my husband ( ever so critical) enjoyed out short stay. We moved to another hotel because as a compromise he got a city stay and I would have two nights on the Mekong river side. I honestly, wished I gave in and booked our full stay in La Sen. Our second floor room was so spacious and the a/c was great. Brit and American. For background info. The shower-open to bedroom and tub is as well , made for an automatic catalyst for relaxation. We had to ask for chairs on balcony, expect mozzies. I was prepared, bought coils with me. We don't travel with kids, but there was just enough family atmosphere to make it homey, but mostly adult, so no guilt about drinking by pool. Breakfast was really good. I had read in previous posts about limited selection. Honestly, it was the perfect breakfast. Filling, light and fresh. Perfect start for a day. I always want to make room for lunch and dinner and snacks. Btw, we booked tours with hotel. Easy, breezy. So simple. Independent, but transportation is organized and they provide snacks and drinks. I was embarrassed because it only ended up being four people on booking. So, snacks were too much. Back to hotel,definitely would revisit hotel. Housekeeping, so helpful. Especially with baggage. I had a lot of bags. Restaurant staff so accommodating , the went out and brought me coke zero. Met the manager. Very personable. Wished I made more time to visit gym. Really nice. Location, not such an issue, who doesn't like a tuk tuk, ride. It is only minutes to center. I liked this area more, because it offered neighborhood feel. Overall, great stay. No regrets.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smscout31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phouvilath S, Manager at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Le Sen boutique hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

we are so glad that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bega, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

You could have forgiven the hotel anything here because the staff were so kind and helpful. This is a fairly new hotel, and the staff, service and facilities were fantastic. It is clean, comfortable and after 4 days was feeling like home - in fact we were sad to leave! When we left we were asked what we think needed changing - just a few small ideas were exchanged, but basically this place should live up to your expectations! We loved our stay here...and the food and the pool was great too!!

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor - very near the pool - if you want privacy during busy periods ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phouvilath S, Manager at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Greeting from Le Sen!!

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Le Sen Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bright, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

This resort is so quiet and truly boutique. We had a second level room overlooking the pool as all rooms do and the room and balcony was great.
It was very hot (around 40c in June) but the aircon and fridge worked fine.All TV chanels as well which some of the "in town" hotels don't have.
The staff, tried so hard, especially the manager Pouvalath to make our stay feel very comfortable and free airport transfer was very nice touch.The staff also have good english.
It is also very good value for money and the food was very good.Thank you Le Sen for a nice time.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms may be hotter but have better privacy and nice balconies looking over pool and garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phouvilath S, Manager at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Warm greeting from Le Sen!

Thank you so much for coming and staying with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Le Sen in the near future :)

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We cannot fault Le Sen hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly. They booked restaurants, drove us in the shuttle bus with pleasure each evening, and provided smooth transfers to and from the airport. The family suite is charming. The boutique is relaxing and pretty and tranquil.. The pool is lovely, gym has modern equipment. Even the local restaurant across the road is fantastic!
Thank you Le Sen !

Room Tip: Great for a family of 4-5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipFef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phouvilath S, Manager at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Greeting from Le Sen!

We are so glad to know that your family had a wonderful time during your stay in Luang Prabang!!

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Le Sen :)

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The rooms at Le Sen were very clean and modern. The decor and grounds were beautiful. Breakfast was one of the best we have had in Asia - a large variety of foods and healthy options as well. The staff were very attentive and friendly. They arranged transport to the airport for us and even let us use the pool after we had checked out. The only drawback is that the hotel is a little far from the city centre. There are free bikes which we unfortunately only learned about on our last day. There is also a shuttle bus, but you need to book your return trip in advance which is a little tricky to figure out sometimes. Overall we had a wonderful experience and recommend Le Sen Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phouvilath S, Manager at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Mike,

We hope you are doing fine back home.

We appreciate all your feedback.
Again, thank you for choosing our hotel.

Good Luck!

With best regards,

Dalasone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Le Sen Boutique Hotel is a beautiful amalgam of traditional and modern design. It has the amenities of a much larger hotel wrapped in a beautiful small package. It is truly a “boutique” hotel. The owner/manager has returned to Laos after a few years in the Australian hotel business, and it shows. The service is impeccable and personal. The design is sleek and functional with lovely details like fresh flowers in the rooms, high quality bath products, room safe and bed-side light switches that control every light in the room. Unlike most small boutique hotels, it also has a well equipped gym and for spa services, the staff will make arrangements with the nearby Hotel de la Paix spa, a truly astounding facility.

The air-conditioned rooms are well laid out, with comfy beds, wall-mounted flat screen TVs, large standing showers, either a small patio or balcony and a mini bar stocked with drinks at prices that are LOWER than the bar price!

We spent a lot of time exploring the restaurants of Luang Prabang and often returned to Le Sen for a better meal. I highly recommend the “set meal” with a sampling of traditional Loa foods. During the heat of mid-day there wasn’t a better retreat than sitting by the exquisite pool with a gin and tonic and an order of the best “Mekong Weeds” in town.

The hotel is outside the centre of town (about a 10 minute walk to the river) but with the free bikes and shuttle service, that was a benefit more than a burden. The location is quiet and convenient for exploring other parts of Luang Parbang. All email correspondence with the hotel was responded to quickly and airport pick-up and drop off was provided.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have comfortable chairs on the balconies and a bit more privacy from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naiset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phouvilath S, Manager at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Warm greeting from Le Sen!!

We hope that you are doing great back in Canada :)

Thank you so much for all your nice comments. We are all so delighted to know that you had the great stay with us. Much appreciate ^^

Again, thank you so much for coming and experiencing our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming back to Le Sen.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sen Boutique Hotel

Property: Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Address: 113 Manomai Road | Mano Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Sen Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sen boutique hotel is a 3.5 star hotel with international standard of service. Situated in one of the world heritage sites - Luang Prabang city as UNESCO listed since 1995. The hotel was built in mid December 2012 with 19 rooms presenting its traditional Laotian building structure and providing a zen atmosphere, with simple touch of modern interiors and nicely fittings. Additionally, fine selected quality of bedding, which gives you comfortable and relaxing when you are home away from home. ACCOMMODATIONS Room Type Rooms Space in m2 Deluxe (include 8 Twins) 16 30 (including balcony/terrence) Suite 2 60 (including balcony/terrence) Villa 1 60 + 80 (plus private garden) All Accommodations Offers: Wi-Fi access in all public areas and rooms (free of charge) 32" Flat Screen TV with satellite channels Mini refrigerator In-room safety-deposit box Individual Air conditioning Turndown service Hair dryer In-room amenities Bathrobes and Slippers Modern bathroom with rain shower Bathtub with Jacuzzi jets (available only in Suites & Villa) Daily mineral drinking water with tea and coffee station Working space Balcony / terrence facing swimming pool (except Villa) SERVICES & FACILITIES - 24-hour reception / CCTV security cameras - In-room dining (6:00am - 10:00pm) - Fitness Centre (6:00am - 9:00pm) - Swimming pool, with mini kids pool area (( PLEASE NOTE that this is NOT a heated pool )) - Bicycle service (free of charge) - First in first served - Scheduled Shuttle service from hotel to Night Market Street (downtown); last pickup is at 10pm - Laundry service - Currency Exchange - Airport transfers (free of charge for direct booking guests only) - Credit cards accepted only Mastercard and Visa; PLEASE NOTE there will be 3 % bank charge for every transaction made by credit cards or debit cards. - Baby cot (available upon request) - First in first served - Extra bed available at $20 fees per person; PLEASE NOTE it is suitable for Suite and Villa room types only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Sen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing