We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Burasari Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Burasari Heritage
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
london, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed at the Burasari Heritage on two visits in September 2013, first for 4 nights and second for 5. I was upgraded to a bigger room upon arrival - thank you! The Burasari is a lovely, recently completely renovated property consisting of 3 buildings in the heart of Luang Prabang, facing the quiet Nam Khan river. Breakfast is served on the terrace by the river, across the quiet street from the hotel (unless it is raining, in which case it is offered inside the main building). I loved the look and feel of the entire property and the wood-paneled rooms with modern amenities. The minibar is free and the hotel offers mosquito repellent (occasionally needed in the evenings) as well as free use of city bikes (great for exploring the town) and a canvass bag (very handy) for the duration of the stay. The location is excellent - walking distance to most of the attractions in Luang Prabang. The staff spoke pretty good English - in a country where finding good English-speaking staff is quite difficult, it was a bonus. I wasn't overly impressed with the breakfast selection, especially since I stayed for a total of 9 nights, but there are a few good cafes within a 3-minute walk if one wants to try something different. The only things that bothered me a bit were the lighting in the room (a bit too dark), the air conditioner that took a while to cool off the room, and not having enough shelves or hangers for my clothes - but these issues are quite minor. Ah, and I would suggest that the hotel serves tea in coffee in pots rather than by the cup! It would have been lovely to have a pool, but the center of L.P. being a UNESCO World Heritage site, the building of new pools is prohibited. Regardless of these minor issues, I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend the place to others visiting lovely Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lola2317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    108
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
75
218
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Gorgeous hotel in a great location on the river. Beautiful rooms and lovely staff. Some of the rooms don't have a door on the bathroom, so be sure to ask for one with if needed! I was travelling with a friend, but in separate rooms. He had a separate bathroom, mine was all one room. No big deal when by yourself, but if I was with my partner I would have asked for another room.
Breakfast was amazing! You can eat across the road sitting by the river. Gorgeous spot and the food was fantastic. The eggs benedict yummo!!
I really loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly25mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Laos is still on of the most friendly country in the whole. the hotel where we stayed also provide with very friendly services. Strolling along the road to watch monks passed by was just a amazing sight. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for several nights, and absolutely loved the place.
We initially had a small problem with the air con not quite working on arrival, but someone was soon on the case and it was sorted in no time.
The room has the power activated by the room key slot, which meant the air con was turned off when we were out during the day, but the receptionist kindly gave us an extra key which we could leave in the slot when we were out. After the inevitably hot and sweaty days, we were thankfully able to retire to our rooms with both air con and ceiling fans already blasting!

The breakfast was great, and the free minibar was much appreciated!

The hotel is also walking distance (5/10mins) to the main area of the night market and bustling streets, and so is perfect location.

The rooms are lovely and luxurious, and I may go as far to say that they're up there with some of the best I've stayed in!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRL-LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and cannot fault the hotel. The rooms are lovely, with beautiful views over the river. Service is excellent, the staff are always very willing to assist and everything done with a smile. You are in town, only a few steps from the main street. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaRosie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A group ex pats living in Luang Prabang attended boat race lunch and all had a great day, food delicious and service great under very difficult weather conditions. Looking forward to next year..
The Manager, Nok, worked very hard to ensure we all enjoyed ourselves, which we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights! Loved the set up of the rooms, heritage explorer style! Our room had a beautiful view overlooking the Nam Kha river. Air con worked wonderfully for those warm days and nights! The bathroom was a brilliant concept and once you get used o the 'opened planned concept' it's fantastic! Service was brilliant as was the breakfast which was cooked fresh upon order! Brilliant location close to the main strip and some lovely restruant s! Would highly recommend!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan_F_209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
1.2 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burasari Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burasari Heritage

Property: Burasari Heritage
Address: 44-47 Unit 03, Khiri Village, Kingitsarath Road, Luang Prabang 8000, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Burasari Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burasari Heritage is Imagine a wildly romantic elegant, traditional colonial house located in the mystical city of Luang Prabang right across from the River Khan, the ideal setting for romantic strolls. Imagine fishing boats float by under the lazy sun, the sound of soothing evening prayers of the monks and locals wearing hats riding bicycles en-route to the market. This charming historic Laotian colonial house is a true reflection of what life was like during the 19th century French Indochina History surrounds the hotel, and to feel what it was like is to absorb and take part in many of the city's traditions including the daily procession of the monks collecting alms, a ritual dating back for centuries.... A timeless picture of days gone by. Burasari Heritage is a place you will love. For to discover the warmth and tranquility of this historic house, surrounded by the delight of Luang Prabang, is to find something very special- rather like falling in love for the very first time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burasari Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing