We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent choice in Luang Prabang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Exellent choice in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Beautiful garden, great room, solid location a little away from the main tourist area. very comfortable stay. Two issues though: Internet is deficient, reception sporadic and limited to reception area. Also breakfast is quite slow when a tourist group shows up (2 out of the 3 nights we were there). The servers are nice but cannot handle the load. But we would return there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Sabaidee,

the whole team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for your kind review, we are happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Indeed we had suffers temporary wifi malfunction, this is now resolved, hope it was not too inconvenient.

would you have the opportunity to return to Luang Prabang, do not hesitate to contact us.

yours sincerely.

Sanctuary Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    121
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
44
179
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

It was very nice to stay 3 nights at Sanctuary Hotel Luang Prabang for my trip with my lovely sisters. The staffs are all smile and friendly, the rooms are very new and comfortable and the bathroom is also clean. Breakfast is very good with a very nice coffee and staffs are well trained to service. The fresh garden make us feel more relax while stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoupeAnusorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear PoupeAnousorn,

The whole team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for your kind review, we are very happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

we thank you also for taking the time to make your first review on our property, we wish you many travel.

very best regards,

the Sanctuary Hotel's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The setting of the hotel is beautiful , we stayed in a Deluxe room , very comfortable ,spacious and cozy.
The Staff was very efficient and professional.
The breakfast was great too , you can have it outside near the pond in the middle of the garden, charming.

My wife and I would consider to stay again there, recommended for stay in luangprabang

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear mlpvh,

The whole team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for your kind review, we are happy to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you on your next visit.

yours sincerely,

Sanctuary Hotel's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

The sanctuary hotel pretends to be a high class hotel, and at first look, it deffinately seems like one. Not until you have paid for your room do you find out the WiFi doesn't work at all throughout the complex and the shower has less pressure then a weak hose. When you are paying these high prices for a room, you expect these basics to be sorted out.

Free breakfast was poor, can get better food at the corner store.

My advice, unless using a discount code, find somewhere else.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
"Sabaidee,


Dear Gerard S,

The whole team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in saying how sorry to read that you had such a bad experience in our hotel, thus reviewing us negatively.

We are a 3 stars hotel, not a luxury establishment, however we appreciate the fact that we look like one.
Our price range is also in the 3 stars properties level and we have no pretension to be seen as a high class hotel but a comfortable and affordable middle range hotel.

About our low internet debit, we do have a comprehensive system that feeds well all our rooms and public areas, but there are so many guests connected nowadays especially with severals devices per rooms that it sometimes results in a slower debit. This multiplied in every hotels in town and the providers themselves can't cope with the demands and high debit requirements. We are in Luang Prabang, technology just arrived here.

Also we apologize if the water pressure of your room was not adequate, we have looked into it already but didn't find any problem. We have resold the rooms severals time since and no problem was reported.
We do not know what could have been the problem.

Our breakfast selection is actually prepared with only fresh and high quality ingredients, bakery from the finest french bakery in town "Bannetton", we served home-made jams, and exotic fresh fruits and juices, a la minute eggs, etc.
I understand that you could have preferred a differents selection, we will see from now on if other selection would be appreciated by our guests; always striving to provide the best services.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Sanctuary Luang Prabang "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Sanctuary and would definitely recommend it. The location is just outside the old town but it's only a 5 minute walk to the main street. All the rooms surround a pleasant lily pond and we heard no traffic noise from the street. The rooms were nice and very clean. The breakfast was really good and the staff was very friendly and helpful (for example, with advice regarding visiting Kuang Si falls).

Negatives? Nothing significant. The only comment (which applied to the majority of the hotels we stayed in during our holiday) was that the English of some reception staff could be better. This (minor) factor is the only point which is preventing me from giving the Sanctuary a 5.
Tips: ask for a room with a balcony if you like outdoor space. Also, we had a nice surprise walking at dawn to watch monks receiving their alms as some monks walked down the street outside the hotel and we had a tourist-free view!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Sabaidee,

Dear Steve987,

The whole team of sanctuary joins me in thanking you for your review, we are very happy that you had enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you took the time to write a review.

We strive in improving continuously our services and the skills of our employes, English communication is a on-going training and effort that is a priority to us and our staff; it's work on progress.

We hope you had a pleasant trip in Asia,


Yours sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Sanctuary Luang Prabang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Contrary to previous reviews, my experience at the Sanctuary was very average. The hotel is located on one of the busiest roads in Luang Prabang so if you're assigned a room adjacent to the main road (such as Room 100..) don't expect the peace and tranquility that can be found at hotels with a river frontage. Traffic continues throughout the night.

On arrival at 8.30 pm on the first night I was assured by reception that the restaurant was open until 10 pm and that I would be able to get a meal. Arriving at the restaurant at 8.50 pm I was told "No food - only bar".

The hotel is right beside the Lao People's Revolutionary Youth Union building where an outdoor celebration with amplified music was in full swing when I checked in. The loud music continued until 10.30 pm.

No wi-fi was available anywhere on the premises on the first night. During the following two days, the electricity went off at about 8.00 am and was off for most of the day. The hotel appears to have no standby power as during the power outtage there was no possibility of a shower, a wash, using the toilet, using the aircon or lights.

Breakfast is set menu and is adequate although no green tea is avaliable (including -incredibly - Lao green tea) - only Lipton tea and coffee.

There is a lovely landscaped pond in the centre of the grounds and adjacent to the restaurant.

At checkout on the second day there was no power to run the credit card machine which meant a trek downtown to an ATM to withdraw enough cash to pay the bill. Other establishments downtown were able to use their credit card machines during the blackout period. The ATM's were still functioning, fortunately.

At checkout when I asked for a taxi transfer to the airport, the receptionist arranged a tuc-tuc and informed me that I had to pay him and the tuc-tuc driver. When I refused to pay 50,000 kip for a tuc-tuc transfer to the airport, the fee was reduced to 30,000 kip and the payment to the receptionist withdrawn. The intervention of the manager might have influenced this outcome..

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Kitsarat Road and the Lao Peoples Revolutionary Youth Union building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ratichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Sabaidee,

Dear Sir,

The team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in conveying you our most sincere apologies for the unfortunate succession of events that made your stay in our property only average.

I personally would like to apologize for not having informing more appropriately the opening hours of our restaurant; this has been corrected.

Unfortunately, the city had cut off the power only in our block during the whole week-end as we all had the disagreement of discover; we had no information of it and no possibility to inform our clients in advance. The same reason why other areas of the city were not affected and thus it was possible to use ATM, only our areas was cut off as the city were replacing cabling. I am of course very sorry that this happened during the whole duration of your stay.

Also, we were not aware that a celebration would occur next to the hotel, we are very sorry about this and we will formally contact the appropriate person in the office to ensure that such situation do not happen again in the future. Again, we are very sorry about this incident.

We are powering-up our wifi router in order to be more efficient when the hotel is full, I assume that many guests were connected in the same evening and my routers not sufficient, we are working on it.
We have now Lao Green Tea available at the restaurant.

As for the Tuk-Tuk call up, please forgive the lack of good english from my receptionist. When we call up public tuk-tuk, their price varies from 50,000 to 30,000 kip for a trip. we book for you, we do not receive anything, we just call the vehicle for the guest. At no moment our receptionist try to take advantage, he was just not clear enough in his communication with you, this is why i intervene. I hope this clarify this point.

Dear Sir,

To conclude, we are very sorry about this issue and we would like to invite you for a 2 days stay in our hotel, would you have the opportunity to return to Luang Prabang. The hotel invites you to enjoy a perfect stay, quiet and in a fully operational property. I have realized that you were residing in Vietnam, I hope that a future visit will be possible. Please contact me directly and we will ensure you a memorable stay in the Sanctuary Hotel Luang Prabang.

Yours, most sincerely,

The Sanctuary Hotel's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Hai, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

During a recent trip to Luang Prabang, I stayed at the recently opened Sanctuary. The hotel is very well located, easily accessible from the center (less than 3 min. walk to the main street). Plenty of dining options around the hotel, right next door to Roots & Leaves restaurant (that I recommended in a previous post).

Both public spaces and rooms are good, clean and nicely decorated, modern amenities including Safe, A/C and Free Wi-Fi. Prices were reasonable and a good deal for the quality and location of the hotel. I recommend to book with the hotel directly as prices advertised on Agoda were slightly higher.

The service was great with friendly and quite efficient Staff (keep in mind that this is Laos). The French Manager, Dennis was also around for assistance as well as for recommendations.
All in all, a good choice in Luang Prabang for those looking for quality and location without breaking your wallet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMatt1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Sabaidee,

Dear Jean-Mathieu,

the whole team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for your great review of our hotel and the team. we are very happy that you have selected our hotel for you holiday and even more that it was to your total satisfaction. we are always very happy and proud to have given our clients a great time and successful holiday. we hope to see you again, do not hesitate to contact me would you have the opportunity to return to luang prabang.

again, thank you very much for your excellent review on tripadvisor,

wishing you the best,

the Sanctuary Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#21 of 69 in Luang Prabang
303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel

Property: Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Address: Kitsalat Road | Ban Aham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic heart of the city of Luang Prabang, halfway between the Mekong and Nam Khan River, the Sanctuary Hotel is a haven of peace on the edge of the peninsula, close to the night market with its typical streets, temples and restaurants.The Sanctuary Hotel is built around listed buildings. Its charm, its traditional architecture, exotic garden make it a privileged holiday resort, calm and serene, yet close to everything. You can easily explore on foot most of the architectural treasures of Luang Prabang, the historic capital of Laos, the Mecca of Buddhism, inscribed on the World Heritage List of UNESCO.Sanctuary Hotel, Luang Prabang, a garden in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing