We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but there is room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Sanctuary is a very nice and well located hotel. There is a main road in front of the hotel buy you don't hear it once inside so it wasn't disturbing. There is no view (if you're willing to pay some extra bucks it would be then worth staying in the "old town" or with a view on the Mekong/Nam Khan River.

The garden is very well maintained and the buildings are nice. It’s a pity the same effort was not put into finition & decoration. Our room was very spacious but kind of empty and dark. It’s a pity they didn’t use wooden floors in the rooms (they used carrelage instead), it would have made the room much nicer. It is a detail as you don’t go to Luang Prabang to stay all day long in your room but you expect to feel good when you go back to your room after a long day visiting the region. It was very clean though, so that is what matters.
The breakfast was good (especially the bread, one of the best bread we've had in the 15 hotels we stayed in during our trip!)
The staff was very friendly but some of them, at the reception, didn’t speak english and could not understand anything when the discussion was not about checking-in/checking-out.. We were told we had a suite room and that we could hence drink what we wanted from the mini-bar. We only drank two bottles of water. When we checked out, we’ve been asked to pay for those two bottles, which I refused. The girl didn’t seem to understand my explanation so after a few minutes I paid the few bucks she was claiming as I didn’t want to make a scene only for this and risk to miss our flight..

Wifi was working but very slowly, like everywhere in the region. Nothing to do with their hardware as by chance we manage to catch a working signal from the top of Mount Phu Si (!).

The overall stay was very nice, it’s a pity we left on a bad experience but this was just a detail.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seraph1Lampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Sabaidee,

Dear Paikan07,


The team of the Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for having chosen our hotel as the destination of your holiday in Luang Prabang and for taking the time to give us a kind review.

We will continue to improve our services and the skills of our employes in order not to have miscommunication and better service to our guests.

We thank you for your constructive review and the team joins me in wishing you a good continuation of holiday.

Best regards,

Sanctuary Hotel Luang Prabang Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel is at a walking distance to most of the interesting places.
The walk to the night market takes only 5 minutes.
Plenty of nice restaurants in the surrondings (there are two very nice restaurants at the hotel, food is good, but you have to book in advance).
All superiors rooms have a private balcony facing a pound.
They are simply decorated, but confortables. Wifi is OK.
Breakfast with natural products only.
The place is quiet (surprisingly quiet at a so short distance to the city center).
Sanctuary Hotel is certainly a well-named hotel.

Room Tip: If you travel as a family, ask for the connecting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Sabaidee,

Dear Mike r,

The whole team of sanctuary joins me in thanking for selecting our hotel as the destination of your holiday and for taking the time to write an very kind review.

We are delighted that you have such a good stay with us and hope you enjoyed your holiday in Laos.

We hope that you will have the opportunity to return to Luang Prabang in the future, thus giving us the chance to serve you again.

Very best regards,

The Sanctuary Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Excellent location on the edge of town but within easy reach of restaurants and main attractions. There is a little traffic noise in the morning so ask for a room near the back. Rooms large, clean and comfortable. Good hot shower. The breakfast was good, small buffet style with eggs cooked to order. The garden is beautiful.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ljt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Sabaidee,

Dear ljt12,

The team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for choosing our hotel as the destination of your holidays and for taking the time to make a review.

We wish you a very good continuation of your holiday, pleasant traveling and safe return home.

once again, thank you for your review,

all the best, Happy Chinese New Year,

Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel grounds are very attractive, the rooms are centered around a pond. The room is very small, but the small deck off each room is very comfortable. The breakfast is basic, but adequate- eggs, fruit, yogurt, bread, coffee. The staff are pleasant and try to be accommodating, but their English is very limited. Great location, a 10 minute walk to the Night Market.

The negatives include significant street noise heard from inside the rooms, the room walls are very thin and we could hear conversations in the next room. One evening we tried to get a drink from the bar before 8p and they were closed. The room was very small and no luggage racks, so we had to open our luggage on the floor and step over it to get around. Like most of Asia, the bed is very hard and uncomfortable.

Some suggestions, extra pillows in the room would be nice for reading at night, hand towels in the bathroom- we only had bath towels, a towel rack to allow towels to dry, hair dryer in room, and mirror outside bath so 2 people can prepare for dinner, bath steam does not clear very quickly so can't use mirror.

We would have been happy to participate in the towel recycle program, but there was no where to hang a towel to dry, so we had to get new towels daily.

This hotel has potential, but it needs some more work before it should charge their rates. We were disappointed for that reason.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the very back for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Sabaidee,

Dear Mo and Jim,

The whole team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you selecting our hotel as the destination of your holidays and for taking the time to review us.

we appreciate your comments and suggestions, the issues you raised are under improvements and we continuously strive in providing the best service to our clients.

we wish you an excellent chinese new year,

cordially,

The Sanctuary Hotel's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Very accommodating - needed to change hotels due to 3 day/night Basi and were given choice of rooms. Facilities in rooms good, had no problems with wifi as experienced by other clients, and good hot showers. Found breakfast buffet more than adequate for us. Would have eaten evening meal in the hotel if more choice. It was a sanctuary from the bustle and noise of the town, and very easy walking distance to the main attractions.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank rea56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Sabaidee,


Dear Rea56,

The team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for your kind review, we are very happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

we are also pleased that your stay with us was to your satisfaction and that our improvements in terms of breakfast, wifi and other past issues has been resolved.

my team joins me in wishing you a very happy new year 2014,

all the best,

Sanctuary Hotel's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Rooms are tastefully decorated, comfy and equipped with all the necessary. French doors open to small patio overlooking green and a nice inner-courtyard pond with lotus flowers.
Good location, as short walking distance into the activities in town, but just on the edge so much quieter. We had a local office party in next door property, but was day time and all a part of the experience of being part of the local life. By 10pm all was quite and had good quite sleep :)
Front desk staff and manager were helpful.
Nice hot shower.
Only minus points would be to improve the breakfast and install another towel rack in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the property, away from the main road, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SachaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Sabaidee,

Dear Sacha and Martin,

My team joins me in thanking you for choosing our hotel as the destination of your holiday as well as your review, we appreciate constructive comments and will of course do our upmost to improve our services.

Improvements are already in place, new menu selection etc….thank you for your comments and remarks, it helps us to do better.

The team joins me in wishing you a very happy new year 2014.

kind regards,

Sanctuary Hotel's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We recently spent 11 nights at Sanctuary Hotel and were happy with our experience. The hotel has a lot of positives. Location: it is about 5 minutes walk from the night markets and the host of restaurants and attractions of Luang Prabang; so nicely away from the hustle and bustle but still close enough for easy access to all the area has to offer. Setting: the grounds are well maintained and quite beautiful. In this respect, it was a real sanctuary. Staff: I found every staff member to be courteous and helpful. Value: for around $91-$100 per night, the hotel fills an important niche between the expensive luxury hotels that appear to be taking over LPB (and that charge at least twice and often much greater amounts) and a budget dig. It is a mid range hotel and that makes it ideal for a longer stay.
There are several negatives, that I would love the owners to address, as I think this place could be even better without breaking the budget. The breakfast: is bland and doesn't have sufficient healthy choices (or any choices at all). The table cloths need to be changed each day and / or if they are soiled. The room amenities could be better, eg. the safety box didn't work, the beds are very hard (I love a firm bed, but these beds were almost too much for me!) and an extra blanket in the rooms, particularly for those cooler winter nights would be nice.
Overall, I feel happy with our time at The Sanctuary, it is a nice property that mostly lives up to its name. Would recommend to the traveller seeking a mid range hotel as a base for touring the Luang Prabang area.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room away from the road, toward the back of property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 51KarenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Sabaidee,

Dear Karen,

The team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for taking the time to review our property and services, we appreciate your comments and will work on the issues you have raised.

We are continuously working in improving our services to our guests and issue like our breakfast selection is already under new amelioration and improvements are already noticeable.

we thank you for choosing our property for your holiday, we thank you for your review and we wish you a very happy new year 2014.

very best regards,

The Sanctuary Hotel's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.7 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 71 in Luang Prabang
904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#15 of 71 in Luang Prabang
391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
1 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel

Address: Kitsalat Road | Ban Aham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £62 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic heart of the city of Luang Prabang, halfway between the Mekong and Nam Khan River, the Sanctuary Hotel is a haven of peace on the edge of the peninsula, close to the night market with its typical streets, temples and restaurants.The Sanctuary Hotel is built around listed buildings. Its charm, its traditional architecture, exotic garden make it a privileged holiday resort, calm and serene, yet close to everything. You can easily explore on foot most of the architectural treasures of Luang Prabang, the historic capital of Laos, the Mecca of Buddhism, inscribed on the World Heritage List of UNESCO.Sanctuary Hotel, Luang Prabang, a garden in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing