We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel but a Couple of Improvements Would Make It Even Better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
615 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but a Couple of Improvements Would Make It Even Better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The location of this hotel is great - within walking distance of much of the town. You can go outside to give alms in the morning if you don't want to walk to the main street. Just a couple of complaints. They are very stingy with towels. Two towels - one per person. No wash cloth, no hand towel. Also, just two small pillows on the bed, but I asked for a third and it was brought to me promptly. No individual toiletries, but soap and shampoo (no conditioner) available in more permanent containers. The breakfast was fine - although they offered no really fresh fruit like tangerines, apples, watermelon, etc. Could order eggs and one person of our party really liked the cooked coconut milk dish. The garden is quite lovely - I think all the rooms overlook it, and the area where breakfast was served is pleasant. AC in room worked well, but we couldn't open the windows because of no screens and mosquitoes. I am not sure of the price we paid because it was part of a private tour package, but we would stay there again, especially if the towel situation improved. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Stay toward the back of the hotel so you miss the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teachers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel... L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much taking the time to review our property.
We have well noted your remarks and are please to inform you and our future guests that issues regarding towels in the room and fresh fruit juices have been solved. We do provide bath and hand towels in every room. We also offer seasonal fresh juices for breakfast.
Your comment were highly useful and always help us to improve our services.
So, once again thank you very much and we hope to welcome you back in Luang Prabang.

Henri-Pierre Leveillard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    116
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
40
168
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Sanctuary is a very nice and well located hotel. There is a main road in front of the hotel buy you don't hear it once inside so it wasn't disturbing. There is no view (if you're willing to pay some extra bucks it would be then worth staying in the "old town" or with a view on the Mekong/Nam Khan River.

The garden is very well maintained and the buildings are nice. It’s a pity the same effort was not put into finition & decoration. Our room was very spacious but kind of empty and dark. It’s a pity they didn’t use wooden floors in the rooms (they used carrelage instead), it would have made the room much nicer. It is a detail as you don’t go to Luang Prabang to stay all day long in your room but you expect to feel good when you go back to your room after a long day visiting the region. It was very clean though, so that is what matters.
The breakfast was good (especially the bread, one of the best bread we've had in the 15 hotels we stayed in during our trip!)
The staff was very friendly but some of them, at the reception, didn’t speak english and could not understand anything when the discussion was not about checking-in/checking-out.. We were told we had a suite room and that we could hence drink what we wanted from the mini-bar. We only drank two bottles of water. When we checked out, we’ve been asked to pay for those two bottles, which I refused. The girl didn’t seem to understand my explanation so after a few minutes I paid the few bucks she was claiming as I didn’t want to make a scene only for this and risk to miss our flight..

Wifi was working but very slowly, like everywhere in the region. Nothing to do with their hardware as by chance we manage to catch a working signal from the top of Mount Phu Si (!).

The overall stay was very nice, it’s a pity we left on a bad experience but this was just a detail.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seraph1Lampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Sabaidee,

Dear Paikan07,


The team of the Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for having chosen our hotel as the destination of your holiday in Luang Prabang and for taking the time to give us a kind review.

We will continue to improve our services and the skills of our employes in order not to have miscommunication and better service to our guests.

We thank you for your constructive review and the team joins me in wishing you a good continuation of holiday.

Best regards,

Sanctuary Hotel Luang Prabang Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel is at a walking distance to most of the interesting places.
The walk to the night market takes only 5 minutes.
Plenty of nice restaurants in the surrondings (there are two very nice restaurants at the hotel, food is good, but you have to book in advance).
All superiors rooms have a private balcony facing a pound.
They are simply decorated, but confortables. Wifi is OK.
Breakfast with natural products only.
The place is quiet (surprisingly quiet at a so short distance to the city center).
Sanctuary Hotel is certainly a well-named hotel.

Room Tip: If you travel as a family, ask for the connecting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Sabaidee,

Dear Mike r,

The whole team of sanctuary joins me in thanking for selecting our hotel as the destination of your holiday and for taking the time to write an very kind review.

We are delighted that you have such a good stay with us and hope you enjoyed your holiday in Laos.

We hope that you will have the opportunity to return to Luang Prabang in the future, thus giving us the chance to serve you again.

Very best regards,

The Sanctuary Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent location on the edge of town but within easy reach of restaurants and main attractions. There is a little traffic noise in the morning so ask for a room near the back. Rooms large, clean and comfortable. Good hot shower. The breakfast was good, small buffet style with eggs cooked to order. The garden is beautiful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ljt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Sabaidee,

Dear ljt12,

The team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for choosing our hotel as the destination of your holidays and for taking the time to make a review.

We wish you a very good continuation of your holiday, pleasant traveling and safe return home.

once again, thank you for your review,

all the best, Happy Chinese New Year,

Sanctuary Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel grounds are very attractive, the rooms are centered around a pond. The room is very small, but the small deck off each room is very comfortable. The breakfast is basic, but adequate- eggs, fruit, yogurt, bread, coffee. The staff are pleasant and try to be accommodating, but their English is very limited. Great location, a 10 minute walk to the Night Market.

The negatives include significant street noise heard from inside the rooms, the room walls are very thin and we could hear conversations in the next room. One evening we tried to get a drink from the bar before 8p and they were closed. The room was very small and no luggage racks, so we had to open our luggage on the floor and step over it to get around. Like most of Asia, the bed is very hard and uncomfortable.

Some suggestions, extra pillows in the room would be nice for reading at night, hand towels in the bathroom- we only had bath towels, a towel rack to allow towels to dry, hair dryer in room, and mirror outside bath so 2 people can prepare for dinner, bath steam does not clear very quickly so can't use mirror.

We would have been happy to participate in the towel recycle program, but there was no where to hang a towel to dry, so we had to get new towels daily.

This hotel has potential, but it needs some more work before it should charge their rates. We were disappointed for that reason.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the very back for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Sabaidee,

Dear Mo and Jim,

The whole team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you selecting our hotel as the destination of your holidays and for taking the time to review us.

we appreciate your comments and suggestions, the issues you raised are under improvements and we continuously strive in providing the best service to our clients.

we wish you an excellent chinese new year,

cordially,

The Sanctuary Hotel's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Very accommodating - needed to change hotels due to 3 day/night Basi and were given choice of rooms. Facilities in rooms good, had no problems with wifi as experienced by other clients, and good hot showers. Found breakfast buffet more than adequate for us. Would have eaten evening meal in the hotel if more choice. It was a sanctuary from the bustle and noise of the town, and very easy walking distance to the main attractions.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rea56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Sabaidee,


Dear Rea56,

The team of Sanctuary Hotel joins me in thanking you for your kind review, we are very happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

we are also pleased that your stay with us was to your satisfaction and that our improvements in terms of breakfast, wifi and other past issues has been resolved.

my team joins me in wishing you a very happy new year 2014,

all the best,

Sanctuary Hotel's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Rooms are tastefully decorated, comfy and equipped with all the necessary. French doors open to small patio overlooking green and a nice inner-courtyard pond with lotus flowers.
Good location, as short walking distance into the activities in town, but just on the edge so much quieter. We had a local office party in next door property, but was day time and all a part of the experience of being part of the local life. By 10pm all was quite and had good quite sleep :)
Front desk staff and manager were helpful.
Nice hot shower.
Only minus points would be to improve the breakfast and install another towel rack in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the property, away from the main road, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SachaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel L, Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Sabaidee,

Dear Sacha and Martin,

My team joins me in thanking you for choosing our hotel as the destination of your holiday as well as your review, we appreciate constructive comments and will of course do our upmost to improve our services.

Improvements are already in place, new menu selection etc….thank you for your comments and remarks, it helps us to do better.

The team joins me in wishing you a very happy new year 2014.

kind regards,

Sanctuary Hotel's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.8 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel

Property: Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Address: Kitsalat Road | Ban Aham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic heart of the city of Luang Prabang, halfway between the Mekong and Nam Khan River, the Sanctuary Hotel is a haven of peace on the edge of the peninsula, close to the night market with its typical streets, temples and restaurants.The Sanctuary Hotel is built around listed buildings. Its charm, its traditional architecture, exotic garden make it a privileged holiday resort, calm and serene, yet close to everything. You can easily explore on foot most of the architectural treasures of Luang Prabang, the historic capital of Laos, the Mecca of Buddhism, inscribed on the World Heritage List of UNESCO.Sanctuary Hotel, Luang Prabang, a garden in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing