We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel nestled within walking distance of the night market ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Sanctuary for just two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The grounds are beautiful with a very calm aura as you walk in the gates. We had a gorgeous room which was really spacious and clean, with all the extra amenities such as safety deposit box, mini bar and plasma tv with two English speaking movie channels. The staff were exceptionally friendly and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Henri the manager was particularly welcoming and helpful, giving us great advice and helping to arrange transfers etc. I would definitely return to stay here on my next visit and highly recommend it!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank enib123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel... L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

Dear Guest,
The whole team of the Sanctuary join me in thanking you for your great comment. indeed, our front office team and myself are experienced enough to guide and advise you on what to do or where to go in this beautiful town.
We hope to welcoming you back.
Best regards,

Henri-Pierre Leveillard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

With the low season discouny of 50%, the hotel is probably one of the best values in Luang Prapang. It's centrally located, but the hotel grounds are quite and peacefull (and nicely landscaped). The rooms are comfortable and spacious (note: in contrary to the information on Agoda, the superior room is 24 square meter, the deluxe size is correct: 30 square meters), all with private sitting area. The bathroom is rather basic though. Breakfast is very good with sufficient choices and made-to-order. Management is friendly and helpfull.

One remark: the wifi is sometimes rather slow and the signal not always strong enough. Its an open wifi network where you need to sign in with your browser, which is a bit inconvenient, compared to accessing the router with a WPS key.

Room Tip: Room 513 has a private garden & terrace on the backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkyMAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel... L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your comment. The team and I are always happy to see we make the stay of our guest enjoyable.
We hope to welcoming you back in our property in a near future.
Kind regards,

Henri-Pierre Leveillard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Sanctuary is a very comfortable and well-designed hotel with an excellent location. Just at the quieter part of the town, not even 500 meter from the night market.
The complete property is new and stylish. Rooms are very clean, tastefully decorated and have beautiful wooden flooring.
Great outdoor area for dinner and cocktails overlooking the pond.
Complimentary breakfast is tasty and complete with seasonal fresh juice and eggs cooked to order.
Both management and staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aitg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel... L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

Dear Ait,
On behalf of the team, I would like to thank you for your kind comment. Obviously, should you choose to spend some time off again in Luang Prabang, feel free to contact us directly by email so we can arrange your booking directly.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience.
Best regards,

Henri-Pierre Leveillard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The rooms in this fairly new hotel were spacious and beautifully furnished, set around a lovely garden and pond. Immaculately clean, they contained comfortable beds and all amenities. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. There were problems with the Internet while we were there but it was restored after a couple of days. The location was good, within walking distance of all areas of interest and close to the night market. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamsin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel... L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your kind comment with the community.
Regards,

Henri-Pierre Leveillard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had to meet friends in Luang Prabang and booked in to be near Amantaka, which is conveniently opposite Sanctuary. The property is quite well spread out, with the rooms in different buildings. The rooms are sufficiently appointed, with the usual amenities that make a hotel stay pleasant. And importantly, clean sheets and towels. Breakfast can be taken on an outdoor deck, next to the water-lily water-feature. Nice feature. Service is good, attentive manager and staff. Within short walking distance to the night market. Great value for the price paid. Will recommend for couples and business stays.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel... L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear reviewer bbteh,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear all your good comments about us. I do hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Luang Prabang. Contact me personally for your booking.
Best regards,

Henri-Pierre Leveillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Lovely hotel, comfortable clean rooms. Stunning common garden area. Excellent location, a couple of blocks ouside the old part of town, yet near everything. Breakfast in the garden on the open air patio was lovely each morning, lots of choices - all of them good and plenty to eat. Their baguette is a winner! Service at reception was very good and helpful. All in all one of the best values thus far in our Thailand - Laos trip! Highly recommended. Just across the street is an Aman resort - at $1,300 a pop per night - it's obviously lovely - we had a look ... But in my mind the Sanctuary was a top notch winner and did a wonderful job!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mochilero22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel... L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Copanhonduras,
Thank you for your very positive comment. We always try our best to please our guests. I hope you had a good flight trip back to honduras.
All the best,

Henri-Pierre Leveillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I had a great time at Sanctuary Hotel. First, I want to say that it was VERY clean. And the rooms were SPACIOUS. The wifi worked well in the common areas. Breakfast was also delicious. Location was also great as it's only a 5 minute walk to the night market, and close to all the bars. Everyone at the hotel was super nice, and always wiling to go the extra mile to accommodate you, especially the manager, Antoine. Antoine was great in all aspects! He showed me around to all the hotspots in LP. He also drove me around in his scooter and made sure all my needs at the hotel were met. He advised where it was safe to go, where to eat, etc. Thank you Antoine so much for everything. I had such a great time at your hotel and would come back in a heartbeat. Please say thanks to your wonderful staff as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hotel... L, General Manager at Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Julie,
Antoine, the hotel team and myself, hope you made a safe trip back home. It is always a pleasure to read such a great comment about your experience at the Sanctuary and we were glad to welcome you in our property.
Thank you for sharing your opinion with the other tripadvisor users. We do hope to welcoming you back in the Sanctuary hotel during your next visit in Luang prabang.

Henri-Pierre Leveillard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 70 in Luang Prabang
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 70 in Luang Prabang
897 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 70 in Luang Prabang
382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
831 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel

Address: Kitsalat Road | Ban Aham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £68 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic heart of the city of Luang Prabang, halfway between the Mekong and Nam Khan River, the Sanctuary Hotel is a haven of peace on the edge of the peninsula, close to the night market with its typical streets, temples and restaurants.The Sanctuary Hotel is built around listed buildings. Its charm, its traditional architecture, exotic garden make it a privileged holiday resort, calm and serene, yet close to everything. You can easily explore on foot most of the architectural treasures of Luang Prabang, the historic capital of Laos, the Mecca of Buddhism, inscribed on the World Heritage List of UNESCO.Sanctuary Hotel, Luang Prabang, a garden in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing