We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillside - Nature Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$272
US$242
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$113
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Santi Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$77
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Santi Resort & Spa(Luang Prabang)
US$84
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sala Prabang(Luang Prabang)
US$70
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$72
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
90
23
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
23
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherbal saunaself guided walkstotal relaxationnice hikesswimming pool isgreen currylocated minutesrice paddiesreal laosin townspecial thankspeaceful staystayed two nightspad thaifantastic hotelcouple of nightsdry season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed for one night as I was passing back through Luang Prabang and wanted to be out of the city. The resort itself is gorgeous as are the food and the management. They make you a big effort to make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble for them. No wi fi or card machine but neither was a big problem - you don't really feel like checking emails anyway and the manager was happy for me to pay cash when I got back into town (there's a shuttle bus for guests to and from Luang Prabang). Had a lovely hike to a nearby lake and look out point, a great nights sleep and a lovely afternoon of sunbathing and reading. Set me up nicely for the long, windy trip to Phonsovan. I was travelling alone but would very much like to go back with my boyfriend one day!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The atmosphere and service are fantastic. Tucked away in the hills the Hillside Resort provided us with a refreshing and peaceful change of pace. For us the combination of great food, facilities (steam room, pool) and warm friendliness set the place apart - we quickly felt right a home. The massage I had was one of the best on my travels. We'll be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

... want to leave! Thanks to Sam (manager), Holger (owner), Ben (organic gardener) and their wonderful colleagues, this was one of our highlights during our three-month-trip through Southeast Asia.

We stayed here for three nights and would have stayed longer, if it had not been fully booked.

What we especially liked was the really warm, welcoming and personal atmosphere - you are not just tourist number 23 and 24.

We liked Sam's brilliant choice of music in the restaurant, were we had some really really delicious food - you must try a BIG bowl of salad with the magic dressing. Sometimes it may happen, that you have to wait 10 minutes more, because the salad needs to be picked from the organic garden. How amazing is that!?
The pool with it's beautiful mountainside view was stunning. Especially in the evening, when you get off the herbal steam bath and you swim under the stars - unforgettable!
It's obvious that you can not find such a hidden gem right in the center of Luang Prabang. So this resort is perfect for those, who seek a hideaway. You can even try to catch (and release) some fish in the natural pond. If you want to head to the city, they offer a daily shuttle service.

We would definitely come back to this lovely spot with its lovely people. This was a memorable and amazing stay.

Thank you and stay as you are!

All the best and love from Potsdam, Germany,
Marie and Eric

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Thank you Sam for making our stay so great...the food was great, the steam bath memorable, and the whole place made us feel immersed in the laotian countryside. Our new year eve was simple and yet I will keep fond memories of sitting by the fire under a starry sky. My kids enjoyed playing with your dog and running in the big garden and we loved the big family room.

I recommend this place to those who want to experience something close to a homestay but much more comfortable. We also appreciated Sam's approach to grow organic vegetables and the use of solar power for electricity (even if this means that if it cloudy you can't have a hot shower!! Luckily most of the time it is hot and sunny).

Pity we could not use the swimmingpool as it was too cold...surely, we will come back!

We did not feel like checking internet a single moment and we were still very happy. Sam arranged for anything we needed! Thanks again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cl072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Hillside as part of a 2 day tour with Tiger Trails!
Beautiful setting, really stunning rooms, impeccable service and food was great! We arrived for lunch which they served poolside as we'd snoozed in the sun, dinner was also brilliant as was breakfast the following morning!
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, coffee on the terrace, lunch by the pool etc.
Our guide was staying too and he'd built a Camp fire nearer the staff accommodation' highly recommended joining Sam etc for a campfire, chill in the countryside, learn about Laos, play with Bertie the dog!
Really rested and peaceful stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews