We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
fourviolets
Hertford, United Kingdom

Massive bed

Review of Sada Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Oct 2014
First impression of the room was that the room smelled rather of smoke but the bed was beautifully made up and the bed was massive – big enough to sleep four. We were in Room 205, unfortunately there was a dog barking outside much of the time as well as a cockerel outside in the mornings which I didn’t object to as much. There was also banging from building work going on. There is a table and chairs on the balcony. The wifi once it got going was fine. There is a kettle, tea and coffee.

The room needed a good dust especially the wood carvings over the bed, floor around bedside table, and the bedside table surface was sticky.

The bathroom (which was dark) has a corner bath with shower above but no shower curtain, it is difficult not to soak the floor. There are no surfaces to place toiletries – a few toiletries are supplied but not replenished. I couldn’t tell the hot tap from the cold which was risky as the hot water was extremely hot.

Visiting here as part of a tour of Indochina it was noticeable that staff were less smart. However they were very friendly and helpful and will iron as it is not permitted to iron in the room. Breakfast here was regarded by many in our group as excellent. It is possible to have seating outside for breakfast however this is up against a busy road. There is shuttle bus the short distance to the centre.
Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Swimming pool
£64
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £64
0.8 miles from Sada Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£57
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £57
0.4 miles from Sada Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£98
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £98
1.3 miles from Sada Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£16
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Sada Hotel
Free Wifi
Hotel Main building
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £70
  • Vio.com
0.3 miles from Sada Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £88
  • eDreams
0.1 miles from Sada Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £60
  • Expedia.com
    £70
0.1 miles from Sada Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    £39
  • Expedia.com
    £50
1.0 miles from Sada Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £101
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Sada Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £56
  • ZenHotels.com
    £46
  • eDreams
1.2 miles from Sada Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Luang Prabang
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
66
57
16
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
66
57
16
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night market large bed town furniture balcony tuks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A 3 nights stay to visit luang prabang. Very big rooms nicely decorated and very Nice staff. Perfect choice for this stay, we loved our stay . Nothing to say except perfect and thank you.
Free shuttle for the airport and the center is 5 minutes by tuk tuk or shuttle
Nice
Breakfast and lovely beds for this hôtel

Date of stay: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noland657
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed three nights with an OAT tour group. Our room 209 was well back from the road and very quiet. It overlooked the koi pond. The grounds are lush and many plants were in bloom. We caused a problem with the in room safe that was quickly remedied. Wifi was slow initially but came on strong in our room. Both Lao and western items were on the breakfast menu. Coffee is wonderful here.

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank EdM189
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Absolutely beautiful rooms with huge comfortable beds. Very clean. Staff polite and attentive. Cant quite believe we got this as part of a 3 star tour, must be 4 star surely. Restaurant surprisingly good, recommend the pork curry. Only comment would be the rooms along the front do get road noise despite the double glazing. Quite walkable to town (15mins say to night market), we typically walked in and got a cyclo back for $5. Agree with last reviewer that you need to be patient if communicating in English. We didn't use the Wifi so can't comment on that. At the end of the day this is a v v poor country and Sada is a little piece of luxury to come back to at the end of the day. A pool would be a good addition.

Room tip: Ask for a room away from the road
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilkinsonFamily893
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in The sada over Christmas. The hotel is beautifully finished and has some great features such as a relaxation garden and restraunt. The staff were very friendly, we were given free airport transfers. There is a little bit of a language issue. But with a bit of patience and a few words of Lao we managed to get everything from omlettes for breakfast to directions to restraunts.

We were looked after by a very smiley gentleman called "Deagan" who organised massages for us and offered to arrange tours etc. Contrary to other reviewers the massage was very good. Both me and my fiancé got full Lao massages in our room which meant we could relax on our terrace afterwards and enjoy the luxury. The masseurs were very polite and respectful. They even arranged our bed to provide the best massage, then remade it for us at the end.

The hotel is a little out of town. It is walkable but much easier to cycle. The bikes provided for free by the hotel are very good but they do have only one gear so make sure you eat plenty of breakfast for the hills!

Breakfast was good. And the chef will take requests for western fare such as omlettes etc.

Lao people seem to wake with the sunrise and go to bed early so don't expect to lay in late in urban Laos! You will hear everything from cockerels to tuk tuks once the world is awake. The monks pass right past the hotel which is magic to wake up to. However at bedtime it is beautifully serene.

Date of stay: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coldyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We just spent four nights at Sada Hotel, and loved our room. It was spacious, airy and clean. The wood decorations were beautiful and the bed was SO comfortable. The grounds are gorgeous. It's a little bit outside of town, but the place has free bikes and it's easy to get around. The staff was friendly, but seemed very young and inexperienced. Every time we had a question about anything, it took at least three people and a lot of back and forth before anything was figured out. We asked for a late checkout, and one person said it was ok, but the next day we were told that it wasn't. There was a lot of confusion, perhaps because of a language barrier, which we understand. We're not sure how this service compares to other hotels in Luang Prabang, but it was pretty frustrating. As another reviewer said, the breakfast was pretty disappointing, given the cost of the place. Another let down was the massage. My husband and I got them together, and it was done in another room on beds, not massage tables. The girls massaging us had their cell phones going off the whole time, we were interrupted twice by staff members, and the massages weren't very good. I think this place has a lot of potential, but I do think it's fairly overpriced now.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanessaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews