We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average...”

Central Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Backpackers Hostel
State of Bremen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“average...”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Beds are rock hard, never had such a bad bed. Staff can hardly speak english. the breakfast was ok, simple but fine. the internet wasn´t fast but at least it was working during my stay of 3 days.

Average...not more!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    30
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
20
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed in the 20 bed dorm. As soon I arrived I told them the AC was broken / really noisy (as you can't sleep in the room if it's on). They didn't do anything for 2 days appart from saying ok ok when we were reminding them about the problem and asking for discount.
When I had to leave and paid they finally refused to offer any discount for 2 nights without AC and as we were talking about the problem, they just call the police to arrest me thus forcing me to paid full price !
Internet hasn't been working properly during the 3 days I was around.
Included breakfast is poor and greasy as hell

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johanny_Masc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

San Francisco, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We booked two dorm beds here and were upgraded at no cost to a private en suite room. The room was the nicest room we stayed in during our entire stay in Laos. The staff was super friendly and willing to help out with anything trying to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The atmosphere was relaxed and the downstairs lounge area was a great space to grab a tea and relax. Breakfast is included and was a good size and tasty. We are very grateful for everything the staff here did for us and that we stumbled across this hostel during our travels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Booked a room - paid a deposit in advance. After a 30 hour bus journey from Hanoi I turned up at 10pm to be told they where fully booked, I showed them my reservation/confirmation email which they weren't to fussed about. So after the long bus journey I then had to search for another hostel late at night. Avoid

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Merkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

In particular the helpfulness of the staff, but everything from breakfast, internet, location, this is an excellent place to stay and offers great value.Staff are lovely! The bed was clean anc comfortable, and the price inckudes breakfast, so that was good!

Room Tip: true room have good wifi and be side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We booked via Hostelbookers for 3 nights, but arrived at 5.30 in the morning after the first night since our bus from Chiang Mai was late. Turned out he had given away our beds at midnight after we did not arrive, even though we texted them we would be probably very late.
They organized a room for us in a very dirty hostel across the street, but we had to wait until 10am to check in there (which meant almost 5 hours of waiting in the lobby after 24 hours on the bus). We did not have to pay for the dirty other hostel since they did not give us a refund for the first night - which was okay.

So after that we stayed at the Central Backpackers for 4 nights. It was clean, but noisy. Breakfast was included but very greasy. The manager was very friendly and helpful during the rest of our stay. For backpackers with no expectations in luxury or relaxing stays it's probably the cheapest and therefore best choice in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Very nice, clean place to stay. Did a lot of drinking here in Vang Vieng and it was great to have a nice clean room and comfortable bed to come back too. Helped me sleep off my several hangovers :)

Restaurant was nice too, I ate there several times during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesm514ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
LPQ Backpackers Hostel
LPQ Backpackers Hostel
#94 of 148 in Luang Prabang
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khammany Backpackers
Khammany Backpackers
#35 of 148 in Luang Prabang
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
DownTown Backpackers Hostel
DownTown Backpackers Hostel
#6 of 148 in Luang Prabang
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vongprachan Guesthouse
Vongprachan Guesthouse
#13 of 148 in Luang Prabang
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tony Central Hostel
Tony Central Hostel
#5 of 148 in Luang Prabang
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sabai Sabai
Sabai Sabai
#20 of 148 in Luang Prabang
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpackers Hostel

Property: Central Backpackers Hostel
Address: Noradeth Road, Ban Thuat Luang | near Night Market, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos (Formerly Lakhangthong 2 Villa)
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located, Lakhangthong 2 Villa is a 5-minute walk to Mekong River Front. It provides free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Dara Market is a 5-minute walk from the hotel. It takes 10 minutes to walk to Night Market. Luang Pranbang Airport is a 15-minute ride away. Simply furnished, each air-conditioned room is equipped with a flat-screen TV and en suite bathroom with shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Central Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing