We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swim With An Elephant”
Review of Tad Sae Waterfall

Tad Sae Waterfall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Full-Day Nam Khan River Kayaking and Tad Sae Waterfall Tour from Luang Prabang
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Small-group Nam Khan River Valley Hiking Trek and Paddle from Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Swim With An Elephant”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We're from Hawaii so we're kind of waterfall connoisseurs and Tad Sae is a really nice and unique looking waterfall worth visiting. However the really great thing to do here is to swim with a young elephant. They swim and dive really well so try and hold on!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HuggyBearHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    289
    131
    49
    46
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't go in May”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It is the beginning of rainy season so there was barely any water. I can see that during peak time it will be beautiful but unfortunately we picked the wrong time of the year.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Corrine456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We´ve been here as part of a tour organized by Tiger Trail. Falls are beautiful, of greenish turquoise (perhaps less incredible than Kuang Si). We went bathing with elephants in the falls, which was a great experience. I recommend it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cool refreshing swim and escape from the heat!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A 45 minute tuk tuk out to the waterfalls but worth it. It is hot this time of the year in Laos and so knowing there was cool water to swim in (as you can't or wouldn't want to in the Mekong!) was enough for me.
It was a bonus that this is a beautiful spot. The pools are a light aqua and oh so refreshing. There are several pools including a hike up to the top one which has a natural infinity pool!!
I swam in the bottom pool, got a free fish spa at the same time (lot's of little fish in the water nibbling around!) and felt so relaxed afterwards. I would go there everyday if I could!
Make sure you visit!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful bad treated elephants!! Cruel 'washing'!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We were there last week and were told that the elephants here were treated well. Although we did just the 'washing', expecting to do something good to them. So sitting on the back of the elephant, the elephant seemed not want to go into the river, so the mahout (also with me on the back of the elephant) just hit it with a stick with a spike on top, so i became aware where the little wounds behind the ears and on the head came from!! Once in the river, the elephant was trained to lay down in the water, stand up again and so on. Awful was to see a small elephant kept almost 1min under water... this was just cruel and has nothing to do with elephant washing or bathing. And seeing the mahouts and other stuff just laughing about the weird scene just made us angry!

Helpful?
1 Thank quallenbaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tad Sae Waterfall also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tad Sae Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing