We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good 3 star hotel, clean and quiet.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
Ranked #50 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good 3 star hotel, clean and quiet.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

For a 3 star hotel it was perfect. We didnt book any accommodation before we arrived in Luang Prabang and we just kind of stubbled across this place and we couldnt have been happier. The Hotel Manager welcomed us in and sorted out a room for us (even though they were also dealing with a bus load of people who had just arrived).

Room: Our room was clean and a decent size with a balcony which had chairs on it. The bed was massive and very comfortable. The room also had a mini bar which had softdrinks and beer lao. Our air conditioning unit was rather noisy but we didnt have any trouble sleeping with it on. The shower was always hot.

Food: There was a restaurant/bar at the hotel but we only used it for breakfast which was included in our room price. The breakfast was very tasty however it didnt quite fill us up (we do like to eat lots for breakfast on holiday as we often skip lunch). When we did ask for extra bread or another piece of bacon they were more than happy to get it for us. I remember the coffee was really good aswell.

Pool: We only used the pool once as we went swimming at the waterfalls most days. All I remember is the pool was very cold.

Location: this hotel is just out of the main drag of Luang Prabang but was fine for us. We walked to the markets/bars/restaurants and it took us about 10mins. If we were coming back late at night a tuk tuk from the night markets cost us about US$2.
In the morning when we would head out for the day it was sometimes hard to find a tuk tuk as they are not always waiting outside. This was not too much of a problem as we would ask reception to call us one or we would wait around till one drove past.

This was a good hotel and we had no problems staying here. I would recommend this to people who want abit more than a hostel/house but who dont want to pay the price of a 4-5 star hotel. Also people who like peace and quiet and who dont want the main street noise.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma-Dean28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    37
    32
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
37
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Realmonte, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Muang Luang Hotel has a very special architectural style that is quite large and fad, which belies its very quiet and homey atmosphere. The hotel rooms are high quality and the service is very super friendly and efficient. though it is not in the 'center' of Luang Prabang for tourist area, it is a pleasant walk away, and the local neighborhood is still very interesting.

I would stay here again. Cons - The pool area is a bit suburban rather than resort like, it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gonza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

A lovely old Colonial style building, set in pleasant gardens with a good sized swimming pool. The rooms were disappointing, beds were comfortable, and all was clean,but room and bathroom desperatly need refurbishing. Some rooms have verandas or balconies, ours had a view of a wall, and a footpath ran right outside the window, so had to keep curtains closed. Mini bar, hairdrier and air con were all there, but no kettle. Breakfast was fine, a good selection of fruit, juices, eggs sausages, bacon etc. Evening meal was disappointing.
Safe boxes are available on reception, but only the manager has acceess, but not often there. Most staff had some English and tried hard to be helpful, suggesting a time for access, but often didn't happen.
On the plus side the hotel is very quite, and an easy walk to the night market and other attractions, it was ok for what we needed.
Good massages can be arranged through reception.

Stayed March 2010
Helpful?
Thank Kings1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

We stayed here and depsite it being the most expesnive on our travels it certainly was not the best.

The rooms were okay and the hotel in general looked like it hadn't been updated for about 20 years.

A major gripe was the lack of hot water, half of the time we had none and the other half had to wait 10 minutes for it to hear up. All very frustrating.

On the plus side the ppol and garden area where nice and very relaxing but not enough to sway it in my book.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

Our room just adequate but the restaurant and pool area very nice. Short walking distance from the Night Market and other shops, restaurants or elephant adventures to book.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountaingal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

If this hotel were well maintained and with a professional staff, it would be lovely.
The building is very nice, already maybe not perfectly maintained. It comes with
a nice pool and dinner area. The location is also great, with 5 minutes to the
main drag with all the "action", which means the hotel is both central and quiet.

The management did not seem very professional, apart from a lady (manager) the others
seemed to learn on the job, and, well ... The breakfast is not at all a disaster, but the worst we had in Asia on this trip.

With a serious management that maintains the building, provides
Asian top rate service and good breakfasts, this could be a fantastic hotel. As it is now, it
is not worth the money. However, don't worry if you end up here; the buildings are lovely and the place has a quiet "colonial" atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csaba10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

Situated 10 minutes stroll from the high street this charming hotel has the benefits of being conveniently located but just far enough away from the "action" to be really peaceful. I agree with the previous reviewer that you sometimes wonder if you are the only guest in the hotel.

I believe the building formed part of the old royal buildings a some pint and so it has that old style grandeur about it, best viewed from a sun lounger by the pool out back of the breakfast area.

The bedrooms were really comfortable; dark wood interiors and lovely firm beds. The regular intrenational TV channels were available in the room. The bathroom was nice but I have experienced better for the money.

The staff here are wonderful. Extremely polite, very attentive and charmingly nervous with their use of English. This is particularly the case during the daily routine of serving breakfast: bread, pancakes, jam and syrup, and eggs (optional - but if you say "yes" you will also receive sausages, bacon and vegetables on your plate).

We did not eat dinner at the hotel as there is plenty of good priced variety in town.

Charm is a main feature of the entire town. The people are wonderful, the main street and the streets running by the rivers peaceful and easy to explore on the cheap bicycles available for rent (one such place is on the corner next to the hotel). Most cafes and restaurants are very good value for money and none appear packed (when we visited in May 09).

The peaceful vibe of Luang Prabang belies the fact that there is actually plenty to do there. Day trips and more for elephant riding/training, kayaking, bike rides and watefall visits are some of the activities on offer. The night market is large and interesting, offering a good range of arts and crafts with almost no cheapo-fake-tat (if that's an adequate description). Some higher quality jewelry and fabric shops line the main high street along with cafes, restaurants and trip shops.

The tourists, locals, monks etc all seem to co-exist quite easily. We never felt crowded or harrassed and this must have partly been due to the UNESCO status of Luang Prabang which mean you could walk or cycle quite freely without the fear of being run down by passing traffic. Mopeds (not so many of them), bicycles and walkers seem to rule out there!

When we arrived from London, our frst impression of Luang Prabang was "what are we going to do here for 5 days?". However, we wished we had stayed longer. We can firmly recommend the Muang Luang hotel as part of such a trip too. It is an excellent, comfortable base from which to explore town or arrange excursions further afield.

Best regards, Gary Smith

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hilton67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.8 mi away
Sanakeo Boutique
Sanakeo Boutique
#42 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manoluck Hotel
Manoluck Hotel
#58 of 70 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sada Hotel
Sada Hotel
#38 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Muang Thong Hotel
Muang Thong Hotel
#46 of 70 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
#43 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel

Property: Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
Address: Boun Khong Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing