We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull romantic gem, oasis of peace, true luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

You feel welcome from the moment you set foot in the hotel.
The owner is omi present and makes sure you have everything you need.
The hotel is extermely well maintained and the rooms are spacious and have a very cosy feeling.
We had a steambath in ours and a small garden with outdoor shower.
The spa is a aosis of peace and luxury.
The entire staff have only one objective: make you feel at home and cater to all your needs.
The restaurant serves delicious food (the best we had in Luang Prabang)

This is for me the best place in Luang prabang

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ofabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a really nice hotel, so far from home but I felt like I was there.
Since we arrived, we felt welcome and felt all the detail in every type of service that we requested.
Room: was clean, comfortable, big and nice view.
Restaurant: variety of food and specially good and fresh tasty.
Spa: so nice massage, after walking many days around all temples in Bangkok. They received you with bagel fruit tea, was nice.
Tours: Amazing!! do not miss it. We requested Alms giving, Pak Ou Caves and Kuangsi Waterfalls and were very nice, starting from the tour guide, driver and the person who helped to set up the lunch. Very nice and romantic in each of those places!!! I think opportunity comes once in a life :) pamper yourself!!!
Hotel is also supporting a orphenage, help them to support with a donation, those children need us!
This is one of my best trip ever, I may say better than our honeymoon.
Big hug and thank you to Julia, Patti, Thoi and all the staff. All the best!!!
Muchas gracias;)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecinaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

LaResidence. Incredible place to stay. We had a junior suite,room 107. Fantastic view of the city and mountains from both bedroom and large balcony. Beautiful infinity pool and grounds. Staff was extremely helpful. Away from all the noise and hustle bustle of the city but only 5 minutes away by tuk tuk or hotel transportation from all the good restaurants in town. Lunch at the hotel restaurant was delicious but very pricey for Laos so ate the rest of our meals in town. Tamarind and Blue Lagoon were very good. If possible do one day Elephant village with 2 hours ride on elephants and 1.5 hour trek. Also do the #1 trip advisor activity Living Land, an immersion experience in a local rice farm





Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: 107 suite with best view at the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkelovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

What I like most about La Residence Phou Vao is that while it is unquestionably a luxury hotel, it is also warm and unassuming. Unlike other high-end hotels that tend to be a little cold, you immediately feel comfortable, welcomed and at home upon arrival. In addition to beautiful wooden floors and plush furniture, the grounds of the hotel are charmingly manicured, again giving that feeling of coziness.

There are two swimming pools at the hotel. One, is by the dining area, and another more private one by the spa. This is a quiet area to hang out at before or after a spa treatment or private yoga class. The spa also has a natural herbal sauna, which is nice to use, before or after a treatment.

Because of the way the hotel is laid out, it rarely feels crowded. Strolling the hotel grounds itself is a pleasure. If you're looking for a relaxing hotel to stay at where you can really be at ease, La Residence is just that. Staff is friendly and attentive. Food is great!!! I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmoksim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is also long overdue. Stayed here in 2010 and the hotel was great! Fantastic hotel and staff. Great spa. Great location not very far from things you want to explore. The rooms are very spacious and had great wifi connections in the middle of Laos. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel and the Luang Say Residence, and can unequivocally say the latter is the superior property.

Rooms: We had a junior suite at La Residence, and I had to confirm it was such with the front desk. The room was very dark with poor lighting, so we asked for an extra lamp--and the bulb promptly burned out.

Our room was over the restaurant and affected at night by the music there. We should have moved, but our busy touring schedule did not accommodate it.

The La Residence bath is good sized but with an extremely peculiar sarcophagus-shaped bath tub that required Olympic level dexterity to exit and enter.

Although the bath easily could accommodate two sinks, there was only one large, peculiarly wide and shallow one. The tub and sink were worn and need replacing. They are of a strange, green, pressed stone. This seems a favorite of La Residence hotels but looked particularly unpleasant
here.

Now for Luang Say: The Exploratory Suite in this 3 year old hotel was stunning with a large veranda, two balconies, and triple the size of the La Residence room. The new bath shone with double sinks, a lovely bathtub and open shower, all in white. Lighting and seating were extensive. It was a pleasure to be in.

Amenities: The only drawback st Luang Say, for those who care, is there is no spa. Their pool is as nice if not nicer than La Residence's.

Service: The Luang Say was faultless, with warm greetings and immediate service.

At La Residence, the service in the restaurants was good with friendly although often unsure - acting waiters. The front desk, however, has serious problems. We were not greeted at arrival, and it took time for people to come out of the office. We usually had to explain our questions to two people before they, bewildered, finally retrieved a third who could understand us. Staff seemed very unsure of themselves and nervous. Our bill at checkout was wholly wrong, and all charges had to be corrected.

Another point to consider: the residents of Luang Prabang burn garbage and/ or fields, producing arid-smelling air , which has to change if they want a good tourism economy. The Luang Say seemed less affected by the air as it is lower in elevation. While La Residence has a view of town, it often was hazy. The Luang Say has lovely, clearer views of the jungle-covered hills surrounding this charming town.

Try to book Luang Say soon. It will be impossible once word gets out of this new, very charming hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IdahoTimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

They get absolutely everything right here, from the attentive personal service to the excellent cuisine. It's so fantastic We stayed here twice in a month. Best tip -- DO come in the off season. The teensy bit of rain is not disruptive at all, you'll have the whole town to yourself and it's much, much cooler.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaViD a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
646 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence Phou Vao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence Phou Vao

Address: Luang Prabang 84330, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £286 - £629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence Phou Vao 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned atop a hill, gazing across the sacred mountains, Belmond La Résidence Phou Vao is an unforgettable place to stay. Its calm, tranquil ambiance echoes that of sleepy World Heritage town of Luang Prabang - former royal capital of Laos - spread out below. Designed in a traditional style, this intimate hotel is gemmed with teak, silk and fresh cotton accents. The hotel's Phou Savanh restaurant is famed for its wonderful French-influenced local cuisine while Doc Champa bar offers guests a range of Laotian and classic cocktails. The award-winning Mekong Spa blends ancient techniques with modern understanding to ensure complete indulgence and well-being and is the first luxury spa in Luang Prabang, Laos. Furthermore the hotel offers a gym, boutique, tours & excursion desk, meeting room and organic garden with cooking class area. The hotel's 34 suites are elegantly furnished with emphasis on local styles and materials. The combination of parquet and traditional Lao textiles creates an immediate sense of peace and space in all suites. Large windows provide plenty of natural light and open onto the exotic gardens. A conveniently arranged terrace offers privacy, comfort and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond La Residence Phou Vao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Phou Vao By Orient-Express Hotel Luang Prabang
La Residence Phou Vao Hotel
La Residence Phou Vao Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing